Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cockburnspath

It was good for location right in the of Town

Posted Aug 17, 2017
No it was not for me the Room was too small I ask for a bigger room they said we can't do that, Went into the Restaurant I spent £45 on a meal and still came out hungry When I told the management they just Laugh, Also in the Restaurant there were only 3 tables taken so what does that tell you, And I was just there by myself,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The staff were great
Cons: The rooms could do with being modernised and also air conditioning.
Location: Highcross shopping centre is good
The hotel could do with a bit of TLC - compared to the reception, bar and restaurant, the rooms are very shabby and there was a private party on the nights we stayed which was very loud so we did not sleep well. It was warm in the rooms as we did not have air conditioning, and due to the noise we had to close the window, so it was very hot and stuffy in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City centre location

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Very short stay just over night but ideal base for us. Only disappointing aspect was due to change in menu lots of food items were "off" in the Marco restaurant which I would not expect even though it was a Sunday stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from northwich

Change of Room

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Location was handy for city centre. Staff had excellent customer service skills.
Cons: Needs updating
Location: Shopping, café culture on doorstep, bars. Cathedral. Richard 111 exhibition.
We booked the hotel for a family wedding and the first room we were given was awful. However the receptionist showed us another room on the same floor which was not overlooking the air conditioning units and had the bathroom facilities on the same level as the bed ..(not down 3 steps)...so that was an improvement. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean, except for some grimy net curtains which attempted to shield the view(?) Of another internal service area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport

Centrally located

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Centrally located to the town centre and railway station. Communal areas were clean and tidy. Staff were pleasant.
Cons: In need of updating, especially carpets in some rooms which looked a bit shabby.
Location: Leicester Cathedral, Richard III Visitor Centre, De Montfort Hall, Shopping Centre, nice pubs and restaurants.
Stayed for 3 nights to attend a music convention. Check-in was quick. Room was small and dark on the 4th floor, but had all necessary amenities. No hot water on 2nd and 3rd days, meaning our plans were spoilt. Despite assurances that this would be fixed, we could not have a wash or shower for 2 days. To resolve the matter we were offered free car parking (we came by train) and a complimentary breakfast (too late for that morning, and by the second we were not fit to be seen in public!!!). We had to ask to use any spare room available to have a shower - this was arranged. We then asked to move rooms to ensure we could have a shower in comfort on the morning of checking out. This was also arranged once one became available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barnet

Nice hotel but a few little niggles

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and condition
Cons: More accessable power sockets in rooms
Location: Well situated near station with large car park close to city centre
Well appointed recently refurbished hotel. On arrival we were asked to confirm the type of rooms we required (had booked two twin rooms) and said they were over booked but had a family room and a single so with their apologies we accepted this. Both rooms were well appointed and recently refurbished although the single was compact. The next morning at about nine AM one of our party went to have a shower to find no hot water. The front desk seemed less than honest and said it would be back on soon. On our return to hotel after lunch there was no water at all. On further discussions with front desk they admitted there was a problem that was being dealt with at this point they offered free breakfasts for the next day. On return to hotel after midnight the hot and cold water were restored. Only other problem with the rooms was only a single power socket available, top tip to travelers pack a four socket extension lead in your case. Otherwise a pleasant stay and a good free breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SWEARING

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: online
Cons: NO SWEARING
Lovely, but the swearing from the cleaning staff was not acceptable, banging on my door then swearing ******* words loudly. I asked for a refund Grande hotel would not do so. Such discrimination from this high standard hotel stil they wont refund fully for that awful language repeatedly.
1 out of 5
by Alka

Disappointing stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The room had a musky smell and very small and out dated. The bathroom was also out dated and the toilet flush was not working and shower pressure was very poor. Overall a very disappointing hotel stay. Didn’t sleep all night due to the smell.
1 out of 5
by Sandeep

Very Tiny Rooms & not a good service

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very tiny rooms. Bathroom has a sink with separate taps for hot & cold water & that too at 2 different corners of the sink, so you use either burning hot water or ice cold water. During checkout, when I complained about this, instead of acknowledging my complaint, I was suggested to use cold water as ''Use of cold water in morning is good''. Would NOT recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by Richard K brunt

Not up to standard

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Was very surprised that the hotel which has five floors only has one small lift. This means lots of waiting for lift or using stairs. The lift does not even go to the fifth floor. The room was okay but for four stars thought it would be better. Only had towels for one person which we had to ask for more. The room did not have curtains which was frustrating, just blinds which did not keep the light out and meant for a poor nights sleep. The shower worked for one person but then the water stopped. Very disappointing. Would not go again. Four stars and big rate left is very disappointed.