Ratings based on 859 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great new hotel in a small town. Hugh pleasant surprise
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and for choosing the Royal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Exelent location

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pillows are way to thick, got sore neck next morning. It would be great if some different thickness on pillows were offered. Then the full experience will be awesome!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and your feedback is greatly appreciated! We hope you will visit us again soon so that we can show you how we are always improving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Has it all

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: We liked the size, cleanliness, the friendly staff and the fact there the hotel had a lounge and restaurant.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We attended the drag races at Castrol Raceways while there. The hotel is very close to the south side of Edmonton as well as the airport.
We had a beautiful room with a king bed. Lots of space, a sitting area and very clean. The lobby was bright and airy. The lounge was right off the lobby and the staff there were excellent, as were the drinks. We also had breakfast in the restaurant which was very tasty. We found all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel was very very clean; we saw cleaners in the lobby wiping down walls, doors, etc. Hotel was very nicely decorated as well. We will choose this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Wow, thank you for the amazing detailed review! We are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you got to experience the hospitality of our great staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Quick and convenient

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Flooring in lobby
Location: Airport & South Edmonton Common
Great location to the Edmonton International Airport. Good price. Nice amenities. Kind staff. A good crash pad between flights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review David! We hope to see you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatchewan

Nice hotel, needed a rest

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great quiet hotel, very pleasant staff only regret is the restaurant leaves lots to be desired Very over priced and mediocre food. Better food at McDonalds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Sylvia and for the feedback, it is greatly appreciated! I apologize for your experience in the restaurant and I hope that you will be back so that we can show you how we are always improving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln NB Canada

Nice hotel close to airport

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The hotel was very nice hotel clean staff was very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Steve, and for choosing the Royal!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from red deer, ab

Nice room but no ac

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The room was nice overall, but it seems every time we stay there is some sort of issue. This time the ac just made a lot of noise and didn't work. Asked the staff about it and they said yeah there are a couple rooms that have issues with the ac
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, as we are always looking for ways to improve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Showing it's age

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Good location; good wi-fi; full breakfast available; helpful staff
Cons: It needs some serious renovations; it's getting tired
Location: Very good location; close to the airport and Castrol Raceway.
We needed a hotel close to the airport and the raceway at a reasonable price and this fit the bill. With three of us all requiring a separate bed, the hotel was able to fulfill our request after a little persuasion and the cost per person worked out reasonably well. While we've stayed there several times in the past, it became apparent that the hotel is getting quite worn in areas and needs some serious updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback, it is greatly appreciated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: nice location, keurig coffee ,comfortable chairs in the lounge
Cons: fix the faucet in the shower area,serve variety of cocktails in the lounge area
the faucet in the shower area does not want to stay in a certain position either its too hot or too cold it took severat tries to manage it
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review Carol! We hope you will visit us again in the near future so that we can show you how we are always improving!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Air Canada rerouting

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Due to an unforeseen rescheduling (wildfires in BC) I had to travel through Edmonton, staying night there. I arrived late and had to leave early. The staff at the desk was extremely helpful and the server at the Lounge where I had a late dinner pampered me and her other guests ("dear," etc.). Early in the morning, the shuttle took only 5 min to drop me off at the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your short unexpected stay. I hope the rest of your travels went well!