Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, handy to family.
Cons: It really just needs some TLC, since it has been around for quite a few years.
Location: It's quite close to our family, which is why we initially tried it.
We spent Christmas with our family in Leesburg, VA, and stayed at the Clarion Inn. Our experience was most pleasant. It is an older facility, but was very clean and kept up. The staff was excellent, there was a breakfast buffet every morning (a pleasant surprise!), which was very good. The room was quite comfortable, the beds exceptionally so. And the price was very affordable. Unfortunately, we were told that the owner plans to turn it into a 5-star facility, which will mean (being Senior Citizens), we will no longer be able to afford to stay there. That is too bad, since we felt we had found a place we could stay every time we visit Leesburg. We have stayed in several motel/hotel facilities in the Leesburg area over the past several years, and the Clarion Inn was the nicest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Mare Flanagan, Hotel Management
Hi Margie, Thank you for such a nice review. Yes, we are making changes to the hotel which are much needed. We value you as a loyal guest and we will always be able to get you a great rate that fits your budget. We look forward to the next time you are visiting your family in Leesburg, VA.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
The toilet did not flush, the refrigerator in the room did not work. Also there are no elevators, normally not a problem, unless you have very heavy luggage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very good hotel, reasonably priced and clean.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Nice historic hotel. Rooms very clean. Great breakfast included as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older facility, Amazing Staff

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
We had a couple of maintenance issues, which the very friendly staff fixed as soon as they were made aware of them. The problem is that the hotel is badly in need of a remodel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
It was not good stay, room was not cleaned, I booked room for 3 nights, when I reached last evening, room was messy and not cleaned they just provided me fresh towel, for room they said their cleaners have been left, so you have to stay in this messy room and I had no choice, I will never book this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to what and who we needed to see

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Above
Cons: Smoke smell in bathroom
Location: Lovely Leesburg,movies,shops.....
Nonsmoking but bathroom smelled like smoke...otherwise,room was very clean;bed was super comfortable,hotel was quiet, and breakfast was perfect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for a quick stay

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Quick overnight stay, just slept there. Room was comfortable. Older hotel, but pleasant front desk staff. Had room on 2nd floor which required steps to walk up (so not good for someone who has trouble w/stairs). The outside lights near the entrance B were not working so the area was quite dark.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient location, run down hotel.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for what my family needed.
Cons: The level of cleanliness needs to be improved greatly. The grounds look to be taken care of but the interior is outdated and shabby looking.
Location: Close to the outlets (2 miles) and only 30 minutes to Middleburg and The Plains.
The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. When we entered our room, my children and I instantly noticed a bad odor similar to old cigarette smoke. This is supposed to be a smoke-free hotel but our room smelled very bad. The bedside table was gritty and unclean, the sheets looked like they were not freshly laundered and when my daughter went to take a shower there was a previous guests wet washcloth still draped over the shower curtain. I felt confident the sheets were clean but just old and the bed poorly made (the pillows are terrible) - we were too tired to do anything about it. The next morning my son told the front desk that his room also smelled bad and they said they would freshen both rooms because another guest at the front desk was also complaining. The staff during breakfast were kind and courteous. The food offered was certainly adequate and everything seemed clean. All in all, the hotel location suited our needs but I will not be staying at a Clarion Inn again due to the shabbiness of this hotel and the general lack of room cleanliness.