Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

NOT good value for money.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Hotel Staff and quiet nights.
Cons: Bed!
Location: Not the best, if You are in Edinburgh for Fringe.
Watch out for a room with "Large Double Private Bathroom" description meaning: You'd have to get out of the room and go through commonly used staircase to get to your separate (although private) bathroom. Also I was happy to be exactly six feet tall. One more inch, and my feet would have been sticking out of the bed - it's that short. Cleanliness was good (just a few woman's hair found in the bathtub), so was breakfast. Staff was excellent - helpful and kind. The overall rating would be higher, if the stay wasn't hugely overpriced - even considering Fringe Festival period. (We moved to Hilton Hotel after that stay for less than half of that price).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
A good, quiet guest house full of original features. Our room was huge with a comfy double bed. Breakfast was fresh and hot. Fresh raspberries and blueberries were on the sideboard to help yourself to. All in all a reasonably priced stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Very comfortable

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast.
Location: Convenient to city centre and Royal Yacht
Very welcoming. A charming period home. Quiet and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Memories

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Great place to stay everyone really friendly. Easy reach of city centre and shrt walk to royal yacht Britannia . Our room was spacious and well presented. Nice touch of chocolates and sherry in the Room. Great choice for breakfast cooked full English or kippers. Will return again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Very nice B&B friedly people and give us helpful hints. Room was clean and big enought for two person only shower was a bit small. Breakfast was good. And to the City with the bus only 15 min.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Very happy with our stay at bonnington guest house

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Good distance from city centre great breakfast would be happy to go back if we went back to Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
by Rachel

Best BB in Leith

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
A really lovely place to stay, plenty of information given about where to go eat, and sightseeing tips.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, relaxing home base close to the city

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything that Edinburgh has to offer and Leith too.
The Bonnington Guest House is a beautifully presented and comfortable 19th century home that is close to the centre of Edinburgh and the botanical gardens. The owner Gillian is a welcoming and friendly host who makes you feel at home and is very helpful in recommending places to visit and interesting things to do. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The location is quiet with great off street parking, a large park next door and a good hotel across the road. There is a bus stop nearby that makes it quick and easy to travel into the city centre. The breakfasts are delicious and the supply of treats in your room is terrific.
5 out of 5
by Morag

Comfortable easy access hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable room, quiet and relaxing. Wifi was a bit slow but sufficient for my needs. Very convenient for my course and easy walking distance from restaurants.