Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, handy to family.
Cons: It really just needs some TLC, since it has been around for quite a few years.
Location: It's quite close to our family, which is why we initially tried it.
We spent Christmas with our family in Leesburg, VA, and stayed at the Clarion Inn. Our experience was most pleasant. It is an older facility, but was very clean and kept up. The staff was excellent, there was a breakfast buffet every morning (a pleasant surprise!), which was very good. The room was quite comfortable, the beds exceptionally so. And the price was very affordable. Unfortunately, we were told that the owner plans to turn it into a 5-star facility, which will mean (being Senior Citizens), we will no longer be able to afford to stay there. That is too bad, since we felt we had found a place we could stay every time we visit Leesburg. We have stayed in several motel/hotel facilities in the Leesburg area over the past several years, and the Clarion Inn was the nicest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very good hotel, reasonably priced and clean.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Nice historic hotel. Rooms very clean. Great breakfast included as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to what and who we needed to see

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Above
Cons: Smoke smell in bathroom
Location: Lovely Leesburg,movies,shops.....
Nonsmoking but bathroom smelled like smoke...otherwise,room was very clean;bed was super comfortable,hotel was quiet, and breakfast was perfect!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient location, run down hotel.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for what my family needed.
Cons: The level of cleanliness needs to be improved greatly. The grounds look to be taken care of but the interior is outdated and shabby looking.
Location: Close to the outlets (2 miles) and only 30 minutes to Middleburg and The Plains.
The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. When we entered our room, my children and I instantly noticed a bad odor similar to old cigarette smoke. This is supposed to be a smoke-free hotel but our room smelled very bad. The bedside table was gritty and unclean, the sheets looked like they were not freshly laundered and when my daughter went to take a shower there was a previous guests wet washcloth still draped over the shower curtain. I felt confident the sheets were clean but just old and the bed poorly made (the pillows are terrible) - we were too tired to do anything about it. The next morning my son told the front desk that his room also smelled bad and they said they would freshen both rooms because another guest at the front desk was also complaining. The staff during breakfast were kind and courteous. The food offered was certainly adequate and everything seemed clean. All in all, the hotel location suited our needs but I will not be staying at a Clarion Inn again due to the shabbiness of this hotel and the general lack of room cleanliness.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel is old and needs rennovation

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Carpets dirty, ant running across the dresser, really rough experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Needs some major updating!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The outside of the building looks like it is going to fall apart, siding and boards falling off. The room itself, the bathroom floor tile was cracked and loose. The sink was cracked and chipped, and the shower stall looks as if holes were patched with some sort of silicoNE all over. There wasn't an in room safe, not was there an elevator for the second floor. Very disappointed for the price we paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Outdated facility & odd smells in and out of rooms

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The building itself looks a bit dilapidated from the outside so we didn't expect much going in. The rooms themselves have more updated decor, though, so looks are a bit deceiving there. It does not appear that the facility has been kept up well over time, though. The beds are extremely high off the ground, so someone of a shorter stature may have trouble getting into them. The bathrooms are spacious and acceptable - nothing more or less than I would expect from any similarly-priced hotel. The biggest problem that we had during our stay was a recurring presence of cigarette odor in our room. It seemed to be coming into the room via the bathroom vent. We could flush it out by getting a cross-flow of air going through the room, but that did not stop the room from stinking of cigarette smoke when we first entered it for the evening. We complained about the smell a total of three times. Ultimately, the manager's solution was going to be to offer us Febreeze, which would not help mitigate the underlying problem which is that it appeared that somebody was smoking inside the hotel and the smell was leeching to other rooms. His final offer was to move us to a different room and run an air scrubber in the room in which we had been staying, which we declined in favor of a refund for the remainder of our stay. Ultimately what could have been a perfectly average hotel stay turned into a disappointment due to the lack of action in resolving the cigarette smoke issue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Clean and comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The hotel is clean and comfortable. But no elevator in the building and microwave in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Nice hotel for the price. Many restaurants close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Staff was great.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Wifi was not very good. Although we were out most of the day, in the evenings my daughter and I like to streamline Netflix on our iPads and we couldn't get a movie started. Same with our cell phones, wifi was extremely slow at first and would lose connectivity shortly after. We did have 2 spiders in the room the first night, but a good fumigation can easily fix that. We needed a microwave and one was brought up to our room, which helped a lot with all the left overs we had from going out to eat for every meal. I would give a 3.6. Almost 4 had the wifi actually worked. We would stay again.