Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst hotel I have stayed in!

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room was awful - dated peeling wallpaper, stained carpet, the bathroom was tiny and the shower mouldy! I was advised that there would be no bar meals and the restaurant meal we had was lamb shank and should have been called lamb gank it was truly terrible!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok

Posted Oct 10, 2016
It was ok nothing special, defiantly overpriced. Rooms are very dated especially the bathrooms! If I was to attend a wedding there again I think I'd book the premier inn down the road for half of the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Country house hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
This hotel has a lot of potential but sadly, doesn't deliver. The staff were all friendly and helpful but the hotel itself is quite run-down and in need of updating although the grounds are beautiful. The room was comfortable with a lovely big bed but the shower was very feeble.The bar staff seemed to make up the prices - G&T was £3.50 when I bought one, but £4.80 when my boyfriend bought one. Over-priced.
3 out of 5
by Brendan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpriced

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
staff and surroundings were very good.however the £110 price paid for the night was way over the top for what is a hotel with small rooms, a sink in the bedroom (can't remember the last time I ever had this in a hotel at this price, unless it was a hostel!!!). Can't fault the facilities, good gym. having stayed in one of the furthest rooms from reception, whilst every effort is made is signing how to get to your room. trying to find your way back to reception is a complete nightmare, as no directional signs at all. breakfast was ok, but again not for the cost of the room rate. I would consider staying again, if I had too. but would only pay what half of the £110 fee. very disappointed with the price as definitely not good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A nice hotel with pleasant staff

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: The staff's friendliness and willingness to please guests
Cons: The wine list.
Location: It's a little out of Melton Mowbray which we knew and were fine with. As we were on our bikes and only staying overnight we stayed in the hotel
The staff here were very helpful, we stopped overnight as part of our cycle tour and the hotel provided secure storage for our bikes overnight. The food here was good, but we found the white-gloved service a little at odds with the basic wine list and the need to pre-order dessert at the outset. A good place to stay if you want a country house style hotel.
2 out of 5
by MARK from Skipton

Horrible Hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible room. The only good thing about the hotel was leaving it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Was lovely location, bed was comfy, breakfast was good but the condition of the hotel was horrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Good to stay if at scalford for an event.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: downstairs areas lovely
Cons: bedrooms need a refresh
Reasonably priced and downstairs is lovely. Rooms need a refresh but were comfortable and clean, although had a strange odour
3 out of 5
by Beverley

Better coffee, please

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant hotel with adequate facilities in the room. Breakfast was lovely, choice of full English, cereals, fruit, croissants, as well as tea, coffee and juice. My only negative about the hotel is their coffee. We ordered coffee at the bar when we arrived, delightfully served in coffee pots, but I'll be surprised if it were anything more than weak instant coffee. I was hoping that my coffee at breakfast would be more satisfying, no, just the same dull drink. For a hotel that has a restaurant and offers Afternoon Tea, I would expect their coffee to be of a higher standard. I would stay again, however, I will be going elsewhere for my coffee.