Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Good location.

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: The location was good. Lots of interesting shops and restaurants nearby.
Cons: Consistency in the rooms. The bathrooms could do with an update.
The hotel is in a good location. It’s an easy walk to town centre, the Schloß and many other things. The hotel is very old but was spotless. Our family of 10 had three different rooms. Whilst my room was spacious with a good sized TV one of the rooms given to other family members was quite small and the TV was miniature. Our room had a shower over a bath. One of the other rooms only had a bath. It seems what you get is a bit hit and miss.. The breakfast was not great but quite adequate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Near shopping area

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Location: Is about 15 minutes walking from downtown shopping area. Nearby you can also find the vegetables market and a sort of flea market. I felt safe, I had
Good location for the price.Breakfast was complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vallance

Review

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Room size. Bed size and comfort. Breakfast. Good choice. Nice coffee. Location. WiFi was free and reliable. Staff were very very helpful.
Cons: Add a kettle in the room as this is now standard in most hotels. A small fridge would be useful but not essential.
Location: Old town 5 mins walk away.
Close to old town and tram stop. Quiet. So nice not to be in a hotel chain and experience a real Austrian accommodation. The staff were all very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Gavin

Everything Was Nice

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
The man at the front desk during check-in was very friendly, especially when he gave us a couple of his own ibuprofen for my wife's headache. Everyone was pleasant, the lobby looks like a lovely place for a rainy afternoon, the breakfast is very nice and the hotel is right next to the modern art museum, across the river from the old city. Just outside our window there was a cafe or bar with noisy laughing people outside until late, but that's nobody's fault but the nice weather.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Never ever recommend to anyone

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I would never ever recommend to know one please stay away everyone from this hotel I went for three days it was like a chaos the TV wasn't working the Bath had a big mark on the corner of the bath the water attract the floor tiles were cracked it looks very beautiful on the picture but please please stay away don't waste your money look at somewhere else you get a better deal and don't pick this hotel
2 out of 5
by sherman

noisy, no air, very dated room, no parking

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
No air condition on a hot night, had to open the window, the local street bar right across made all kinds of noise till 2am, then the trucks hauling garbage... very noisy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Old World style, minus modern comforts.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: The rooms need serious upgrades for modern travellers.
Really wanted to like this place. It's a good location, but my room was serious lacking. You get one towel, one pillow and a very austere bed which is more like a cot. No mirror except the one in the bathroom which was above the sink and small, just enough to see your face in. No shower, just a tub with spray nozzle, but there was no shower curtain or glass wall to prevent the water from going everywhere if you used it. Had to kneel in tub and carefully direct spray towards the tub wall... way too much hassel. Room was hot in August, no fan, no A/C, had to leave window open to get any airflow, but window not screened and noisy cafe' outside, which made getting any sleep before midnight difficult. Staff was curteous, though a bit unfriendly. (One desk clerk was friendlier than the other staff though, but she was only there one of the days.) Seemed like they tolerated you more than anything else. Not sure if this attitude was reserved for English speaking guests or if everyone was treated thusly.
4 out of 5
by Niederwolfsgr

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is located in the pedestrian area near the river Mur, just minutes to walk to the museums, a lot of nice restaurants and bars near by, in the summer the noise from the street cafes may be disturbing till 11pm if your room is on the street side. The rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is ok with a selection of cheese, sausages, cereals, free wifi.
3 out of 5
by Oskar

Great location but noisy night

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very nice and close to everything. We stayed on very warm days so needed to have windows open to sleep and it was very noisy till after 3 am. Unfortunate. Probably fine in cooler weather. Excellent location to see city though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Good place in the very heart of the city

Posted May 23, 2017
Mariahilf is a good place, perfectly located in the very historic center of the city. Easy access to everything. The room was clean, the service was good, the breakfast was really good also. Staying here was a pleasure.