Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Escondido, California

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Location: Great place to spend the night when you are on your way to or from somewhere. It is near the top of the El Cajon Pass, a.k.a., The Grapevine.
The scores posted in the "Rate Your Hotel" portion of this recommendation reflect our experience. A decent place for a decent night's stay. Come prepared with your own entertainment -- books, magazines, board games, etc. -- because there is not a store within miles where you can purchase what you have forgotten to bring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location just off freeway

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We arrived at hotel just before midnight for a one night stay. Staff was very friendly and check-in was quick. Room is spacious and clean. The self-serve breakfast was also very good with decent variety. The only problem we had was with the heater/AC unit. It worked fine, but was very loud...making it hard to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sauth san francisco,ca

Nice

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Was a wonderful experience to stay at this hotel this was my 2 time an I so happy I going to come back again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is near the highway

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Any one travelling in that way and wanna break the trip for rest, it is a good place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy from traffic, pillows, beds need replacing.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
It was noisy, pillows were as thin as envelope, bed creeks , and fan for air was loud! After a long long travel day, was hoping for a good sleep here, but not so much. It was clean , staff nice , and continental breakfast had lots of choices.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SFO

My son and I got bed bugs bites there :(

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: location/amenities
Cons: sheet cleaninness (see comment)
Not the first time we stayed there and overall hotel is good, but my son and I got bed bugs bites all over. That showed up later in the morning after and his (son's) reaction was really bad. My daughter and her mom slept in a different bed and they were fine. Not sure who to complain to, but at least will contact hotel, credit card and Expedia. Check your bed before lying down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stopping place

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Room was warm and air conditioning not very efficient. One Kleenex tissue left in box? Otherwise room provided needed stop while traveling south.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
This hotel is what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express, a clean and comfortable room, conveniently located next to I-5. So works very well if you're tired and passing through and need a place to sleep or plan to be in the area doing business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara CA

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was clean, good breakfast buffet. Made a quick LA trip from the bay area so much nicer. When we got up we didn't have the traffic to deal with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel, friendly service

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, superb service, large rooms, great amentities
Location: Near Frazier park, Mount Pinos, for all you hikers out there, if cabins are full then this would be the hotel to stay as an alternative.
Staff was very attentive, excellent professional service. Rooms are exceptionally clean, morning breakfast was also very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for our review. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit us again. Sincerely, Cristina O.