Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from lecanto ,fl

Nice but very okay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The room was comfortable. Pool bar was nice and the grounds were well kept.
Cons: The staff could be instructed to be more open with the guests. A note book with hotel information and local points of interest in room.
Location: Local brewery, antiquities shops are all around. Seaplane ride and boat tours, nice shops and awesome dining.
The hotel was close to everything in Mt. Dora, literally walking distance. The room where we stayed was on the first floor and it was very loud due to poor noise reduction on the door. The staff was friendly but did not volunteer any information about the hotel, there was a passcode to the pool and we got it from the other guests. Also, towels at the pool were not stocked for the crowd. The staff also did not tell us about onsite dining hours or local points of interest without asking. Even though it was the 4th of July and the hotel had some special seating to view fireworks, we did not hear of it from the hotel staff - it was sold out of course. Tv remote did not work and the staff did not replace it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

great week end retreat

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: location alongside lake dora
Location: visting old buildings , charming small town, surroundings , lakes
visiting central florida, beautiful city , Mount Dora features a lot of interesting historical buildings .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Manager and front end staff rude and unpleasant.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Cons: Management .
We were seated for breakfast at 8:00 am. waited one hr for breakfast, complained to wait staff, still no satisfactory answer, other diners that came and were seated after us, received breakfast before us, finally a partial order of our breakfast was delivered, remainder of breakfast was never delivered. We asked to see the manager, a woman named gail came forward and very rudely stated "who do I have to speak to" she was directed to us and without any apology angrily said to us " we are not charging you for breakfast, have a nice 4th of july holiday," abruptly turned away from us and walked away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Historic Inn

Posted Jul 3, 2017
I had a wonderful stay at the Lakeside Inn! I love old buildings and this historic Inn dates back to 1883. Although the bed wasn't what you'd get in a Hilton, being in such a grand old building was worth it. Take the Ghost Tour! Walk on the pier to watch the sun set. Beautiful grounds and large pool. Overall I'd highly recommend this place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

our room had termites

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: good location
Cons: hire an exterminator
Location: Great restaurants with in walking distance
Every morning My wife and I woke up sharing our pillows with termites. Told the front desk and was told that they would take care of it. Last day I complained to the front desk, they acted like they didn't care. For the price I paid for the room I expect better.
4 out of 5
by John

Great relaxing hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful setting on the lake in Mt. Dora, a lovely little Victorian Folly of a town. Excellent and friendly staff. Good food in the dining room. A few minor glitches - no stopper for the bathtub or way to stop the drain. Deadbolt did not work, not aligned with hole properly. Guests can apparently bring their dogs, and they were not all well-behaved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Beautiful location. Gorgeous lake. Great price. Restaurant was very good. The only con was the smell. Unpleasant smell of old carpets. Linens smelled of bleach. Otherwise, excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ruskin, fl

Great spot to visit.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: I loved stepping back in time as life seams a little simpler then.
Cons: I am not sure if anything could make it better
Location: The town was a great added bonus for fun shopping. Looking forward to my next visit and the Tea Room in town.
I loved the stay in Mt Dora. The Lakeside Inn was a wonderful place to hang our hat, the staff added the extra bit of pleasure to a very enjoyable time there. I am planing to return again for a few days in Jan 2018 with an out of town guest of mine that I know will love the town and the beautiful Lakeside Inn.
2 out of 5
by Robert

Rude check in staff, incompetent management.

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Check in staff the rudest we've ever seen. Even though we were here 3 nights, made us leave our room after the first night, carry our luggage to a distant pkg lot and refused to let us in a new room until 3pm that day. No consideration for guests. We are 75 years old, have traveled extensively and never been treated worse. Second night a large wedding took place, those guests were allowed to yell and scream, intoxicated until 2am on the outside grounds. Management took no action to control the disturbance. Stay away from this hotel if you want to be treated well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Polk County, FL

Jewel in Central Florida

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: It's historic (over 100 years old), well maintained. Restaurants and gift shops within walking distance, great staff, free parking.
Cons: Hard for me to say. Wouldn't want to alter the charm of this wonderful historic inn.
Location: It's on the shore of Lake Dora, boat rides on the Lake, Segway tours, Renninger's flea market & antique center, great gift shops and places to eat.
Went with my sister for a getaway. This is a place we keep coming back to because of the atmosphere....relaxed, laid back. We've run into very interesting folks at the Lakeside Inn...several local artists and writers. Lakeside Inn is in great shape considering how old it is. I'm glad Florida still has places like this. It's great for the younger generations to experience more than just the theme parks.