Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Great hotel, cosy and clean

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Had a 2 night stay. Hotel has a lovely atmosphere. High quality at an affordable price and breakfast was fantastic. Free parking a bonus and only a short walk to the town, Richard III etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

close to location of people we were visiting

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Very disappointed that the toilet flusher broke in the middle of the night and hotel staff were not prepared to do anything until the morning. I was travelling with my 82 year old mother who gets up during the night to use the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

LOVELY CHARACTER HOTEL

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Hotel is handy for the university and on the new walk. Very friendly staff, room was lovely. Beds and pillows very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight Stay

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location, rooms, staff
Cons: parking!
Location: Leicester Tigers stadium a close walk away - and the Leicester Royal Infirmary is also close. Both of which we had to visit!
an overnight to go to rugby at the Tigers stadium which was an easy walk away - changed my double room for 1 person to a twin for 2 with no problem at all as the staff were very helpful in helping and were great when we were there. breakfast was varied and tasty - and pretty cheap. room was decent sized with a good sized bathroom. every thing was neat clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Great hotel and location

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Location and facilities
Location: Within walking distance of the centre. Cafe Lux and Bru great to visit.
Stayed whilst daughter studying at university for the weekend. Great location, great choice of breakfast, welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Man

great location with free parking

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast was a little cold
Location: Excellent- walking distance to city centre and train station
stayed for one night to catch up with friends and family - lovely stay. The staff are exceptional, the room was worth every penny.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Single Room I was given wasn't for a light sleeper

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Good location, lovely environment.
Although I had requested a quiet room as I am a light sleeper, I was given a room on the back of the lift in the middle of the long corridor. Despite my having soft ear plugs in, occasional noise kept waking me up until about 3:40AM, then started in the morning again at around 7AM. The sash window rattled in the wind and I had to push a sock to stop it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Surprisingly updated and comfortable!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, updated room, comfortable bed, quiet room
I wasn't sure what to expect when I first checked in, being used to old English hotels that are outdated and basic, but my room was great. It had clearly been recently renovated with nice, new furnishings and a very comfortable bed. Everything I needed was there and in good working order (kettle, hair dryer, fridge). I heard no noise whatsoever from my neighbors or the street, which was busy, it being a Friday night. The only minus is the mazelike layout of the hotel - be prepared to do some walking and stair climbing depending on which room you get. Nice bar and restaurant too. Parking lot was almost full when I arrived around 7PM but they do have overflow parking next door. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S'pore

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was good and location near train station
Cons: Sink and bath tube
Location: 3mins walk to train station, 15 minutes walk to city centre and 25 mins walk to Leicester stadium
Water in bath tube and sink flows extremely slowly, causes jam. Hotel is a bit old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast
Cons: Door closers very strong. Vibrated throughout our bedroom when neighbours closed the doors.