Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Fabulous

Posted Feb 21, 2016
What a gem - so happy we found this place. Fully enjoyed it, food was great, staff and the room was well thought out and fab.
5 out of 5
by David from Whitworth

Business trip.

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
Brilliant hotel would strongly recommend at least for business purposes. Only stayed for the one night.
4 out of 5
by Graham from Stowmarket

Excellent place to stay

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for one night on business. Excellent accommodation and food. Very pleasant hosts and would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

A lovely place

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Lastminute
We had a lovely 1 night stay, the staff were friendly, the food was delicious and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Could not ask for more. Thanks Royal Oak.
5 out of 5
by Eileen

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
We had an overnight stay before our East Midlands flight the following day. The accommodation was first class and the food in the restaurant was fabulous - we had the early bird menu as it was fully booked later. The breakfast was great too with friendly helpful staff. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Four star stay in a village inn -excellent

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Many positives - the accommodation, the staff, the food, the beer, the prices. The negatives are few and minor - creaking board in bedroom at entrance to the bathroom. Entrance doors to the bedrooms are noisy, the outer door is shared and latecomers are guaranteed to wake up sleepers in adjoining room. The food was outstanding, best breakfast I've had in 40 years of hotel stays. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Alex from London

Lovely high end gastro pub with rooms

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great place.. Lovely staff provided a great continental breakfast in our room due to our early check out. Can't recommend highly enough. Food in the pub was also outstanding using locally sourced goods..
5 out of 5
by michael from Dublin

Superb find!!

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Food served in the restaurant is excellent quality. Service and friendliness of staff also superb. The rooms are separate to the public area so very quiet. The rooms are HUGE!! The bed very soft which I liked but I know some people will moan about. Everything you need is in the room including a mini fridge and the bathroom is immaculate. Everything spotless as well. I would absolutely recommend this place and I will definitely be staying again myself.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
only thing I would say is the meals do not have much choice if your dieting. only 1 type of salad