Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel of last resort ... stay somewhere else

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel staff did not like that I booked through a "second party." This was mentioned on the telephone, at check in, and at check out. When I checked in, the clerk commented on those who had checked in before me, and how some organization had incorrectly made their bookings so it was going to be inconvenient checking in each member of the group. Upon checkout, the clerk let me know how busy his morning had been, that it was unusual because "there isn't much in Atchison," etc. He seemed to resent being busy, though I was the only one checking out at the time. With the exception of the lovely woman who took care of my room, I found the staff unfriendly and unhelpful without a smile or gracious greeting in sight. For the record, I've never written a review like this in my life, giving a great deal of latitude for "bad days" we all can have. The shower dripped, water stood in the shower, the micro-fridge buzzed, the security lock on the far door of the hotel was broken and the door remained unlocked 24 hours a day. I hope I don't have to stay here again, though occasional business in Atchison makes it a possibility. Ugh.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK in the dark

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Affordable. TV worked well. Hot water. Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Bathroom was not clean. Desk chair was stained and in disrepair. No power outlets for a computer at the desk.
This hotel is in need of repair and thorough cleaning. Noisy neighbors. Not many choices in Atchison though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great helpful staff. Could use some updating.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Could use remodeling
Location: Convenient to everything in town and to all major highways. Many museums and parks in the area. Great fishing everywhere you drop a line in the water
Booked through Expedia. The room we had chose was on the second floor, which required steps. I have bad hips and stairs are difficult for me. They went out of their way to change my room so it was on the main floor. They also put me close to an exit so I wouldn't have to walk far to my car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was clean, nothing fancy. Close to the college we were visiting which was a plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Property in very bad condition,worst motel breakfast I have ever seen. Even the bell at the front desk was broken! The bed was comfotable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Passing through

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
It was a very nice room. Our only complaint was the continental breakfast. The selection was below average. Waffles were the only hot item.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

three rooms reserved when only one was requested

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
there was a mistake, they reported that we had three rooms booked through Hotels.com, couldn't cancel the other two rooms, put them down as a "no show"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Joplin, MO

Last Resort

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Only go here if it's your absolutely last resort. Don't believe them if they say they have no vacancies. We were told that because the night shift worker did not want to deal with checking anyone in. Expedia reserved us a room right after they said there were none available. The next morning the daytime worker said there was actually 10 rooms available. Night shift worker was very disrespectful and unprofessional. Blood and hair on sheets in one of the beds. Called and requested a new set and the night shift worker left a set on the desk and disappeared again. Looked high to me. only thing good was the Belgian waffle I made in the morning. The daytime worker was very nice however tucking a shirt into bright red basketball shorts isn't very professional. Very nice guy though.
3 out of 5
by Charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ruth from St. Louis

Returning from college

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
I was picking my son up for college. Price was right for a place to lay your head down. Breakfast was good, waffles, muffins, toast,cereal, yogurt coffee and juice. Place was clean. Bed was a little firm for my taste. Over I will stay there again.