Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Historic hotel : bedrooms modern in annex block

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Historic countryside setting. Link to Sound of Music.
Cons: It would be great if there was a bar in the main building
Location: About 20 mins from Salzburg. Walk over hill to get an overview of the city. Beautiful gardens.
Really great registration at hotel. Staff allowed early entry to room. Very good general knowledge about local events. Helped us book concert tickets. Food at breakfast was varied and interesting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel with amazing lakeside breakfast

Posted Oct 7, 2017
This is a truly incredible hotel, with amazing historical rooms, and sitting on a wonderful property which includes a large lake and views of the mountains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tale of two nights

Posted Sep 30, 2017
My wife is a Sound of Music nut, so for a special treat I booked us a suite in the Schloss for our two nights in Salzburg. Our check in was great and we were shown to our suite which faced the driveway on the ground floor. Our room that night was very comfortable, and the next morning we enjoyed the great breakfast. The next day we had a full day and evening of activities so when we arrived back to our room we were exhausted. We opened the door to our room and were overwhelmed by the heat. In our absence, someone had decided on their own to crank up the heat. Being unfamiliar with hot water heating, and knowing that sometimes switches, taps and valves in Europe turn on in the opposite direction to North American ones, I called the front desk. It took two calls before someone who knew what to do came and turned off the heat. We had to open the window and our suite door (so much for privacy) to let some cool air in. Finally by 12:30 it had cooled off enough to be able to close our door and windows. At 2 am were were awakened by loud banging outside our room. Upon investigation we discovered people carrying out equipment and loading it into a van just outside our room. We were slower getting to breakfast the next morning and the choices were limited. When we checked out we told the manager at reception and also left a comment card about our problems.Two weeks have passed and there has been no response from the hotel. For $435 per night, we felt we deserved better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faded Glory .......

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: The palace itself- stunning;, the views - spectacular; lovely to see the grounds in context to the Sound of Music film
Cons: Upgrading of rooms and furniture
Location: the grounds and lake were used in The Sound of Music.
This has to be the most opulent three star hotel ever ..... but what a shame, the palace deserves so much more; as do guests if we are to part for one night with the sort of money that buys one night in a five star Salzburg hotel or four nights in an Asian Hotel. Our check-in during the late afternoon was efficient and very friendly and we were escorted to our suite (the Sir David Gore-Booth) in the palace itself. The general feeling of sadness was overwhelming, it felt more like entering a student house rather than the luxurious and splendid place on the website. The furniture in our suite was mismatched and felt out of date, the rugs looked dirty, as did the sofa and the mattress and pillows were sadly not up to standard even for a hotel in this rating. The only saving grace was the spectacular view from the suite of the Untersberg mountain and the famous 'horse' gates leading out to the lake (the sole reason for us staying there) with their Sound of Music connections.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Decoration and design, history and art work
Cons: Accessibility to Salzburg city center
Location: Near a lake with fairy tale views. Walking, hiking, biking. Restaurant 10 min away but expensive. Supermarket 10 min walk away..
Worth every penny. Front staff was super helpful. The view to the lake was exquisite. Free bikes for guest. Lots of grounds to walk. Room was not that big but still good enough for 2 people. Love the decoration, design and the updated bathroom. Breakfast was included, not that much variety but the quality of food was excellent. Definitely will stay there again if I am in Salzburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Escape on a calming lake

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The perfect place to stay away from town...access to the palace makes it really special!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: staff
Cons: dinner and/lunch service
Extremely friendly staff. A little ways away from the city yet can get there via taxi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice lake view. Friendly hotel cat. Tree swing!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Orbitz
I didn't want to leave; it was the most relaxing hotel stay ever.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was just okay

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
This is one of the more expensive hotels in Salzburg. It is a pretty place, fairly far outside of the main part of town. All three nights we were there staying in a suite, we only had partial access due to various parties that took the parking, outdoor seating, etc. The service was fairly mediocre considering the expectation. Our suite was bland, with obviously cheaply bought "antique" pictures. We had one with a big hole in it. Our walls were cracked and it was so sparsely decorated, it looked like someone went out of their way to do the bare minimum. Most of the staff were very nice and helpful, so no complaints. There was one that was not, but overall the rest made up for it. One young brown haired girl working on the team, went out of her way to give next level service, but the rest were your basic friendly counter staff.