Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Good Location

Posted Jun 8, 2017
This hotel is in a great location. It's convenient to a tram line and there are many eateries in the neighborhood. I chose this hotel because it was near an apartment where friends were staying. It was well situated for WGT-goers. The only bummer was the lack of AC, but it never got hot enough that I was truly uncomfortable, and I was only in the hotel to sleep for a few hours each day, anyway. I would stay here again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by T. Schulz, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Markgraf Leipzig. Visit us again. Kind regards from your entire team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Friendly staff. A few stops by tram from city centre. I stayed during the Easter holiday so most businesses nearby were closed, but it was also very quiet. I suppose in other times it should be very lively.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by T. Schulz, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your visit and your evaluation. We would like to welcome you again to our Hotel Markgraf Leipzig. Best regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly, well-situated & comfortable

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great location - quiet yet near lots of restaurants,with easy access to the city centre
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank für Ihren Besuch und Ihre Bewertung. Gern begrüßen wir Sie wieder in unserem Hotel Markgraf Leipzig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Our regular Leipzig stop

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Proximity to family is top priority, but hotel is ok.
Cons: They charge 11 euros p/p for a breakfast that is not as good as what other hotels include without extra charge. Way overpriced.
Location: Nearby trams provide transportation.
My son lives in Leipzig and this is the closest hotel to his apartment. Fortunately it is a reasonable option, since we stay here every year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Torsten Schulz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and your review . Visit us soon again. Best regards. Your Team from the Hotel Markgraf Leipzig.
5 out of 5
by Norma from Lancashire

Excellent accommodation

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
An apartment excellent can't rate it highly enough bars & restaurants 2minutes away at the end of the road . staff professional but friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Torsten Schulz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and your review . We are happy to welcome you again. Ihr Team from Hotel Markgraf Leipzig.
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Sinking Spring

Markgraf Review

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent help by the employees
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Torsten Schulz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and your review . We are happy to welcome you again. Ihr Team from Hotel Markgraf Leipzig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Exceeded expectations in every aspect.

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Modern fitout in rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and good location.
Cons: The breakfast offering could be improved ( German breakfast offerings are usually very good), plus some of the chairs were in need of repair.
Location: Located in a quiet street, yet very close to tram stop that had a direct line into the city centre. It was perfect.
Wonderful small hotel. Arrived early evening in a strange city and reception staff friendly and helpful with immediate local information. The room was large and modern with windows that opened for fresh air. Buffet breakfast was basic but had everything one needed. Again staff friendly and attentive. Excellent value and can highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by T. Schulz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and your review . We are happy to welcome you again. Ihr Team from Hotel Markgraf Leipzig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

nice hotel, good location, nice reception

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: location mainly, breakfast also-OK
Cons: maybe the reception area...just a little bit of imporovment but again - nothing you will see or really feel when you are there.
Location: bars are very close, walking distance to the city center (about 15 minutes).
well, we stayed 2 nights there, was OK. small hotel, reception is closed at 23:00, still, there is an automatic machine for check-in (we didnt need to use it but it looks ok). everything we needed from the reception was delivered very good. rooms are ok, not too big, but still ok. value for the money was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Lovely, quiet hotel. Yards from the famous 'Karli' nightlife street. Customer service was flawless and the bathroom was spotless. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

A quiet location with good transport.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Very modern and extremely clean and bright.Polite English speaking staff. Very extensive choice of food in buffet breakfast.
Location: Two minutes walk to bars, restaurants and tram lines 10/11 to city centre in 5 minutes. I ate in "Lulu Lottenstein" two nights running. Superb food.
This hotel is in a very quiet street between two roads with regular tram service. The room was immaculate. Clean, quiet and with superb central heating, but which you have to turn on! The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on and I would have liked to take the mattress home with me! Trams 10/11 to city centre are two minute walk. I highly recommend "Lulu Lottenstein" restaurant close by as suggested in hotel brochure. Potato soup with truffles (4.90!!) and a goulash of venison with tiny dumplings and a glass of excellent local RED wine. Total 24 Euros. Went back next night and had the soup again but with Wiener Schnitzel as big as your shoe...and two glasses of wine. 24 Euros again! Worth visiting via Tram 9 just one stop( go right out of hotel to main road) is Bayerisher Hbf with its brewery and restaurant. Superb in house beers and food looked good. For beer lovers I also suggest the brewery opposite Bach's church, Thomaskirche. Also great German food here. The church itself and Bach museum (free) are a must as is the Mendelssohn House and Grassi Museum, with the finest collection of musical instruments I have ever seen.Stunning....and free! The rail fare to Dresden was excessive at 54 Euros (£44) for a one hour journey. Hotel receptionist was born there and told me, on my return, that the bus takes on hour and is 6 Euros!!! Dresden has been rebuilt extensively since the appalling and unnecessary allied bombing in Feb 1945. Worth a visit just too see Opera House