Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well maintained, with some New England Charm

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: New England style charm
Cons: Change cancellation time to 5pm instead of noon.
Location: Location is private and rural. Nearby Leominster and Fitchburg.
This is a pleasant property somewhat off the beaten track, but close enough to the highway to be convenient. The rooms are freshly painted and the property is very well maintained. The construction is wood frame so you can hear people walking around, otherwise the hotel is quiet and peaceful, far from traffic. The on site restaurant is a great feature, reasonably priced and serves very good food. The dining room setting reminiscent of a lodge with a beautiful bar setup. Complimentary full breakfast weekdays great for people on the go.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Topsham

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The location is good for our purpose.
Cons: New pull-out beds. Better level of cleanliness and maintenance.
Location: Easy Rt 2 access.
We stayed here last March, and it was a very good experience. The beds were comfortable, the staff was very helpful, and the room was spotless. It was an unpleasant surprise to find that the bathroom was not too clean, the bathroom door frame was all rusty, the bathroom door itself was delaminating at the bottom, and the pull-out sofa was like sleeping on a bed of rocks. Seriously! The springs were right there, no comfy covering at all. Sorry to say, we won't be staying here again.
2 out of 5
by Blaine

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Overpriced for area. No continental breakfast. I would think $ 200.00 per room would warrant at least that.
4 out of 5
by David W from Columbus

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is somewhat dated although clean. There was no towel rack in the bathroom which would have been nice. The exhaust vent (if it was an exhaust vent) in the bathroom didn't work. The signage for the hotel was not very visible. The hotel sits off the road & down a hill. It's impossible to see the hotel signage at night. A light at the entrance would have been nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Food was great in the restaurant, clean hotel and rooms. However bathroom had no fan or exhaust vent. Bathroom fills up with steam when using shower. If you leave the door open it goes out into the room. When I mentioned this to the front desk clerk, she said oh yes that's an ongoing issue. I think maybe it should be addressed!! It was an issue in my room not sure if it is like that in the other rooms
4 out of 5
by Donna

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay. I am a student and was staying here to lighten the hours I've been having to drive lately while on rotations. This was the perfect place. It was very quiet and I was able to get my work done. I also really enjoyed the Colonial Grille. The Bartender was fantastic.
1 out of 5
by steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you are in the area it's a great historic hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Overall was a good stay. Room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Francis from Ghana

Great place to stay

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Will come back
3 out of 5
by Theodore from Kenai, Alaska

Mixed Bag at the Colonial Hotel

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 6 years, mainly because we had no other choice. We needed to be near Cushing Academy for the purpose of our stays. The front desk staff is by and large not a welcoming crew, with few exceptions. In fact, most with whom we have dealt border on rude. The check out time of 11AM is iron-clad, with no sympathy for us travelling across four time zones and pleading to be able to check out at noon for the purpose of getting over jet lag. We have never been granted late check out no matter how many times we have asked. We are routinely informed that "No outside alcohol is allowed". Seriously? We like to enjoy a glass of wine to wind down at bed time while we watch a little TV. Finally, the rooms are fairly sterile. Clean, but no décor to speak of. The price the Colonial charges for a room is never a value. Period. The only redeeming qualities of this hotel are the bar/restaurant and the fitness facility. That's it.