Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Very comfortable night in a clean hotel which has a great feel and is so individually decorated. We lovedthe art the tapas restaurant next door was quite delicious so we were very pleased with the area too
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great location, a little noisy

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed. Good location.
Cons: Carpets.
Location: It's in a neighbourhood near the city centre undergoing gentrification with hip night spots, small independent cafés and shops with a plenty to do.
This has a great city centre location. The building is full of character and the staff were efficient and friendly. It is a strange mix of clean and comfortable as regards the bed and general state of the room, with cheap and stained carpets that appear to have little underlay. This lack of underlay means that you hear anyone moving in the rooms overhead and the carpet is wrinkled giving it an ugly appearance. I also felt disconcerted by someone accompanying me to my room. It felt creepy rather than hospitable as a sole female traveller. I had to share a small lift with a man whose only interaction with me was to show me my room. Nothing against this man, but it felt weird.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great City Centre Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2017
I visit Leeds semi-regularly for work and I've stayed at 42 The Calls a couple times now. The proximity of the hotel to town combined with its quiet canalside setting provides the perfect balance for me and make it worth the little extra compared to other city centre options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Beside the river, close to all shopping, perfect

Posted Nov 6, 2017
An unusually well converted industrial building, now a lovely hotel with good solid doors, proper locks on the doors, excellent facilities, lovely helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Going to arena

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Room was disappointment, on ground floor was booked months in advance,but I figured the wedding party had priority over the best rooms, even though I paid 110£for mine!! Breakfast was nicely done ,staff weren't very attentive to anyone.looked half asleep to be honest,no need to ask for glasses or salt should be standard on the tables , the reception was very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hull

Good location

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Decor. Staff.
Location: Near bars and shops in leeds
Friendly staff at all times during stay. Room clean. Decor different and bit 'quirky' .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2017
A wonderful hotel! Great location, peaceful, lovely rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Good hotel, fantastic location, friendly staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Rooms had character, good size, nice view and staff friendly and welcoming.
Cons: Shelf areas in room needed better cleaning. Service section of breakfast very slow and not well organised.
Location: Good location next to brewery wharf. Easy walking distance for shopping areas, bars and restaurants, leeds minster and the royal armories.
Generally very good hotel. Staff friendly and welcoming. Location fantastic and really good to see the history of the building incorporated into the current usage. Just a few small improvements needed to make our review excellent - areas of the room not regularly used (e.g. some shelves) dusty so more attention to detail needed and flow at breakfast needs improving as young member of staff difficulty in coping.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Revamp is urgently needed, terrible mattress

Posted Oct 5, 2017
This was once a great hotel in Leeds city centre, however this is now not the case. The hotel decor is extremely tired and it’s really starting to show. My biggest issue was the mattress. In the centre on both sides there were deep dents that were stuck in position. Evidence of years and years of guests sitting on the edge of the bed before starting their day. This caused the mattress to fall away when you were sleeping. Not only did you fall away but it felt like it was filled with boulders. It ungelated from top to bottom. I hardly slept a wink. To cap it off the curtains were not up to much either. I can cope with tired carpets and scuffs etc after a long day but the mattress is the most important part of the room. Needless to say until this place has been completely overhauled I won’t be starting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Absolutely beautiful stay. Comfortable room and access to the city centre in minutes.