Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from cabo

Excelent place.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: You can see that the architect design this hotel to be confortable. Perfect space for each thing. Great restaurants. Great service. Great location.
Cons: The restaurant of the roof top should close latter. Right now close at 10:30 pm. I always arrived to the hotel later hungry.
Location: The river is just there the downtown is 10 min. Walking. Do the hop in and hop of that is crosssing the river Albertina museum you have to go.
Best hotel I have stay in Europe, great design, great room, great bathroom, amaizing view, the roof deck has an amaizing views from the city from the bar or restaurant. Great location next of the river next of downtown were is the activities. Excelent Hotel. I hope every city has a hotel like this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Fabulous location and amazing 18th floor bar.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Beautiful state of the art hotel, easily accessible to the centre of Vienna for sightseeing and shopping. Staff were friendly and interested in helping visitor's to enjoy their stay in this lovely city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great view and nice amenities.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
The staff was very kind to let us use the spa facility after check out while waiting to go to airport. The little toiletries in the hotel were from Hermes... it is a nice classy touch. Great view of the st Stephan church and the city and the danube river. Roof top restaurant is amazing. It's totally an enjoyment of our last night in Vienna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Alexander Moj, Hotel Management
Dear Arlene, thank you for your kind words - it is always a pleasure to hear from guests enjoying their stay at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. I will of course forward your great feedback to our SoSpa employees. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon! Best regards, Alexander Moj, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Unbeatable in Vienna

Posted May 20, 2017
The staff were very welcoming and accommodating throughout our stay. We had an excellent room in the 16th floor with incredible views across Vienna, the design of the rooms is clever and very cool. The penthouse bar has to be the best place for a drink in Vienna. Only disappointment was accidentally thinking the breakfast might be pay by order rather than the extortionate buffet that it was (same price as two cocktails each!) but it was a good buffet. I know that is a general hotel breakfast situation so can't hold it against them much but I think the price is way beyond what anyone reasonably wants to spend on brekkie and so we regretted not going elsewhere. Otherwise wonderful stay, highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Alexander Moj, Hotel Management
Dear Lizzie, thank you for choosing Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom for your trip to Vienna and for reviewing the hotel on Expedia. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive feedback and I will gladly share your comments with my team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly appreciated our friendly staff, the design of the room and our outstanding roof-top restaurant and bar Das LOFT where we also serve breakfast. For our breakfast we offer a large choice of different products - from hot to cold, from salty to sweetie, from vegan to meaty - available on our buffet or freshly prepared on request by our kitchen team. I am glad to hear that you liked our offer and be assured that our prices for breakfast compete with other hotels of the same standing in the city. It is also a great honor to hear that you recommend Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom to others. This is our utmost reward! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon with us. Kind regards, Alexander Moj General Manager
4 out of 5
by KELVIN

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
After a long drive from Salzburg, we really wished to check-in to take a shower before we went out for lunch. We arrived the hotel at 12:30 and waited over 30 minutes but still could not get our rooms. Although the hotel was not very busy but the staff told us to wait as no rooms are available on the same floor. I overheard their conversation and they are not willing to give me rooms on a higher floor. May be the guest from hotel.com do not have the priority we finally get our rooms on 6th floor overlooking the roof of other building.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017
Dear Kelvin, thank you for choosing Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom for your trip to Vienna and taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. Please note that check-in time at our hotel is at 3 pm. Our staff do their best to accommodate guests that arrive prior to this time. Sometimes this is not possible, depending not only on the occupancy of the hotel but several other internal factors that can influence the immediate availability of a certain room or room type. Be assured that our staff does not attribute rooms on higher or lower floors depending on which channels our guests did their booking. Hotel.com guests are as important to us as other guests. Also let me say that at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom we have the privilege to feature only rooms with a stunning view over Vienna, no matter if you are staying on the 6th or 17th floor. And by the way, I hope that you also enjoyed the amazing 360° view from our top floor restaurant and bar Das LOFT where we also serve breakfast. Glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back soon at our hotel. Best regards, Alexander Moj General Manager
5 out of 5
by Mikulas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Modern comfortable city hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The spectacular views across the city.
Cons: The room was clean but some of the doors on wardrobes and drawers were warn and felt sticky. The shower door needed new rubber stoppers on the door.
Location: Fabulous central location good public transport nearby. East access for St Stephens Cathedral and luxury shops including Louis Vuitton.
Modern spacious hotel. Streamlined white room with fabulous views of Vienna. Comfortable bed and good bath and shower. Excellent breakfast with spectacular 18th storey views across the city. Some staff at breakfast a little short tempered. Location excellent for transport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Alexander Moj, Hotel Management
Dear Lennie, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. I am happy to read that you were overall satisfied with your stay and particularly enjoyed the stunning views and our breakfast on the top floor of the hotel. We are always interested in our guest’s feedback in order to improve our quality and services. Hence, I am also glad to announce you that we will do some renovation work this summer in order to address the issues of wear and tear in the rooms. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon at our hotel. Best regards, Alexander Moj General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Big room and friendly staff! Great view of the river and the city. Breakfast on the top floor was great with stunning view of the city. Whilst not situated right in the middle of all the tourist attractions, walking distance to many. Metro very close which is very convenient. Lots of eating options around. Will definitely come back to stay here for its big rooms, convenient location and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were particularly satisfied with the size of your Luxury room and our friendly staff. We already look forward to your next visit at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. Kind regards from Vienna, Alexander Moj General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel with very nice views of the city

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Staff and service were incredible and the top floor restaurant views and food were truly outstanding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great views and lovely staff

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, views, food, free (non-alcoholic) mini bar. The view from the bed was beautiful. Ask for the Cathedral / city view) not the ferris wheel 😎
Cons: Sound-proofing. The metal shutters are unnecessary and cause noise. Also, the towels didn't smell fresh. There was noticeable wear and tear.
Location: Amazing location. Very close to the U-Bahn and Danube.
Spent 5 days in this hotel and it was fantastic. Great transport links, amazing views, nice food. Check-in / lobby / room service staff were lovely and friendly - big love to Emir and Sophie-Madeleine, who were awesome and very welcoming / helpful. Very nice people (the restaurant staff upstairs were a little cold, though, when we visited). We picked Sofitel because it talked about the rooms having amazing sound-proofing. Unfortunately, this wasn't 100% the case - we could hear someone walking / stomping around upstairs. And because the window shutters are so heavy, they made lots of noise, which meant that we could hear people closing / slamming theirs. Pity, as this was the only real fault of the hotel. We mentioned it to the staff and they apologised and then sent us champagne to apologise. Very attentive!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Alexander Moj, Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom which I will gladly share with our team, especially of course with Emir and Sophie-Madeleine. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. On the other hand I regret to hear that you weren't satisfied with the sound-proofing of the hotel. For your next visit, our front office team will do its best to find you a more isolated room in order to ensure you a calm stay with us. Delighted that overall you had a good time at our hotel, we hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Alexander Moj General Manager