Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Staff were great room comfy great value for money self service breakfast
Cons: Only one small comment could do with a water station in the gym
Location: Chester Cheshire oaks and Leeds for shopping all close by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kenya

Airy and spacious.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Shame no fridge in room. Staff very helpfull and polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Andrew Charlton - General Manager , Hotel Management
HI thank you for your review. Unfortunately in a Holiday Inn Express our brand owners IHG do not allow fridges to be kept in rooms, it would not be a brand standard because all of the rooms should be the side throughout Europe. I appreciate your feedback though, and a very valid suggestion to make. Kind regards Andrew
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

good value close to Manchester

Posted Jul 5, 2016
enjoyed the lovely breakfast each day lots of parking clean rooms and comfortable beds nice hot shower next to a grocery store and a kid friendly restaurant would recommend to traveling families
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Nice hotel half an hour from Manchester

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The deco of the communal areas. Bathroom facilities.
Cons: Quality of coffee at breakfast.These days even McDonalds serves proper Italian coffee.
Location: A quiet location despite being next to a road. Just a few miles from M6. Ten minutes walk to a retail park.
This contemporary hotel has recently been refurbished and it looks fantastic. Very clean room, modern bathroom with walk in shower, easy parking and free of charge. Decent breakfast with a hot option. Great value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Bea, thank you for your review. I certainly take on board your comments about the coffee we serve at the hotel. For breakfast we do offer a blend from a local reputable company via a dispensing machine, along with Kenco filter coffee. These are complimentary and form part of our express start breakfast. If guests prefer a more premium coffee, we do serve the illy brand, but there is a charge for this drink. I sincerely appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Cons: Breakfast wasn't very nice
Staff very friendly room nice and clean stayed at this hotel when it was a park inn much in prooved but breakfast could be better ....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel,great location and amazing facilities

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Greeted by lovely staff that allowed us to prolong check out time til 1pm. They were willing to provide takeaway menus and toothpaste when we asked. Went to the gym which had all the major machines. Doesn't seem to be used as much as it should, the sign in book showed it wasn't used for 5 days. The rain shower is so powerful and relaxing and the shower gel smelt incredible. only downfall was breakfast, it was tasteless and there wasn't much choice (but it was free, so I can't grumble too much). Would definitely visit again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2016 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Char, thank you for your review, your comments are greatly appreciated. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the complimentary breakfast. We do receive our products from a national supplier and the range is always under review, but we do have to work to brand standards associated with our hotel chain. I totally agree about the showers they are a fantastic. Our gym does have a good range of equipment, and has a good level of usage over the course of a week generally, but everyone must be taking a break from their fitness regime when you stayed! I hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in our area. Kind regards Andrew
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs,California

Pleasant hotel although just a little basic.

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: Clean,fresh and warm conveniently located.
Cons: Bathroom shower door leak,additional tea available and biscuits. Additional pillows in the room upgrade bedding quality.
Location: Very convenient to everything Leigh and surrounding areas.
Clean and pleasant but with just a few inexpensive touches it could be so much better,just two tea bags available,no biscuits so for a few pence you could elevate the room experience. Pillows in the room are synthetic flat and uncomfortable,would have been nice to have an extra available,bedding feels cheap and institutional. Shower door leaks and has been doing so for some time as evident in the rust water stain on the floor and lose bath panel,easy fix which should have been done months ago which lets down the room experience. Room was comfortable and fresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tamworth

Only thing not good bed too hard. Breakfast not th

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Staff great lovely clean and warm
Cons: Beds
Location: We were at National Cycling Centre and had dinner at Whistling Wren over the road
Fire alarm went on Sunday morning cleaning staff not sure what to do thing training needed bit worrying
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romford, Essex

Excellent mid point on the way to York

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Needed to stay part way up to York and this looked ideal. The late arrival facilities meant a Friday afternoon/evening trek from outer London didn't need to be hurried or stressful. Beautifully clean room, a lovely airy size and comfortable bed meant we could fall into bed and look forward to all inclusive breakfast the next morning. Fanastic value for money. Couldn't fault any of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Enjoyable stay

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Had our trip here with a 9 month old baby. Everything was immaculate and I could put him down on the floor anywhere in it to crawl about. When we went down for dinner or breakfast we had to ask for a high chair rather than help ourself but it was brought out quickly. Also didn't have a travel cot in the room as expected but it arrived almost as soon as we had. Had a problem with the bill when leaving but it was sorted out although it wasn't explained so I'm still waiting to review my bank card.