Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor

Great hotel with caveats

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros - Clean (ish), new, friendly staff, spacious rooms. Cons - Bar can get busy in the evenings, housekeeping left a couple of half empty glasses in the room rather than remove them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Pleasing contemporary hotel convenient for M1

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Easy to use, a coherent brand image, staff well trained.
Cons: Would have been better if my TV had not announced 'welcome Khan', whoever he was. There is no pedestrian pathway for safe access from the car park.
Location: Convenient for M11
Smart decor, good size room, high quality fixtures and fittings. Quiet with a room facing the atrium rather than outside. Food quality was poor and didn't match the rest of the standard of the hotel. Dinner menu is restricted to pub cliches like fish and chips, the ubiquitous three sausages and steaks. My fish was tasteless. The cooked breakfast was not up to the standard of cheaper Premier Inn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Just OK

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Convenient easy parking, quick friendly check in, spacious lobby, comfy bed, spacious lobby, the steak tasted great.
Cons: Need to walk through the hotel as a customer and spot all the issues. When someone takes the time to complain something should be done about it.
Location: N/A
Pool closed. No bottle of water provided in the room. Inattentive staff delivered a lacklustre dining experience, black mould in between tiles. Breakfast chef was not customer focussed. I wrote to complain but doubt anyone cares.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Marriott Leicester is a lovely hotel , I have been using this hotel for many years. However I did encounter some problems this time : The Iron and Kettle in room was not working. These are small issues that can be addressed. In the main it's a lovely hotel with comfortable rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire UK

Problems with breakfast service

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Good size bedroom
Cons: Staff need to be trained to be friendly positive and helpful.
Location: I live in Leicestershire There are plenty of things to see and do here.
Check in and room was fine staff friendly and helpful. At breakfast there were problems. Staff negative and miserable (I was in a good mood until then!) No guidance given about the type of breakfast selection available, I have not stayed at this Hotel before. Asked if it was buffet and told yes. ordered coffee and tea which came promptly with cutlery and serviettes. returned to table with cereals and once eaten queued for full cooked breakfast. Only two eggs left now over cooked but accepted, tomato sauce run out so had to attract staff attention for refill. It took some time, breakfast was now getting cold. When it arrived, went back to table which had been completely cleared including un-used tea and coffee. finally got hold of staff to provide it all again couldn't eat without cutlery. Breakfast now cold. Whilst eating cold meal member of staff opened patio window putting me into cold draft and disappeared before I could object, it was several minutes before she returned to the area and I had to call her over to shut window which she did with a slam clearly irritated by my request. After eating I learnt that I could have ordered omelettes, fresh cooked eggs etc., too late. complained at check out got breakfast removed from bill. Have stayed at other Marriott's in other countries service at this one was appalling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blackburn

Great stopover - Pricey but worth it!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Quality Hotel
Cons: Breakfast - Fresh on request stalls
Location: No nearby 'things to do' - intended - as stayed for particular purpose
Stayed over as part of a wedding venue the following day - Great Stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicester

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Fab stay! Cormfortable and best in leicester. The hotel staff and room were ideal and location is perfect
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You have to pay for parking and wifi

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Paying over £200 for two night and being asked to pay for parking and wifi was ridiculous. I can get free wifi these days on my bus rides let alone a so called world class hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Good location, high standard as would be expected from a Marriott. Friendly staff, plenty of parking, good facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lichfield, UK

Love it

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Everything
We have useful this hotel quite a few times now and it's great. Nice pool etc, lovely restaurant and good sized room with a really comfortable bed. Perfect!