Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful scenic location, very good room but unfortunately lacked air conditioning. We had a terrific meal in the restaurant and breakfast was very good. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Donald from Pittsburgh

Great retreat

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
The view was great
5 out of 5
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Among the best in the Black Forest

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
One of the best we've stayed at in the Black Forest - loved the location, the views, the food, the service, and the rooms! Rooms were comfortable, spacious, had great modern bathrooms (and a great shower). Breakfast was excellent and dinner was also very good. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
5 out of 5
by Alexandra from CH

Wonderful hotel with excellent service and food

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely wonderful! We spent a birthday weekend here with our family. Excellent service, staff very friendly and accommodating both at the reception and in the restaurant. The dinner in the stube was delicious and the atmosphere was elegant yet cozy. Breakfast buffet was copious, with a great selection and high quality products. The rooms were impeccably clean, comfortable, and had amazing views of the Black Forest. They were also very sweet to our dog! Would definitely come again.
5 out of 5
by Columb from Yorkshire

Lovely part of the black forest

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
We had a quiet weekend away after a business meeting in Basel. The hotel is undergoing a renovation which didn't really impact our stay. There was no work going on in the weekend. We had an older room (suite) which had a fantastic view and balcony. The bed was very comfy and the room warm. The sofa was a little 'old fashioned' and stiff but we weren't in the room much. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and the chef made us a fresh omlette each. We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was great, traditional food. We didn't get to use the spa facilities but did look at the pool and the sauna look clean and inviting. The hotel is on its own at the top of the hill. We drove down to Titisee and parked the car in train station carpark (£6 for 24hrs) and used the card they gave us to take the train to Schulsee and also had a boat ride on the lake. Great system those cards. Great place if you want to go hiking, cycling or just relaxing.
4 out of 5
by Felicia from Singapore

Great breakfast, nice new rooms.

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely hotel at the end of Säigerhoh road. An old hotel that has recently undergone extensive renovation so many parts were spanking new. That said, the electrical wiring on our room was odd - some sockets worked, some did not, and one of the light switches did not work. Wifi is free and fast enough from our room, which was great. Baby cot was also complimentary. Room was a good size and we had a sizeable bathroom with shower (no tub). Very clean and furnished. Good view of the forest and village. Breakfast was heavenly. Really impressive range of meats, cold cuts, fruits, cereals, drinks etc etc. I would definitely return to this hotel, if only for the breakfast. They had gym, jacuzzi and a "play barn" for kids too, but we didn't make use of those premises. Staff are friendly.
4 out of 5
by Hoi Kwong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dave from Baldivis

Renovations should be good when they're finished.

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
The staff at this hotel were efficient and eager to help. The hotel itself was in the middle of renovation while we were there so it's hard to say how the rooms are in that area but where we were the rooms were nice but definitely dated. The view was very scenic and a walk through the surrounding forest at dawn and dusk is recommended. Overall the stay was comfortable.
1 out of 5
by Janhavi from Mumbai, India

Just terrible!! Horrible!! Totally avoid!!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
I had booked this for 2 days and after we arrived to munich, I fell sick and couldn't travel the next day(apparently you have to change 4 trains to reach there!!!) I called up from Munich huge previous night and explained my plight and also that I had a small baby with me and requested to them to cancel the booking and charge me for one night. If they had to!! But the most hostile staff kept saying we will get back and charged me for 2 full nights!! No sympathy for a sick guest in your country!