Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Great rustic atmosphere with fireplace and fire pits. Clean and inviting. Beautiful surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Add another day to your Black Hills Experience!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: See above comments.
This was an add on to my trip at the last minute since I had seen all I wanted in the lower Black Hills region. I was glad I made the time and changed my plans. I was able to take in Devils Tower in WY doing the back roads vs interstate and made a full circle back to Spearfish. Had great lunch in Spearfish at BBQ place and then headed down the Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway to my overnight destination Spearfish Lodge. It was some beautiful scenery and the Lodge was perfectly located with the 2 falls for a nice hiking experience and great pictures. The Lodge was a wonderful escape in a scenic landscape!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: everything
just a stop along the way. but was very comfortable and surrounding area was beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok

Posted Sep 12, 2017
It was just ok. Don't have much more to say than that!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Beautiful setting

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The Lodge is in a beautiful location. We didn't notice when we booked how far it was from Lead and Deadwood. Once you're there, there's only the one restaurant across the street. But, the restaurant had good food, and our server was very nice. Our room was on the ground floor, but it was pretty quiet. The stuffed bear to welcome us was a really cute touch, which our kids loved. We took a very early morning hike to the waterfalls, which was gorgeous. Overall, we'd recommend this lodge. We wouldn't have otherwise seen this area, and it's definitely worth it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new mexico

Unprofessional

Posted Sep 6, 2017
After making my reservation two weeks earlier, they cancelled it one hour befor I was to check in. I had driven sixteen hours over two days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Wonderful, dog friendly hotel!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: The location and the beautiful setting.
Cons: When we were there the sidewalk in front of the restaurant was being replaced. There should have been directions on how to get inside the restaurant.
Location: It is in Spearfish Canyon close to Spearfish, Deadwood, Mt. Rushmore, and Crazy Horse.
It was a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. We traveled with our dog and it was a great location to walk him besides being a great place for people. The stream was an added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Empire, Co

Spearfish Canyon

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Cons: Room service....
The hotel added much to a stay in one of the beautiful places on earth.....and we are pretty well travelled. Something for everyone....gentle walks, hikes, bikes.....a great anniversary celebration!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Nice friendly staff, beautiful grounds and very centrally located to attractions !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
A very pleasant surprise in a beautiful location.