Ratings based on 854 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Nice and nearly close

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Nice friendly hotel and staff. Be prepared to walk as not close to town and station approx half hour walk..although close to main roads so easy to get to and from by car. Lovely all you can eat buffet. Lots to offer for all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by HIL, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Nice review, thank you. dit you know we also rent bicycles, now it will take you less than 10 mins to get into town or the station. The local bus runs every half an hour and we offer free shuttle service, see time schedule on our site. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay, please come back soon. Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team
3 out of 5
by David from Layton, UT

Hidden fees

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and this hotel is amazing for small children. The main problems were that they had some hidden charges. Yes, you do get some free internet access, 1 MB to be exact (not a typo). If you want unlimited high speed internet, you pay an additional €15 per day. The breakfast also says free but is not totally free. You get free breakfast for one adult and one child under 11. So if you have two adults or an adult and a child 11 and over in your room, you have to pay €15 for the second person (per day). If you have an adult and two children under 11, you will have to pay €9 per day for the second child. For our family of 6 with 2 rooms, we still had to pay for our 14 year old and 5 year old (€24 a day) and when we went out to a local bakery it was less than that for the whole family to have breakfast. The service in the restaurant was terrible. At dinner I had entirely finished my meal (buffet style for food but waiter brings your drinks) by the time they came to bring the water I ordered before I went to the buffet. And after they seated us at a table and we went to the buffet, someone came and took our table (wait to be seated so this must have been the hostess error) so we had to find somewhere else to sit (which could account for our drinks taking forever except we sat 3 tables over and never saw her bring drinks to our old table either). Poorly run and very expensive. I would go elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning David, Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience you had to experience. All deails concerning internet, breakfast, dinner, etc. are on the website, no surprises for our guests. We thank you for this feedback and we hope you will give us another chance to prove you better. Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Nice hotel, very good room service. Good spot, 25 min from Amsterdam and other attractions...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by HILteam, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Nice review, thank you very much! We're glad to hear you enjoyed it, including our location. Again, thank you for this review, we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'll be back

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, That is all we want to hear, thank you very much. We look forward to your return visit, you are very welcome! The Holiday Inn Leiden Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, uk

Very good Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: There are no shops or things to do near the hotel, you have to go into the town centre 1.5 km. from hotel
A very good hotel, kept in excellent condition. The facilities were excellent. The breakfast choice was very good, both hot and cold. Note, it would have been less expensive to have pre-booked it through Expedia. The hotel runs a shuttle service to the main train station during peak times, twice a day. One slight drawback,the train station & town centre is about 1.5 km. from the hotel, & there is only one bus every half hour, although the stop is only about 120 metres from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by HILteam, Hotel Management
Dear Malcolm, Nice review, thank you so much. The schedule for our free shuttle service (rush hours) is on our site. Only about 5 mins from the hotel there are some (small) shopping malls. Shopping can be done in the center of Leiden or towns such as Wassenaar, Katwijk, Noordwijk, Oestgeest can be reached within 5 of 10 mins. Again, thank you for your positive words, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Holiday Inn Leiden Team
3 out of 5
by William from Oxford

Great hotel, improve the food!!

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great, staff excellent and the rooms very good however the food was terrible, I tried something different each day and it was consistently bad. Stay here but eat out!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by The HI Leiden Team, Hotel Management
Dear William, First of all our apologies for the food. More detailed information what kind of food (also where, in the Ocean bar-restaurant or our Garden restaurant?) would be appreciated, as we are very eager to please our guests and therefore, if necessary improve our product. Again, our apologies. Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster, England

Would stay here again

Posted Jun 14, 2016
We chose this hotel because we were visiting family and they live within walking distance. It provides everything you expect of a big modern hotel, friendly efficient staff, well equipped bedroom etc. Nice bar, huge restaurant ( can't say what it was like to eat there as we pretty much used then place just as a base). One tip - if you don't want to be woken early ask for an outward facing room, as the inward facing ones overlook the restaurant inside a huge atrium space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by HILteam, Hotel Management
Good morning Lynda, Thank you for this review and good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Families prefer interior rooms, rooms on the exterior side of the hotel are more quiet. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, the Holiday Inn Leiden Team
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Lafayette, Louisiana

A good home base.

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable as a home base to visit the sights in the area like Keukenhof, The Hague, Leiden, The breakfast was nice with a variety of things to chose. I saw many families with young children. They had an indoor pool and play areas.
5 out of 5
by Iman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael from Sittingbourne Kent UK

One night stay at Holiday Inn Leiden

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
We booked the hotel for a 1 night stay prior to a dog show in Leiden. The hotel was excellent, comfortable and very clean and was ideal for our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by The HI Leiden Team, Hotel Management
Good morning UK! Excellent, very clean, ideal. We need to hear no more, THANK YOU! Needless to say we look forward to welcoming you back real soon, please hurry. Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team