Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

GREAT HIKING to amazing waterfalls!!!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: prices rustic feel hospitality location
Location: hiking sight seeing
We had a fantastic time. I loved the hikes/waterfalls/location. I felt like we were in Hawaii. Great prices and cozy feel by the fire in the fireplace. Great food at the Restaurant. Just ask Adam, a wonderful waiter, he will take good care of you. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Classic lodge surrounded by breathtaking canyon.

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable with beautiful views. The fireplaced lobby was beautiful!
Cons: N/A
Location: Hiking trails surround the lodge. A d Short drives take you to famous towns such as Deadwood and Sturges.
Spearfish Canyon Lodge is in a beautiful setting with hiking trails right out the door. There's also a historic restaurant on the lodge grounds. This is a keeper!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O

Overall assessment

Posted Aug 5, 2015
I went one week prior to Sturgis motorcycle rally. The hotel was understaffed to know staff at all. Forget about Internet service or cell phone service their Wi-Fi could not pick up anything. The restaurant across the street was very dissatisfying , with overprice food and lack of waitstaff. It took over 30 minutes to find someone to seat you. Every time we went to eat, it was like this. We stayed a week and with that week after the third time of the unsuccessful dissatisfying service we got it at the restaurant we boycotted it and never went there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, quiet, scenic view, good staff

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Location: Right in the canyon, everything was close by
Great food, a little pricey, very nice place, quiet, restful, beautiful scenery
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely setting at the end of a pretty road.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Lovely room, creekside setting, robes and furry bear a nice touch. Great lounge area with open fire and high ceilings.
Cons: Very slow internet, everywhere.
Location: Away from the craziness of the roadside attractions in this area. Onsite restaurant and lovely creekside setting. Lots of short hikes nearby.
On a motorcycling trip, it was lovely to find this lodge at the end of a curvy road. On check in we were greeted in our room with bathrobes and a little black bear. Restaurant food was good and we enjoyed our breakfast sitting by the bubbling creek beside the hotel. An oasis after the crazy tourist attractions in the area around Deadwood and Mt Rushmore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Wisconsin

A great lodge in the most beautiful location

Posted Jul 17, 2015
I only stayed one night, but could have spent a week! Lovely lodge, beautiful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south dakota

Great mountain view

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay there. Loved being able to walk to the waterfall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Setting for a Great Lodge

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Location: Easy drive to Rushmore/Crazy Horse to the east and Devil's Tower to the west. We also drove thru Deadwood one night and it's worth checking out.
I jumped on the great price Expedia offered on this lodge, then I read the reviews, which were great. After spending 3 nights there, I have to agree that this is a great facility in an incredibly beautiful canyon. The lodge has a high ceiling lobby with a great fireplace and comfortable chairs all around. The rooms are very nice as well. There's a nice restaurant across the street that does a good job overall, especially when you consider how remote this place is. There's really nothing around it for 10 miles. The only minus, as noted by many others, is the poor cell phone reception and slow internet. But you don't really come to such a beautiful place to surf the internet, do you?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Loved it.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Loved it. Been visiting for years in the area, and now had the chance to stay here. Great lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: The Lodge had a wonderful family atmosphere,comfy beds, and extremely clean rooms. Loved the games in the main room!
Cons: Would be nice if a continental type breakfast was provided.
Location: Perfect location for Mt.Rushmore,hiking, Cosmos, and a cave.
Spearfish Cannon Lodge was warm and welcoming. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you're looking for an extremely peaceful like location, visit this location.