Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Country house hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
This hotel has a lot of potential but sadly, doesn't deliver. The staff were all friendly and helpful but the hotel itself is quite run-down and in need of updating although the grounds are beautiful. The room was comfortable with a lovely big bed but the shower was very feeble.The bar staff seemed to make up the prices - G&T was £3.50 when I bought one, but £4.80 when my boyfriend bought one. Over-priced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A nice hotel with pleasant staff

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: The staff's friendliness and willingness to please guests
Cons: The wine list.
Location: It's a little out of Melton Mowbray which we knew and were fine with. As we were on our bikes and only staying overnight we stayed in the hotel
The staff here were very helpful, we stopped overnight as part of our cycle tour and the hotel provided secure storage for our bikes overnight. The food here was good, but we found the white-gloved service a little at odds with the basic wine list and the need to pre-order dessert at the outset. A good place to stay if you want a country house style hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Was lovely location, bed was comfy, breakfast was good but the condition of the hotel was horrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Good to stay if at scalford for an event.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: downstairs areas lovely
Cons: bedrooms need a refresh
Reasonably priced and downstairs is lovely. Rooms need a refresh but were comfortable and clean, although had a strange odour
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice find in the middle of the country

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Excellent stay. Pleasing staff, the rooms were dated but added to the experience. The location was remote which requires access to a car however this was what was great about the stay. Close to Belvoir Castle by car and worked well for our stay. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2015
A lovely hotel in a great location. The grounds are beautiful however parts of the hotel need a little TLC. They was mould in the bathroom and the paint work was a little worn. However it was clean and the beds were very comfortable and the staff were friendly. I really enjoyed my stay and would stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Tired

Posted Oct 29, 2014
A nice house and location, but obviously focused on corporate buisness. Room was small cramped and worn out. Bed was the most uncomfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Food was ok.
5 out of 5
by Jane & Martin from Norwich Norfolk England

Friendly hotel with lovely grounds

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: the friendly staff and lovely food just all of it.
Cons: no
after a disastrous week end in stoke arrival at Scalford hall was a oasis of calm . welcoming staff and a nice room. we unpacked and decided to walk around the grounds what a delightful experience so peaceful and lovely gardens . With in couple of hours we felt relaxed and the bad experience all forgotten .
2 out of 5
by J from England

Only stayed for 1 night - thank goodness !

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: leaving it
Cons: Stay somewhere else
Location: Good location, nice grounds,
A slightly odd experience! A distinct lack of furniture within the reception, bar and public areas gave a first impression that the hotel has recently been burgled! It’s an absolute maze and the signage to the rooms was initially confusing! Think that it would be a good idea to revisit the general description of the hotel and its facilities, I’m sure that it was a very beautiful place last century; unfortunately now a very tired, dreary, run down hotel that needs a huge amount of TLC. We heard that 50 beds had recently been replaced, however ours certainly wasn’t one of those; it was like sleeping on the side of mountain and certainly wasn’t what you would describe as a great nights kip! Cold showers all round the next morning, leaks from a vanity unit and no remote control. Breakfast was basic, but adequate; the staff member serving it was friendly and more than helpful though. Not sure that we would rush back again in a hurry!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor matress

Posted May 18, 2014
Lovely hotel which we have stayed at many times but alas terrible old flat mattresses only give terrible sleeps, very disappointing.