Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Bad location, old and unclean, deceptive photo's!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: The cleanliness, the ability to contact the property directly, the false advertising of a buffet breakfast, hot running water in the kitchen
Location: The location is by a river, not many taxi drivers know the location and it's a good walk to places to eat or shop
We were unable to contact Grand Bali Villa by phone or email to confirm airport transfer, late check in and other details despite trying constantly for a week until we contacted Expedia twice as they also struggled to contact them. The road in had major potholes and our driver struggled to get us there. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful however that was the only positive. The mosquitos were unbearable, the living areas unclean, no hot water in the kitchen sink and a plug that wouldn't let us fill the sink. No cooking implements for the kitchen and the promised buffet breakfast was a delivered breakfast comprising of 2 fried eggs, 1 bacon, 1 sausage, orange juice and a few varying ingredients. As we had small children with us it turned out to be completely unsuitable and we had to spend our first day of holiday searching for a new place to stay. A complete waste of time, money and holiday but really nice staff dealing with what they have to work with
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst place ever. Need to take this off your websi

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Terrible staff left premises once we checked in the room smelt and full of mosquitoes. No service no safe box. No doors locked really run down place wouldn't put my dog in it. Lost our money for 10 days had to get another place to stay. Not happy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by indah, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review, but it is sad that you do not let us know your name. Otherwise, we might do something to solve this problem. We are sorry if our villa do not meet your preference. With low price than other properties, we still try our best. Our villa is nor longer a new building, but it is still comfortable place to stay as we still have repeater guests coming to our villa again and again. If anything in the villa did not meet your taste, we hope you directly told our staff and telling them to re-clean or do something with the setting. They will be willing to re-clean the room. Ours front-desk is also stand-by and willing to assist any request from the guest as long as it is within our capacity. In the end, shall you still unable to continue stay, you can contact us to discuss the best solution available. We are willing to learn the case and provide the best solution that gives advantage for both parts. May this find you well. Thanking you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice villa but not ideal location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The staff were quite good, very kind and happy to help. Villa was well laid out with the lovely dipping pool. Breakfast was great and delivered to your villa each morning. Rooms were fine with working AC and bathrooms were ok. The location is along a side street by a winding river. Difficult to walk anywhere but blue bird cabs were easy to get. Overall, we enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from western australia

villa

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: quiet & spacious
away from the hussle & bussle but a 10 min stroll to be right in the middle of legian shops
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Villa deserves its price

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: 4. Hotel gives you free pick up from airport if you stay at least 4 nights, I also enjoyed free return. 5. Everything you have to ask such as iron.
Cons: English level of staff
Stayed 7 ngts,Dec,2016.Villa deserves its price.It is 10 minutes’ walk from Main Street where you can find everything. Hotel staff is amazing. Important tips for potential visitors: 1. Boys can give you a ride by motorbike to any location nearby for 20kRupiya 2. Wherever you go, check the distance, and entrance fees in advance and there are a lot of discount packages for the places such as Safari and Water Activities. Don’t expect to get cheap price after you reach there. Most importantly, those packages include free transport from and to your hotel. 3. Villa sent a driver, his name was Wayan, he has black Daihatsu van, I also can provide car number, his photo, and telephone number. He seemed warm and promised to take everywhere for 400kR per day which was comparably cheaper than market average price of 500kR. However, from the very first day in Safari, he overcharged us. When we arrived there, he said he had already made a special reservation for us and took us to different corner than ordinary ticket gate. However, you can later retaliate in similar way by not paying another day’s service by providing evidence of overcharging, or easily you can report to police which they never want. That was a very good lesson from the very first day and every next day, I checked in detail wherever I go. For instance, to Water sport activities in Tanjung Benoa, you can ask from receptionist to book from website for locals and you can enjoy price for locals enjoying free transport from/to
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland nz

Wasn't a good stay unfortunately!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: This villa is down a dodgy road, next to a dirty river. There is no much around near the hotel and you will find that you will be catching taxis.
If you are thinking about booking here all I can say is don't. Sorry but I'd rather be truthful! 7 of us went to stay with only 3 beds available - Expedia said it slept 9! Floors were dirty, ashtray still had the last persons smoke butts in it, weren't enough towels for showers and swims, broken skylight in the bathroom, shower floor disgusting, cold tap was stuck and wouldn't turn on due to dirt/grime, cracked tiles around the pool, tonnes of Mosquitos, fridge didn't close Properly - sorry I will have to keep going! When we arrived there were hardly any lights outside in the living room area. Buffet breakfast was not a buffet although the people delivering the food were lovely. Water bottles in the bathroom were not topped up like they should have been. All bedroom doors had locks on them, however as we found out the doors could be opened with a butter knife. There was a gas hob there but nothing to cook on - we asked for a pan to cook seafood but they had nothing! Therefore as a family we had to eat out every night - expensive process!!! Hardly any taxis know where this place is and when they call for directions they all get concerned driving down the lane with all of the dips, bumps and potholes - will their car come out in one piece! Our family ended up spending more money to stay somewhere else for the last few nights - we needed to have a few nights where the kids weren't being attacked by Mosquitos! The only positive was that we could return and swim in privacy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Do NOT stay here. safety risk and more

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely unsafe and not recommended at all. I checked out early. Rooms can't be locked. Found some person on roof trying to get in. no security. guests made noise all night staff did nothing to stop it. food offered for breakfast was terrible. fruit on arrival was fly blown. There was no airport pick up. location is down a very bad road that taxis don't want to go down. It's a long way from shops and tourist area and I would not recommendcwalking down street at night its just too dangerous. tried to discuss all this with hotel via Hotel.com both unhelpful. I strongly do NOT recommend this for anyone. I checked out as I felt too unsafe and stayed elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Old run down, out of the way

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Taxi ride 30 mins into seminyak
The villa is nothing like the pictures, the furniture is old and falling apart, the breakfast was inedible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice villa , good location .

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Pool , ice cold air conditioning , free wifi and very friendly staff .
Location: The villa is booked not about 400 meters from a Ayu spa where we used to go for a nice relaxing Balinese massages and also close to Malos' restaurant
We have enjoyed our stay at this villa . The location was good , the walk to the places we liked to visit in Seminyak was on average about 400 - 600 meters one way . The rooms were cleaned daily and breakfast was included , there is a choice of Indonesian and American breakfast , all you need to do is to arrange with the staff the time you would like to have the breakfast served and the selection for each person . The pool size was just right for cooling down after a busy day . Free wifi with a good signal coverage was an icing on the cake for our Internet addicted family . Our stay was very pleasant , and I would definitely recommend this place to my friends .
5 out of 5
by Justin from Langwarrin

excellent,well worth it.

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
A little dated is only bad comment, But staff, the villa, was excellent ,drive down rough dark road but well worth it close to food n shops, Awesome with your own private pool.. I was hesitant with such a cheap price (I got for $70 a night ), but turned out well worth it had 4 nights there. Will definitely be staying there next time. RECOMENDED !!!