Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great helpful staff. Could use some updating.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Could use remodeling
Location: Convenient to everything in town and to all major highways. Many museums and parks in the area. Great fishing everywhere you drop a line in the water
Booked through Expedia. The room we had chose was on the second floor, which required steps. I have bad hips and stairs are difficult for me. They went out of their way to change my room so it was on the main floor. They also put me close to an exit so I wouldn't have to walk far to my car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Joplin, MO

Last Resort

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Only go here if it's your absolutely last resort. Don't believe them if they say they have no vacancies. We were told that because the night shift worker did not want to deal with checking anyone in. Expedia reserved us a room right after they said there were none available. The next morning the daytime worker said there was actually 10 rooms available. Night shift worker was very disrespectful and unprofessional. Blood and hair on sheets in one of the beds. Called and requested a new set and the night shift worker left a set on the desk and disappeared again. Looked high to me. only thing good was the Belgian waffle I made in the morning. The daytime worker was very nice however tucking a shirt into bright red basketball shorts isn't very professional. Very nice guy though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Great clean quiet hotel with no big frills.

Posted May 2, 2016
Was a very nice stay. Quiet hotel. Not a lot of frills but none were expected. We did have a coffee pot and small refrigerator in the room, which we were grateful for. TV worked great as did the heat. The free breakfast offering was small but good. What I would expect for free and we have certainly had much worse in other hotels. The check-in experience was great and quick. Very friendly and helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here.

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Upon entering the room I was given the first thing that I saw was the beds were not made. Next I walked into the bathroom to see dirty towels on the floor. Not only were they dirty but they had poop on them. Next I noticed a powdery film all over the table in the room. I obviously did not stay in that room. The next room I was given the beds were at least made and appeared cleaner but had water damage on the ceiling and rings around the toilet. The hallways in the hotel looked as though they had not been vacuumed in months. I would never stay hear again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, affordable hotel in the center of town.

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: location to College
Cons: Breakfast bar
decent hotel for the price. ____________________________________________________________________________
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel- run-down

Posted Feb 23, 2016
The desk workers were very friendly. They were polite and helpful when they were asked questions. The rooms were run down. Although new paint has been applied, it was not done by professionals and looks shotty. Even the roll-away bed was a disaster. There was a large whole on the side of it. I was a little putout that they would even bring that into a guest's room. I would expect to pay much less if I were to stay in that hotel again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Closr to Benedictine College

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: In desperate Need of Appeal Needs landscaping needs to be done Cigarette butts all over - very dirty - ash tray never emptied Patio area dirty
A Place to sleep - Overall conditions have deteriorated in the past 3 years
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atchison KS

College visit

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Room was large, accommodations were fine, no real issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2015
the staff at the front desk was rude when I asked for extra towels he told me there was enough in there for 2 people. I had a king room I use 2 myself usually there are 4 towels. There were only 3 pillows on the bed that were very small and flat and stained. They had no laundry soap or dryer sheets. The pop machine was broken. The carpet in the halls were dirty and stained. I had 2 rooms both rooms the bathrooms were not cleaned. The iron board was broken and would not stand up.. We were there for a wedding and my family was also dissappointed in there rooms.Also the make-up wipes were dried out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2015 by sunny, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, SUNNY GM Atchison Kansas 913-367-7666
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Location: lots of museums and lots of places to fish.
This was my second stay at this hotel. You only have 3 hotels to choose from and this Super 8 is in the middle. The staff is very courteous and friendly. Rooms are good size, they have your typical continental breakfast. Did have a problem with bed bugs this time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2015 by sunny, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Atchison Kansas. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding BED BUGS Issue on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with Ecolab Pest control service guy to ensure he did not find any at our hotel we be glade to send you a report form his pest control company Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Atchison Kansas. Kind regards, SUNNY GM Atchison Super 8 785-764-3408