Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location easy to find

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Nothing at all to dislike
It was an one night last minute stay, cant fault it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Experience Country Home Living

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The setting and feel of an English Country home.
Cons: Furnishings a little tired, no elevator.
Location: Countryside walks, cosy village pubs.
This hotel is beautifully positioned in open countryside and fields. The inside is panelled walls and comfortable furniture. All the decor however is little 'tired' but certainly clean. Parking is good and the views from al the windows amazing. The staff were welcoming and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable, including changing our room when the first was quite chilly. It is important to note that there is not an elevator and that although the stairs to the first floor are wide and easy to carry a suitcase up that is not true of the second floor where the stairs are narrow and less easy to navigate with a heavy suitcase. We sat in the bar in the evening and had a glass of wine and a cheese tray - delicious. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Ordering is al a carte although there is a buffet to help your self to with fruits, cereals, yogurts and pastries. I ordered a Kipper which was excellent and my husband had scrambled egg and bacon which he described as creamy and delicious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff good food
Cons: We were in a twin room , but it was connected by a door we could hear everything the noisy family screamed. Next door . May as well stayed nr M 1
Terrible nights sleep due to noise not door Wanted quiet hotel may as well stayed at hotel nr M1
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ancaster ON Canada

Nice Hotel - would stay there again.

Posted May 12, 2016
It is an old 15th Century house once owned by the Knights Templar. Bar has a nice selection of local craft beers and the restaurant was good. Rooms are a bit dated but comfortable and large.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant country hotel.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: The grounds are wonderfully inviting, set in a very country theme, with adequate parking facilities. A relaxing environment.
Cons: A comfortable relaxing lounge would add immensely to the overall characteristics of the facilities for guests.
Location: Easy access into Leicester, but may have struggled a little in finding it without our satnav.
My wife and I stayed at Rothley Court for one night whilst attending a two day function in Leicester; and would like to stay again when similarly engaged. The grounds make for a pleasant stroll after a long journey, and our room was warm and welcoming, and very quiet during the night. There was a good selection of choices from which one could select breakfast, and my wife's dietary needs were well catered for. Staff were welcoming and very helpful; a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good Leicestershire hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Staff, general public room areas.
Cons: Standard room facilities.
Location: Lovely location & setting. Plenty to do nearby
Nothing was too much trouble for staff encountered during our brief stay. Breakfast hot & good. Booked a standard room but small with basic facilities and plumbing issues. Would upgrade on another stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Slough, UK

Charming hotel with good breakfast

Posted Dec 30, 2015
We had a family room and although the sofa bed wasn't made up on arrival it was soon rectified. Room was clean and beds were comfy. Shower was a bit basic but it was hot and powerful so no complaints there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset, UK

Exceeded expectations

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Authentic historic house in well-maintained grounds within a very rural setting. Minor initial problems were quickly and graciously resolved with a room upgrade. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful though not always with consumate skill. Our eventual room bettered any I have had in 5-star hotels. We were made to feel very welcome. Excellent food and service in the restaurant. The only downs were, I felt, the lack of a quiet lounge, poor Wi-Fi signals in most parts and rather poor reproduction picture hangings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Lovely country hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2015
A really great place to stay, good value for money and fantastic breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Perfect off the beaten track historic gem

Posted Nov 11, 2015
From arrival to check out we had a lovely time, the room was more then i expected, the hotel is full of charm and character, the restuarant serves quality food at reasonable prices, The staff are warm and welcoming and the grounds off a perfect setting for a romantic evening or two. I will definitley stay again when i need a break from the mundane, extra bonus was no phone service - perfect for forgetting the world for couple of days.