Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Perfect place to relax with a cocktail.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The staff were always welcoming and could never do enough for you.
Cons: Nothing, everything was perfect.
Location: The hotel is right next to the beach and within walking distance of local shops, night life and restaurants.
The Mandira was an excellent place to stay for a couple of weeks, they had great food and fantastic drinks. I couldn't fault the service from everyone there, they couldn't do enough to make our stay better. I'm defiantly going to go back there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wonderful Resort, Close to Beach, shops and eats

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: It was very clean and it felt like you could be anywhere in the world. The food was prepared Beautifully, the staff were clean and attentive.
Cons: I had to book an extension as I had a late flight and I stayed in a basic room. This was very run down and NEEDS a big revamp.
Location: The Bali Mandira is located on the Beach. A great restaurant near by is Fat Bowl. Amazing food and fresh. It is close to Money exchange & Massage
This resort has the best of all worlds. You could sit by the pool and relax. You could walk across the road and enjoy the Beach or head down the street for cheap shopping and great Restaurants. The staff were friendly and went above and beyond for all visitors. The location of this Resort is perfect and the grounds are Beautiful, walking along the walkways and feeding the fish. There are no words it is just relaxing. You do have the option of 2 breakfast styles. There is a buffet Breakfast or you can eat at Azul, This was my choice. you have a buffet of fruit and Juices but can order Breakfast off a menu. if you are looking for a child friendly hotel this suits, but in saying this I was not after this type of resort or holiday. There is an adult only area or infinity pool that overlooks the Beach and is just beautiful and very clean. You can book Cabanas by the day and they are a great way to relax, both in the Adult and main pool area. It may seem a little pricy for Bali but for me it was worth the money I spent on the Villa's. I wanted to sit quietly by the pool, and have no interruptions. I was able to go for a swim after dinner while having a drink in the sitting area of the villa. It was a beautiful view to wake up to. The villa has a coffee machine and biscuits, fruit and other items daily. But the best surprise was the inclusion of the Azul Breakfast, Morning Tea, Afternoon tea and Cocktails in the Club lounge daily. There was really not much more to pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Very good family hotel in good location.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Room layout especially bed and TV position
Location: Opposite beach and plenty of shopping and good food
Overall the hotel stay was great, but found the room we were given a little dangerous as the bed sat on a raised wooden floor with a small ledge around it. This meant tif you got iut of bed during the night there was a step to remember stepping down from. Our friend spent 7 out of 10 days in bed after a nasty fall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

room a bit tired, close to beach.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: The staff, the gardens and the pool - great for kids
Cons: the rooms need an upgrade they are old and tired - even in the suites for the money they are asking.
Location: Location was Ok, right on the beach which is a must for us. this is right in the 'ladyboy' area no issues accept when your 8 year old starts asking qs
The staff made our stay here. I thought the cost was expensive for what it was. The rooms were a bit old and tired. They were cleaned daily- you had to request when you wanted the sheets changed - no problems. I've stayed in same style of room for much less at other hotels. the pool slides are great for kids. the menu - room service and restaurant was boring to be honest and expensive. The nachos were yuck but the burgers were ok. Location was just ok as well. sort of right up the end of Legian. I must have been spoilt with other locations i have stayed before in Legian. We got a dose of Bali belly whilst over there and the doctor at the hotel was just amazing! Much better bedside manner than our GP's here lol! All in all we had a fantastic trip but my personal opinion is its over priced
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Unruly children made huge impact

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The beach front central Legion location brilliant. The gardens superb. The swim up pool bar had children sat at it a lot of the time, and we even saw a woman place her toddler on the bar. Children dive bombing and screaming around the place that it was not possible to relax in that area. The adult pool lovely, though with only 12 loungers it was a daily competition to grab a place to sit/lie as the child free adults srambled to escape the unruly children at the main pool. Breakfast delicious, though again, tantruming children impacting other diners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth, australia

great location. Close to everything.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The hotel is a great location. The pool is lovely but there is a definite shortage of pool chairs near to pool so the 15 chairs are all taken by 7.30am so then you need to sit on grassed area away from pool, so if I had young children this would be a problem. The food was lovely but you certainly pay for it. This was my second visit and I could not believe how expensive the food and drink had become in 3 years. In the new restaurant attached to hotel I paid $6 for a bottle of sparkling water....without goods and services tax !!! They also need to sort out the morning breakfast as way too many guests for available tables so often you have to wait and if you are looking for a nice quiet breakfast then please upgrade your room as people let their kids run amok in the breakfast and it was chaos while I was there. If you pay more to upgrade your room you get to go to a quieter area for breakfast. Definitely not a hotel for people without children but the location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Good pool and very close to the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Very friendly staff. Very safe environment for families with children. Good location to beach and shops
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Made Sri, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this with us :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent Family Resort

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Location and resort facilities especially the pool!
Ideal location, right on the beach at Legian and a short walk to restaurants, shops, markets etc. The hotel is well presented with lovely tropical gardens. The pool is excellent with 2 water slides, our kids were entertained for hours. Breakfasts are fabulous at the hotel. Only disappointing thing was our room view. (Superior family room) - looked straight onto a construction site and had to keep the curtains closed the whole time from the site workers. Would definitely upgrade to a balcony garden view next time. There was also no gymnasium, but I believe one is currently being built. We loved our stay here and would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Made Sri, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this with us :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Good bit of time out.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Location. Price point. Cleaning and food hospitality staff. quietness (although we did move room initially due to unexpected noise)
Cons: Check in and departure staff didn't look happy. Little bit more Indonesian food at breakfast
Location: Surf hire, massages, shopping, nice warong's if you look properly
Perfectly located in regards to beach, pool, shopping, spa's etc and yet we were able to get away from the noise when needed. The room was a little dated as others have said but nothing to be put off that's for sure. Perhaps the curtain could be darker, and the air conditioner was tired - it wasn't even hot in Bali so it would struggle for sure in the real heat. I still don't understand where the mosquitos get into a room when doors are always closed - I am mozzie phobic! Breakfast was good - they did that well - although I am a fan of Indonesian food I would have liked a little more variety. Good selection, very fresh and well presented. Coffee was good too. I would certainly come again to this hotel because it ticks all the boxed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Australia

Great, family friendly resort on the beach.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly Staff, beautiful surroundings, a close walk to restaurants, shops, bars and the beach was straight out the front if the pools weren't enough.
Cons: The rooms are a little dated, so an upgrade would be good, but all were very comfortable.
Location: A perfect location for our stay. A close walk to restaurants, shops, bars and the beach.
We went to Bali for a short break with friends and TOTALLY enjoyed our time at the Bali Mandira Resort. The staff were all very friendly, happy, helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay more pleasurable. They even sent flowers and a lovely note to my wife for a birthday surprise that was greatly appreciated. The grounds were immaculate. Everything was pruned, swept and maintained every day to keep things looking perfect.