Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Never Again

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Location close to transport
Cons: New Staff with better attitudes.
Staff were horrible. Our TV wasn't working, we mentioned this on day one and was advised it would be repaired the next day. The next day a different person advised it would be the following day. On the third day another person at reception said it hadn't worked for weeks and they thought it didn't matter. This seems trivial but when you are in once place for 4 nights and pay for a room with a TV you expect a room with a TV that works. It was the way this was handled and the way we were treated that is most disappointing. The third person was rude and obnoxious and told us if we didn't like it we could 'get out'. It was in such a threatening tone we felt unsafe and checked out forgoing the rest of our booking.
4 out of 5
by Keith

Would stay there again

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
Would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Cons: providing a full Scottish breakfast.
Good location to city centre. Only a continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to city

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Good hotel. Older building but kept clean. Nice beds with newer bedding. Nice little breakfast. Owner was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Katy

First stay Edinburgh

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was lovely, the guesthouse was really nice, very clean and well presented the room was perfect for a couple and beautifully presented. The manager and other staff where really friendly polite and helpful. The Continental Breakfast was lovely everything was fresh and if you needed anything else they would provide. We would defiantly stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poor facilities

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The good was the location for Edinburgh marathon and not that far a walk to the town centre. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good. There was also free wi fi. The bad was the room was quite small. There is no safe and the door felt quite rickety. The toilet didn't work for the majority of the stay. There was another toilet on the top floor but not ideal especially given tired legs following a marathon to climb up and down. Also the continental breakfast is really really basic. Other b&b that I have stayed in Scotland have decent b&b. Although on marathon day they did get up early - but that's nothing new and what I have experience at other b@b. Service was ok - but The toilet issue never got resolved and on the last day the owner didn't even have the courtesy to apologise. To sum up my experience in the past when I have stayed in b&b the owners have made me welcome and it feels like you are staying in somebody's house. This felt more like a penny pinching save as much money experience. There are far many better b&b then this one.
4 out of 5
by Todd

Good location, nice guest house

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice owner with a nice guest house in a good location. Street parking wasn't the easiest and it sounds like it can get a lot harder. There was a funky odor in our room.
5 out of 5
by Jean

Close to city centre

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
A wonderful stay, the staff are really friendly and most helpful with directions. The city centre was only a few minutes walk and there is on street parking. The room was very warm and comfortable, lovely place, will recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

B & B is in a good location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The bed-and-breakfast was in a good location about 20 minutes walk from the centre. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean. there was free parking on the roadside nearby.
3 out of 5
by Brian

Edinburgh Weekend

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Good location, reasonable breakfast, okay room.