Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by William from Angel Fire, nm

Great location, friendly owner

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights here in late March. Took taxi from airport, easy to find..location is in commercial area of Leblon but upstairs. Can walk to any beaches nearby along with countless restaurants, shops, etc. Very safe area..no worries around here. Luiz, himself, takes care of the "guesthouse". It is like an Airbnb situation, although Luiz lives on a different floor. He is very friendly, tried his best to communicate with us in English, due to our lack of Portuguese. You can stay here for a great location and Luiz's hospitality.
5 out of 5
by JIYOUNG from atlanta

your home in Rio

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
our host, luiz was Extremely caring and kind. He was very enthusiastic about Rio and Brazil and gave us really good info for local happenings with great details. We will come back here next time. One more thing, the neighborhood was very genuine and laid back with full of local people hanging out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston,USA

Very convenient location to explore the city

Posted Mar 1, 2015
After the initial shock of the room condition we started to explore the city on our own, not knowing Portugrse at all. The hotel is part of a low rise residential, right in the middle of commercials, two blocks from beach, can catch buses to explore the city easily. We had a wonderful time exploring by bus 'blindly' then had a nice meal on coroner cafe. Finally get to meet the owner that night and had breakfast in the morning. Nice breakfast with fruit , juice, bread and tips from the owner. Wish that happen right at the beginning of our one night stay. We felt safe all the time in the neighborhood, seems to have a lot of local, especially older folks.
5 out of 5
by Chang hwan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Chris from London

Fantastic Service

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
A wonderful stay, Luiz was incredibly helpful even getting out of bed at 6am on a final day so we could have breakfast before taking the flight out of town. Location was unbeatable, a block from the beach & in the heart of the best bars/restaurants. Couldn't have asked for anything more, and will definitely be returning to Luiz's on my next trip to Rio, couldn't imagine stying anywhere else
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Breakfast, No TV

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
Quaint. Friendly people, good breakfast. No TV in my room, even though it says there was supposed to be one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient & comfortable base for exploring

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
Luiz is a great host- he'll make you feel very welcome, and has good helpful advice on fun things to do around this city. I'm not a Portuguese speaker, but luckily for me his English was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Very good location in Leblon

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Luiz is very friendly and takes very good care of his guests, but the bed sheets could be better and so can the bathroom. I went doing the World Cup and it was very expensive for what it is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, great warm hospitality

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location Staff / Owner
Cons: Windows
The place is ideally located. No doubt. In Leblon, close to the shopping and the beach. Walking distance to the best restaurants and places of interest. Luiz is super helpful, nice and will accomodate your needs, which is really great. The rooms are fairly large, but very basic. Perfect if you're sharing with a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Javier from Redwood City, CA

Safe area Rio, 2 blocks from Ipanema/ Leblon beach

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Luiz is very friendly and helpful. He would help you book/confirm any tour you are looking for.