Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Very beautiful spot. Hotel and restaurant were very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Great Surprise!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Location, grounds, comfortable room.
Cons: The restaurant was pretty disrespectful of our vegetarianism. We tried (multiple times) to order meals without meat and were unsuccessful.
Location: The town of Spearfish was adorable with lots of coffee shops, but we were pretty distracted with the scenery and outdoor activities!
I didn't know much about Spearfish Canyon before I booked. Then, driving to the Lodge, it was absolutely gorgeous. The hotel itself is scenic and in such a beautiful spot. There is a lovely stream (loaded with trout) and a couple of really nice hikes that leave right from the Lodge grounds. We stayed in a suite which had everything we could have wanted--fridge, microwave, iron, comfy beds, etc. We had our dog with us and everyone was so welcoming. It was really challenging to find somewhere that we could bring our pup, so I am immensely grateful for the welcome she received. Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lawrenceville, GA

Beautiful location, no elevator

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The hotel is a nice rustic lodge tucked away in the scenic canyon! The restaurant is good, the gift shop is nice. There is no elevator, so you must lug your luggage up and down the stairs. Many activities - rent bikes, ATVs and snowmobiles. The beds are comfy. There are limited TV channels. Must cancel within 5 days, so be sure you're set on arrival dates before booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful find in the woods!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
We loved the ambiance of the lodge, the surroundings, and the cute little deer family that greeted us every morning. Looking forward to our next trip to Spearfish Canyon Lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las vegas, NV.

Beautiful setting, beautiful hotel.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
This place is very nice. Clean, nice rooms, great setting. Wake up early and go on the 2 mile hike to Roughlock falls and the other hike (unsure of length, or name). It’s well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Beautiful place to stay

Posted Sep 28, 2017
This is our second stay at Searfish Canyon Lodge. We had good memories of this hotel and the area from several years ago and it did not disappoint this stay either! The scenery is gorgeous, the room clean and tidy. The staff were ok just not very friendly. I would recommend this beautiful lodge!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sioux Falls SD

Very nice lodge in beautiful environs.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The rustic decor and peaceful environs are attractions for us.
Cons: Getting PBS channel on TV would be a plus.
Location: Hiking and other trails, sports equipment., and waterfalls are a plus. Latchstring Inn, across the street, is a very good restaurant.
This former Homestake Mining Company property provides a great getaway. We love the hike to Roughlock Falls. In any season, the surrounding area is beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Beautiful place in a beautiful setting

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The beautiful lodge and the scenery.
Cons: The bed was a bit hard. Our room was really too small to be called a suite.
Location: The location is beautiful and there are several things to do. Hike, rent an off road vehicle to tour, or visit nearby towns.
I would have given this lodge 5 stars except for two things. The bed was a little hard and although the room was nice with a fireplace in it, it was just a room and not what I would call a suite, it was about the same size as other hotel rooms I have stayed in. We were in the raspberry suite and I understand some of the others are true suites but this one was not. The staff was friendly and the restaurant across the street had very good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Great rustic atmosphere with fireplace and fire pits. Clean and inviting. Beautiful surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Add another day to your Black Hills Experience!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: See above comments.
This was an add on to my trip at the last minute since I had seen all I wanted in the lower Black Hills region. I was glad I made the time and changed my plans. I was able to take in Devils Tower in WY doing the back roads vs interstate and made a full circle back to Spearfish. Had great lunch in Spearfish at BBQ place and then headed down the Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway to my overnight destination Spearfish Lodge. It was some beautiful scenery and the Lodge was perfectly located with the 2 falls for a nice hiking experience and great pictures. The Lodge was a wonderful escape in a scenic landscape!