Ratings based on 3 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast yuk

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Room was clean and updated pleasant smell. Parking area clean. .
Cons: Breakfast yuk... Bed squeaked. I reserved with a card but used a different card at check-in. Currently waiting to see charges drop off or not on my bank card. When I checked in I ask if they needed card I reserved room with rather than card I gave them upon arrival. I was told no that I could use different card. Right now it looks like I'm being charged twice. Not happy about that.
Location: Location ok nothing in DeRidder to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Angie, Thank you for letting us know about the things that pleased you, as well as the areas in which we could have improved upon, during your recent visit to the DeRidder, LA area. Thank you for choosing our hotel as your lodging provider. I do hope that everything has been resolved with your financial institution at this point, and I apologize for the fact that you weren't completely satisfied with our hotel's breakfast bar or with the bed in your room. Your happiness is our priority and I hope that you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to the area. We'd love to be able to work to earn a full 5-star rating from you following your next stay here. Regards, Tushar Patel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carriere, MS

Keep Driving!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Upon arrival, the clerk was not agreeable in allowing me stay in a non-smoking room due to my asthma. She reluctantly provided a non-smoking room upstairs. Then, she had to be called to my room, #211, to get the television working. To finish the evening off, I photographed dried fecal matter that had ran down the front of the toilet. The next morning, the continental breakfast breads were stale with cold reconstituted eggs. I have never stayed here before and will never again given the price I paid. I have stayed in a lot of places but not this bad. I chose my battle to stay in the room as it was already 10:00pm and after a long drive, I just stuck it out. If I could have, I would have asked for my money back and went on! Keep on Driving!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, I am exceedingly sorry to hear that you were not provided with a superb experience while you were here and I assure you that this is not the type of experience we want for any guest to have. I sincerely appreciate that you have brought this to my direct attention. I will be addressing your remarks with our staff immediately. I apologize for all of the troubles that you faced while you were here and I hope that you'll give us another chance to welcome you to our hotel during your next trip to the area. Regards, Tushar Patel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Grey hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Me and my girl friend both had to work in Deridder the other day, since we live out of town, we decided to get room. I picked out the cheapest one I could find and to my amazement it was great. The location was in the center of town and the room was amazing. Every single time I come back to Deridder I'll be staying here
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2015 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sergio, Thank you for writing such a great review about our Quality Inn hotel in DeRidder, LA. We enjoyed having you as our guest and appreciate hearing that our location was convenient for your travels and that you were very pleased with your room here. I am excited to know that you'll be returning to our hotel for all future visits to this area. We can't wait to see you again and we will work very hard to earn a full 5-star rating from you following your next stay here. Regards, Tushar Patel