Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield.

Nice Cottage Room.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: It was pretty at the side of the river.
Cons: Perhaps the staff could be permanently behind the bar in the late evening as we had to go and look for someone to serve us more than once.
Location: That's the side that let it down, in Castle Donnington there is nothing to do or see.
It was a nice enough room, just on the outside of the main hotel, wouldn't be too good in bad weather, the room was a little small but it had everything that we needed, The food was nice in the main Hotel, the staff were attentive in the day time but it was hard to get served in the late evening. The breakfast was nice when we finally had it-I think we were overlooked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Lovely Hotel.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Lovely hotel.lovely staff.but noise from boiler room in room 10 was terrible.recommend the hotel but not room 10. Food very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Durham, England

Riverside hotel.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: More attention to detail in some areas - i.e.: cobwebs on beams in bar.
Location: Location was lovely, but not there long enough to explore area.
Only stayed here for one night. The hotel stands right next to the river and is very picturesque with fantastic views. Nice hotel - work in progress in some areas. The staff were all very young and extremely pleasant. Think the staff were the best part of the stay. Food in restaurant was ok but not to my taste - I don't think you need to put herbs on a steak! Breakfast was fine and once again the staff were fantastic. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was very comfy with everything you need for a short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Triple birthday

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Overall ambiance is good, location is pretty, staff were attentive and efficient. The hotel was clean.
Cons: Bathroom in the cottage rooms
Location: N/A
Beautiful hotel setting by the river, reception good, staff attentive, rooms clean and comfortable. Excellent starter for the meal, mains great between 5 of us we had steaks and pork but everyone went for chocolate for the desert and nobody finished it, too sweet and stodgy. Breakfast was excellent with real Dry Cure Bacon excellent scrambled and poached eggs, plenty of menu choice and fruit and juice selections. The cottage rooms were nice except for the badly designed bathroom, too tight and could have been done better. All in all we enjoyed our stay and will return particularly for Sunday Lunch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from HEREFORD

Lovely location.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort and 11.00 checkout.
Cons: Room service menu a little limited.
Location: Peaceful location next to the river.
Needed a comfortable , relaxing overnight break and got it. Quiet and warm on frosty, foggy February night. Deluxe room plenty of space and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location: noisy radiator

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Quiet location (a shame about the radiator spoiling this). Beautiful building. Good food.
Cons: Attention to detail in guest care - it's OK to be open and honest. They need to address the heating issues in the cottage rooms.
Location: We only stayed one night for an annual reunion so all we did was eat, drink and talk!
On arrival we were very pleased with the hotel. The staff were friendly and the rooms appeared comfortable and clean. Dinner in the restaurant was good and the service was excellent. There were one or two minor niggles such as a missing bread roll but nothing major. We had booked 2 twin rooms and there was a marked difference in the size of the rooms but understandable in an older property. One of the rooms felt cold so a reception was called and the man who came to check did boost the heating but only after saying "it's not cold in here though is it?" The other room was cold but the presence of an electric heater indicated that there was a problem with the radiator and it warmed the room adequately. The problem started when we tried to sleep: the faulty radiator began to vibrate every time the boiler fired. It was so noisy as to keep us awake and would stop long enough to start to drift to sleep then start again for another prolonged period. When we mentioned this in the morning, we were told "Oh yes, there is an issue with the radiator in that room. The maintenance man can do something clever in the boiler room to stop it." Well, a shame they put us in that room at all, if they had no others available, they should have at least told us about it and advised us what to do if it happened. Despite taking the cost of the wine at dinner off the bill, we left with the feeling that there is some work to be done on the care and comfort of their guests. Disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great riverside hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay at this riverside hotel convenient for East Midlands airport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
This is by no means a 4 Star establishment. Inappropriate staff, wrong room given, over inflated prices, 1 towel in room, no aircon, no apology. NOT WORTH IT!!
5 out of 5
by Jean from Blacko

Late deal in beautiful surroundings

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I along with two friends had an overnight stay at the Priest's House Hotel and were very pleased with everything. As the hotel was quiet, they upgraded our room which overlooked the car park/river. The hotel is in a beautiful location so overlooking a car park was no problem. The hotel reception staff were very helpful as were the bar/restaurant staff. Our room was fairly large with a good sized bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries. The bed was also very comfortable. The breakfast, which is served in a lovely dining room, was very good. We chose to take our evening meal in the vary nice bar area overlooking the river. Again, this was of a good standard. Unfortunately, we had to send back our lamb as it was under-cooked for our taste but nonetheless, very good. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would stay again if we are in the area.