Featured Image

Reviews of Morning Star - Victorian Mansion With Modern Updates!

4.4/5 Excellent

3333 verified reviews
Cleanliness
0.0/5
Cleanliness 0%
Staff & service
0.0/5
Staff & service 0%
Amenities
0.0/5
Amenities 0%
Property conditions & facilities
0.0/5
Property conditions & facilities 0%

3/5 Okay

Will stay again after issues are addressed...

This place has a wonderful location. And it’s a nice big old house that will accommodate a large family. However there were several things in the listing and about the house that need to be addressed. The primary thing we had issues with is the single old water heater would only give enough hot water for 2 short showers at a time. With a family of 6 this made the evening showers and laundry drag out way too long waiting on hot water. Another issue we had is high speed internet and Netflix was advertised. The old Roku box they have is so old Netflix doesn’t even support it anymore. So we were stuck all week with no TV and spotty internet at best. The master bed is two twin beds pushed together with a huge dip between them. Not comfortable at all. We did have an issue with the heater not working and the agent had someone jump on it extremely quickly to resolve it. Much appreciated.
0

5/5 Excellent

Great location.

This is a great location. We could walk to anywhere in town.
0

5/5 Excellent

Ski vacation

Home was great a comfortable for our ski vacation
0

5/5 Excellent

House was beautiful right in town could walk to everything

Very easy to work with everything was great
0

4/5 Good

Ski Group

Large house with lots of beds. Very clean.
0

5/5 Excellent

Great house for a small group in a perfect location!

Our small group of skiers had plenty of room and plenty of fun exploring this great house. 15 mins to and from the slopes have us plenty of time to walk around town and visit shop up and down the street after the lifts closed. Thanks so much for sharing this gem.
0

5/5 Excellent

Loved the place

Great value in downtown Leadville.
0

4/5 Good

perfect

In town for our class reunion. The house worked great for our needs. Would stay here again.
0

4/5 Good

Leadville magic

The Morningstar Mansion represents all the charms of Leadville from the 1880's with beautiful antiques, amazing ceilings and comfortable space. We enjoyed our stay so much, we plan to make it an annual retreat.
0

4/5 Good

Nice place to stay

Beautiful home and beautifully furnished. We really enjoyed our stay. We did find a dead mouse in the kitchen on one of the mornings, but it is an older house.
0
VrboOwner
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have addressed the mouse issue and it is taken care of. We hope to host your next stay in Leadville!

3/5 Okay

Nice house but bad communication

Lack of communication , on busy street but the house was really cool.
0
VrboOwner
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that you felt that there was a lack of communication. We put out phone numbers on all emails we send out and also leave a card with a direct cell number on the kitchen counter so that you can contact us any time with questions or issues during your stay. We love to share what Leadville has to offer and welcome questions about hiking, fishing, restaurants and other little secrets we have learned as locals. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time your in Leadville!

5/5 Excellent

A home with modern comfort and fantastic historical architecture.

Seamless rental experience.
0

5/5 Excellent

Leadville house

Great location and nice character house.
0

5/5 Excellent

Lovely historical gem located in the center of town.

We had a wonderful time in Leadville, enjoyed our stay at the Morning Star, and hope to return next year.
0

5/5 Excellent

Great In Town Rental

We had a great time at the unique rental property. Very clean and enjoyable experience.
0

5/5 Excellent

A Must Stay

The Morning Star Victorian Mansion was a beautiful original period home. The interior and exterior takes you back to the late 1800's. The home has modern facilities so you get the best of both time periods! It was very clean. The location is perfect! We would highly recommend this amazing home!
0

5/5 Excellent

Family!

Great place to gather. We were there for a family members memorial, which coincided with Easter. It is modern where needed (kitchen and bathrooms) but charmingly Victorian in the rest of the house. Be aware that you must climb stairs to access the bedrooms.
0

5/5 Excellent

Wonderful home in downtown Leadville

This spot was perfect for our group of three families. There is plenty of room and just enough updated to make it convenient yet still maintain the charm of this old home. The kids LOVED playing "Hide and Seek" in all the nooks and crannies. We didn't get to explore town but town is right outside the door. We'll be back!!
0

5/5 Excellent

Great place, great location

This property is a nice, well rounded property located in prime position for Leadville. We were able to walk to various restaurants as well as walk to the ski rental shop. Location is a 10 minute drive to Ski Cooper which is great as well. WiFi worked great and the appliances in the house worked great. The house is heated but each bedroom has a space heater in it for people who desire a more toasty room temp. Parking is great, we had 3 cars parked right at the rear of the property in the 3 spots provided so no one had to park on the street/curb. House is very spacious and antique with some modern updates. One of the best and neatest places I have stayed and all for a great price. Three thumbs up
0

5/5 Excellent

Best Place Ever!

My family and I just celebrated the best Thanksgiving ever, in this incredibly charming mansion. We arrived believing that it might be too good to be true and found it was everything we hoped for and more. The place was clean and all the utensils we needed for a holiday dinner were stocked in the spacious kitchen. It was great sitting in the house watching the blizzard blow outside. Conveniently located for family skiing at Cooper and shopping /dining on main street (Harrison Avenue). Thanks to Andrew, Tracy and Independence Realty for the memories.
0

4/5 Good

Great Location

Loved the home style - the owner happened to be there doing some work on the yard and I let him know the house cleaners do a very poor dusting, the windows ledges, tops of beautiful antiques were very dusty - I could write my name in the dust! Was a wonderful location to walk downtown. We would stay there again.
0

5/5 Excellent

An awesome place!

It was a very unique house! We all loved it and our stay in Leadville.
0

4/5 Good

Very good, and very friendly.

Rooms were good, but kitchen wasn't clean. We had to clean the kitchen before cooking. Just a friendly suggestion that it would be good if they could change pillows ( need more firm ones). Overall it was great experience.
0
VrboOwner
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are in the process of replacing the pillows with softer ones! We apologize that you found the kitchen unclean. This is not up to our standards and we are discussing this with our cleaning crew. We pride ourselves in offering extremely clean and comfortable lodging for our guests! We hope to host your next stay in Leadville!

5/5 Excellent

Amazing!!

We had a wonderful time! The house was amazing! We will be back!
0

1/5 Terrible

Not what we thought

There was a leak in the bathroom which made the whole area have a musty smell. We checked our email and noticed that on Friday (arrival day) they offered us to have another place. We called the number and left a message and never heard back. It was not what we expected.
0
VrboOwner
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The previous guest before your stay allowed their children to cause an overflow in the upstairs bathroom that created a large leak in one of the downstairs closets and ruined the wood floor in the foyer. We quickly took care of everything we could prior to your arrival, but it was necessary to have a fan running in the foyer to help with the excess moisture. I reached out to you to offer you another option, but I show no return call from you nor received any voice mail. We do everything we can to assist our guests in whatever way possible and by managing 16 vacation rentals in town, we can offer options to move if a guest is unsatisfied. We hope to host your next stay in Leadville!

5/5 Excellent

The perfect domicile while staying in historic Leadville!.

Experience the history of this 1800's mansion - so romantic! If you relish the American West and how the well to-do lived in this era, you must book this property while you can. Not hard to imagine the likes of Doc Holiday, Creek Johnson, and Texas Jack bording here while in Leadville!
0

3/5 Okay

Historic Home Stay

Staying in a home built in 1888 was a very good experience however, the internet was awful. This may seem like a minor issue but when you have 10 folks staying for a week; you need a reliable internet connection. Also, several windows were broken and empty beer bottles were left in dresser drawers, dusty table cloths, etc. It was a complicated process getting checked in. Our contact at the reality office was very helpful and willing to try....but we never did get reliable internet or television.
0
VrboOwner
Thank you for your feedback. This home uses Century Link for it's internet service and we realize it is considerably slower than a cable connection. We are working on transferring service over to another provider. We have also spoken to our cleaning company about the missed items. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit Leadville!

5/5 Excellent

Awesome house and great location

House was perfect....lots of character to it and a lot of room! We loved the convenience of being in downtown so we never had to drive to get to a restaurant. It had everything we needed.
0

4/5 Good

A unique and spacious rental property.

Let me start with the few issues that we encountered. First, if you have more than two couples in the house, you will be doing rock paper scissors to see who gets the king-sized bed and who gets the queen-sized bed. There is no double bed in the house as one of the descriptions states. Second, there are three TVs in the house, but there was only one Roku, and, the Wifi was spotty, though the Apple products seemed to have the most trouble connecting to the Net. Third, if you are staying there in the summer, you may need to open the windows as soon as you get there to get some airflow going (there is no A/C or fans). Once you get the windows worked out, the house will stay quite comfortable. Now with those items out of the way, this house has tons of character, tons of space, and plenty of functionality for the seven of us who stayed there. The house was clean and fully set up when we arrived, and the kitchen had most of the cookware that we needed for our stay. The kitchen was great whether we were all doing our own meal prep, or for the awesome chicken marsala meal a member of our party prepared for us one of the nights. The bedrooms and beds were comfortable, and the three bathrooms were plenty for us. The piano is functional and sounds great, which allowed us to enjoy some music during our stay. This is a great historical home that will give you a nice stay in Leadville.
0

4/5 Good

Overall it was a great stay!

Morning Star is an absolutely beautiful home!! Beautifully decorated and wonderfully stocked to make for an easy stay. Beds/pillows were super comfortable and the space was perfect for our big family weekend! The Property Management company was great to work with and super accommodating. Our only complaint was that for the relatively high 'cleaning fee' , there was some cleaning left undone--- bedspreads and tablecloths under tvs were pretty funky when we arrived, some trash under the couch and cobwebs & dustbunnies in plain sight. Again, nothing that ruined our stay just that for $160 cleaning these things should've been taken care of!!
0

5/5 Excellent

Amazing

The house is a beautiful piece of history! 10 of us came and we all fit comfortably with room to spare. The house is gorgeous and has everything you need. Location is awesome as the house is on the main drag and everything is within walking distance. The owners are easily contacted and are willing to help at anytime. We are definitely coming back and I would recommend staying here.
0

5/5 Excellent

Wonderful historic home with just the right touch of modern comfort!

We were 3 generations of family getting together and our experience with the home was wonderful. The historic ceilings and ornate wood floors to the modern kitchen blended with the historic kitchen sink were great. Kitchen was stocked with everything you need to cook. A great place to relax in the evening after enjoying the outdoors. We would definitely return to stay here. Only a couple of recommendations to improve the place: get rid of the carpet in the front master bedroom, wood floor underneath would be perfect with a rug and add a dresser to that bedroom. Thanks for opening up this home for others to enjoy.
0

2/5 Poor

Disappointed

When we arrived the house was recently stayed in and the beds were all striped and the dirty linens were in the laundry room. I called and emailed the manager for 45 minutes before he resounded. He was very apologetic and said there was a miss communication between him and the actual owner. He arranged for 2 cleaning ladies to come do the laundry and make beds so we all (11 of us) left so they could accomplish this without us under foot. We went down the street for an hour or so and then returned to cook dinner, There was still laundry all over however the beds were made, I texted him again and told him it was incomplete and he then sent one of the ladies back to finish but she was basically just sitting in the laundry room watching the dryer so we sent her home and I finished washing, drying and folding the laundry. I initially said the house was clean enough but after settling in more and looking around floors needed swept and vacuumed and bathrooms needed attention but that is my fault for saying they didn't in the rush of things. The manager and his wife did come and bring amenities and they took laundry as well to finish offsite, and after my further complaints by me offered a $50 a night credit. All in all it was a nice little town and the house accomodated all of us but lesson learned, I will never bring my belongings into another rental until it is fully inspected. I have had great luck in the past using VRBO this time however was disappointing.
0
VrboOwner
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. During our Christmas week rush, this was our one and only unfortunate situation and we felt horrible about it. We pride ourselves on the utmost service and cleanliness for our guests, and we missed on this arrival. When we received your message, we put together a team of cleaning people. I then called and offered to have the home immediately taken care of. (This may have been 30 minutes) We also offered to transfer you into another rental if you would have preferred. My wife and I immediately went to the house. You stated “not to worry, the house is actually very clean. We just would like some assistance with the laundry.” Once our cleaning people arrived, you and your guests left. My wife and I took extra linens and towels home with us to quicken the process. Our cleaning team left as items were washing/ drying and you returned. The cleaning people were intending on returning to finish once the cycle completed. You called and we reassured you that they were returning to finish. The cleaning person returned shortly thereafter and my wife and I dropped off the remaining towels and linens that we had taken to our house. When we left the cleaning person to finish the laundry, you thanked us profusely and told us that everything was alright. 30 minutes later we received a call from our cleaning person telling us that you sent her home because it was just one more dryer cycle of towels to fold. You then contacted us the next day asking for a discount, at which time we fully agreed to a $50 per night reduction in rate to make up for the inconvenience of having to wait for linens to be laundered and folded. You seemed to be satisfied with this resolution at the time. When problems arise we work diligently to correct them immediately and I can assure you that guest satisfaction is at the forefront of everything we do. This unfortunate situation was resolved quickly and we cannot apologize enough for the miscommunication and condition of the home upon arrival. We have put better communication systems into place to ensure that this situation will not occur again. We hope you that you contact us if you ever decide to visit our beautiful town again!