Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Bath not working

Posted Dec 21, 2017 on Hotels
A little upset with bath not working having driven from Denmark and looking forward to a nice soak.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice central location with comfortable rooms

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was very good and the location was perfect for exploring Leiden (and further).
Cons: The rooms seemed to be quite warm, but they had a fan and air-conditioning so this was not a real problem.
Location: The hotel is very central, close to shops, restaurants, canals, churches and museums. The station is about a 15 minute walk and easy to find.
The rooms were comfortable and clean, with big windows and free WiFi, and the hotel is located very centrally, with all sights and transportation links within walking distance. The breakfast buffet had a great selection of cheeses, cold meats, fruits, bread and spreads as well as some warm food and juices/coffee/tea - we really enjoyed it! For smokers (or people who like to sit outside, like us) there is a little terrace on the 4th floor with tables and chairs, and we had no trouble with noise or anything. Checking in and out was simple and you can come and go as you please regardless of the time. Good value for money!
2 out of 5
by caroline

Disappointing accommodation in ideal spot

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Centrally situated, this hotel should be ideal. However the standard of accommodation is poor and the rooms ramshackle and badly appointed. The bathroom was particularly disastrous with no extract fan and a shower that allowed water spread everywhere so that the space resembled a steamy jungle. A large dirty smoking terrace right outside our ( and others) windows meant noisy nights. The staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little disappointed from US chain hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
I had a room under the roof. It was fairly hot outside and the AC (two individual units in the room) was weak. Wouldn't have been great if I would have stayed inside to get some work done. It cooled down over night and sleeping was not a problem. Patio on the roof was OK. Breakfast was very good; the bar needs renovation. Overall, the hotel is fairly unorganized. I had to change a reservation for two rooms, only one got changed and that turned into a double charge for the room later. When I started to discuss this with the hotel management, they were not able or willing to look into this despite me presenting the confirmation message from hotels.com. Another guest complained about multiple things not working in his room and the staff (all fairly young females, probably students working for minimum wage) did not know how to respond.
1 out of 5
by Stephen

Room type booked months ago 'unavailable'!

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Deluxe twin room booked months before was 'unavailable' when checking in at 4pm. Ended up in a standard double room but offered no apology and no compensation as we 'already had a preferential rate'. Best Western never again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good location, run down, need of refurbishment.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above, everything !!!!
Location: Good eating nearby
Bath out of order, unable to use shower area as it had poor lighting. Had to ask for another room. In both bedrooms the wardrobes were in poor condition, and the doors were detaching from the runners. Were locked out of the room safe, no internet reception in the rooms. Noise late at night from other bedrooms. No parking. Public parking a bus ride away. The shower was poorly constructed and sprayed water outside the shower area. We had no kooks to hand wet towels on. In the second room we were given the sink was defective and sprayed water onto the floor when turned on. good location but poor by Best western standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
- Internet service was really poor. I highly recommend improving the internet/Wifi quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Nice position but

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Very large junior suite with massive spa bath in the room. En suite so small it was unusable. Noisy next to lift - bells from the church opposite chime every half hour. Breakfast ok but needs presenting better. The whole hotel needs a revamp Only positive in a very good position.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice place in general

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice place and staff However, AC and jacuzzi did not work. Also bad smell in hallways and stairways! Nice location to everything. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Mirvais from Munich

Cute hotel in the MIDDLE of Leiden

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very cute place in the middle of Leiden. Walking distance from "everything interesting". It's a rebuilt and renovated old Dutch house with a very special character.