Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kimberley from Vicenza, Italy

Great room for a solo trip

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful view and location. Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. I was worried about parking and they were awesome. Super fast check in and accommodated a late/relaxed check out. There was a wedding at the same time and seemed to be an awesome venue. Even without being a part of a big event they were great about accommodating my individual room.
5 out of 5
by Mrs. Fiona J

Thoroughly enjoyable!

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
A great night in a wonderful hotel. We will certainly be back. Highly recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

This hotel need urgent renovation!

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: The location right by the water and the view of Lake Como were very nice.
Cons: An urgent renovation. If not overall, at least new beds, new pillows, new soft blankets. This could change the whole experience.
Location: Very close to Lake Como, and a short drive from the beautiful town of Lecco. If you are there on a Sunday, don't miss the nice fair in Lecco.
It was a huge disappointment! The hotel is very outdated, furniture, décor, everything. The bed was horrible: hard, not comfortable, we tossed and turned all night and woke up with back pains. Not only the bed was horrible, you can hear your neighbor's talking and walking all night. The TV had many channels, but not even one in English. There is no elevator. You have to carry your stuff two floors up on the stairs. We were a few days around Garda lake, and paid less for hotels that were much better, renovated and with much more facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly.
Cons: Needs upgrading and new beds - Don't advertise lakeview rooms if you can't see the lake from your window. Door locks need to be replaced.
Paid for lake view but to see the lake you had to walk out the patio and walk to the front of the hotel to a common patio to see the lake. Walls were paper thin and snoring man next door sounded like he was in my room. No elevators -had to take luggage up and down four BIG flights of stairs. Bed was really old- mattress sagged so much on one side felt like i was rolling towards the edge when I slept, Staff were really nice though.
5 out of 5
by Keiji from france

Superb

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
The best I've stayed in Italy. Beautiful location and very friendly and helpful staff. Most of all, Restaurant was just amazing. View of Como lake and Mountain made me drink and eat more than usual.
3 out of 5
by Robert from Michigan

Nice getaway, Great place for couples

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was tucked away around a side of the lake with not much traffic. The parking is kind of confusing because it is labeled with the Hotel's restaurant's name instead of the hotels name. My room had a an awesome balcony which was not private but it didn't seem to be an issue that it was connected to everyone else. The restaurant had a unusual menu but the food was good as well as the service. I have one complaint, this hotel is not air-conditioned. Their wall unit ac is a glorified fan, and I could not sleep with more than a sheet covering me half way. My other complaint was handled by the staff and that is when I booked the room I used my American express and when I went to check out and pay they said they would not accept American express. After getting very visible frustrated and upset over the ordeal the lady offered to use their old system to see if it would work and it did.
5 out of 5
by Theresa from Montgomery, TX

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
This is a family ran hotel with beautiful views of the lake. The family ran staff is very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is located outside of the more heavily tourist area which we found quite pleasant. From the balcony of our room we were able to enjoy pleasant relaxing evenings. The hotel offers elegant dining on the huge balcony of the second floor. The food was good with reasonable prices. Would recommend asking for a room with air conditioning as it can get quite hot in the evenings. The rooms are a little outdated but the hotel is in the process of renovating with more modern decor. Would recommend this hotel for its quiet location and the great family that runs it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

One too many weddings

Posted Jul 6, 2015
This villa was amazing with plenty of terraces and spectacular views but there was 4 weddings while we stayed there - we were there for 8 days - if the weddings start around 2pm they are finished by 9pm which is fine but the ones that start at 6pm go till 1am in the morning so it is a little noisy but shouldnt bother the night owls - both my husband and i like to go to sleep around 11pm esp after long days of sightseeing etc -the weddings are held on the large terraces within hearing distance from all the rooms! Breakfasts were delicious on the terrace with beautiful views and lovely and quiet esp after the weddings!! Good coffee too which is not always easy to find in Europe!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama, USA

Hotel Villa Giulia

Posted Jul 5, 2015
We loved this hotel. The staff was especially personable. They were very helpful with anything we needed. They spoke pretty good English. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
5 out of 5
by Heike from Boston

Romantic hotel by Lake Como

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel on Lake Como in the pretty town of Valmadrera with view on the lake and Lecco in the background. I had stayed in this hotel in 1999 and always wanted to come back because I had such fond memories. A friend of mine got married there, and I can see why one would choose such a romantic location for a wedding (there was one actually the night we stayed). Staff is very friendly and the restaurant is fantastic! There is not much to do in Valmadrera (it is a quick drive or a good walk to Lecco though, and it is app. 20 km to Como), but if you are looking for a romantic place to stay with you honey this is a great choice.