Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Village pub catering for travellers' needs

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: So much to like - service beyond any reasonable expectation, cleanliness and general approach to making an overnight stay memorable.
Cons: We'd prefer to find two easy comfy chairs in our room. We feel that like so many places, Royal Oak misses a trick with good but not excellent beds
Location: Quiet Long Whatton, near Loughborough, M1 and and East Midlands Airport, is set in walking country of old villages and older churches.
Arrived early to find 3 rooms already made up for us and a very friendly welcome - sadly could not spend time in spotless classic bar. Returned late to warm comfortable clean and spacious rooms with spotless ensuites. Plentiful breakfast included glutin free options, morning papers and freindly service. Royal Oak is a gem, clearly a successful venture and well worth finding.
5 out of 5
by Marius

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Diane

Mid week stay

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great 2 night stay. Good food, warm, clean and quiet room. I needed to work so this was perfect.
5 out of 5
by Marius

i highly recommend it

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Great dinner, nice ales. Fast internet. Comfortable bed. Lovely breakfast
5 out of 5
by Karen

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Will not stay anywhere else. This place is perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will always book here when in area

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great food and staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet, spacious & welcoming B&B

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at The Royal Oak. All the staff were really welcoming and helpful and willing to help and accommodate. The room was really nice and clean, modern and spacious. The bed and pillows were a bit soft for our liking (nothing wrong with them we just prefer slightly harder) - would certainly suite those who are not as fussy / like soft beds. The restaurant at the Royal Oak is also worth a visit as it has a nice range of food available and we really liked it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Lincolnshire

Great country inn with modern accommodation block

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Comfortable rooms, very friendly and attentive staff.
Location: Small village just outside of Loughborough - ideally placed for visiting children at the university/colleges.
Characterful country pub with very good restaurant and separate cottage style accommodation block at rear. Rooms are stylish and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcome to Loughborough

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent, friendly staff and outstanding food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful inn with an enjoyable restaurant and local appeal.