Ratings based on 475 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room needs updating: door has peeling varnish etc

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Update rooms
Great staff, lobby and breakfast areas are great, but . . . Door to our room had peeling varnish, bedding was below par, and carpet was worn. Time for an update!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great experience hotel is very close to restaurants and shopping. The room was clean and ready. The hotel staff was very friendly and bring good service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Lydia C, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Old hotel, needs lots of updating.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Definitely not like other Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed in. Needs major updating. Painting done in the bathroom was very poorly terrible. Had to wash spots off the bathroom mirror myself. Bed not comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Lydia C, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you experienced these issues during your stay. This is not typical for our hotel. I will speak with the Housekeeping staff to make sure these does not happen again. we just replaced the beds in the hotel so next time you are in the area they will be more comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Staff very friendly especially front desk. Any change I would say, fresher in room as was stale smelly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Lydia C, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in. Thank you for letting us know that your room didnt smell as fresh as you had hoped. We will speak to our housekeepers so this doesnt happen again. We value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Place

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: VALUE
Cons: NA
Location: Next to everything
STAY HERE! VALUE Clean....Next to everything in The Villages
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Lydia C, Hotel Management
Thank you Frank for your kind words, we really appreciate them. Our staff tries hard to make sure that all our guests enjoy their stay. We are happy that you did
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Right in the Villages close to visit my parents

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Hotel was slightly old and in need of modernization. Bathrooms were old and in need of upgrade
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comfy beds, clean rooms, & breakfast was fresh. Great location, close to restaurants, stores, & night life. Planning on staying there again in 2 weeks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel not only had great staff, a delicious breakfast, and a clean room, but when my 4 year old went to see if there were any cookies left in the lobby (which of course there weren't because they were the warm chocolate chip kind) the front desk lady insisted on making him some. We ended up with a dozen freshly baked cookies that night. Most accommodating kind hotel stay I've ever had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words, I am so happy that our staff was able to make your stay a memorable one. Our staff takes pride in making our guests happy. We hope you will visit again Sincerely, Lydia C Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vero beach florida

Convenient location

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Staff said pool was heated but it was very cold. Bed sagged. Pillows lumpy. Good frig and microwave. Keurig coffee maker but bad coffee. No dark roast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Lydia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Lydia C Front Office Manager