Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Lovely hotel, spacious rooms, marvellous bath!

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Check in was easy. The room was clean and large with a separate living room, walk-in closet and large bathroom with separate shower, double sinks and a huge bath. The tiolterries were a lovelt rose and jasmine combination, and the bathroom and towels were soft. There's much use of leather and skins in the deor , so if you are a vegan it is probably not the best place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by José Luis Fernández, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Allow us to thank you for the very complete review in relation with your experience at Gran Derby Suites hotel. We're glad you appreciated the combination of modernity and comfort of our decor, with an original collection of contemporary paintings. We took note of your remarks about the use of leather in the room. Thank you for mentioning the quality of the toiletries we put in our rooms. We would like to welcome you again. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana, USA

Very Nice Luxury Hotel.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The room had a lot of space and came with a lot of amenities. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was quite helpful.
Cons: Breakfast area was quite small. We had to go to the Derby hotel across the street for breakfast.
Location: The location was not close to a Metro stop which made it difficult to go the different destinations.
We were very pleased with our visit and with the hotel facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by José Luis Fernández, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Don, Thank you for reporting about your stay at Gran Derby Suites Hotel, located in the unbeatable Diagonal shopping district in Barcelona, just steps away from the Passeig de Gràcia and the City Centre. We welcome your appreciation for our hotel facilities, in general, and we are pleased that our team provided an excellent service. Please be aware that our breakfast room capacity includes 20-25 persons. Our hotel is situated 10 minutes on foot from Sants Station and the AVE (high speed train). We are also well connected with all transportation and easily reached from the Fira de Barcelona in Plaza España and Gran Vía. Of course, our team are always at hand to assist our guests with any transportation needs, as required. The entire team do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, again. Kindest regards, José Luis Fernández, General manager
5 out of 5
by Louis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Book this hotel!

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel. Comfortable, quiet room. Great bed, good anemities. AMAZING bathroom! Would definitely stay again. Quiet, residential neighborhood.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Late check-in, overall soso
5 out of 5
by Jose

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Montse Front Desk, Hotel Management
Estimado Jose. En primer lugar quiero darle las gracias por escribir sus amables observaciones y comentarios sobre el Hotel y el servicio que ofrecemos. Nos alegramos enormemente que su estancia en nuestro hotel haya sido del todo satisfactoria, ya que es nuestra intención hacer que todos nuestros clientes se sientan como en casa y para ello intentamos mejorar día a día. Esperamos contar nuevamente con su presencia en el hotel, donde me gustaría saludarle personalmente. Atentamente, Carlos Ariza Jefe de Recepción
4 out of 5
by Nadia

A pleasant stay

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely the staff were fantastic. The location of the hotel was a nice area and the local clubs were not really a problem as mentioned on other reviews. The only gripe I had was the fact that my suite was right next to the lift and if you're a light sleeper this was not ideal. I did ask if I could be moved but they were fully booked although I was told they would come back to me. I didn't pursue it the next day. Our room was also facing the street so if you had the window open it could get noisy. The pool was not heated so don't choose the hotel for the pool. That's why I am giving 4 stars and not 5. There are two hotels on the same street right opposite each other make sure you go to the right one! :) I recommend this hotel if service and cleanliness is top of your list. The location is good if you are getting public transport. The Metro was about a 15 minute walk. You can get a T10 for €10 from the newsagents nearby and it gets you 10 bus or metro journeys so very cheap! A taxi to La Rambla is about €15 I was told. From the airport to the hotel ~€30.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Montse Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Nadia, Thank you very much for staying with us and many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at Gran Derby Suites. I am glad to see that in general the stay has been to your liking and we take good note of the suggestions that indicates us. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Cordially, Carlos Ariza
2 out of 5
by Manuel

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
INTERNET SERVICE POOR OR ALMOST NONEXISTENCE. BREAKFAST Was NOT GREAT. HAVE ALOT OF ISSUES WITH SERVERS
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Montse Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Manuel, thank you so much for taking the time of posting your review on Gran Derby. I am taking very seriously all your comments and I am sorry to see that the room where you were staying did not find your expectations. I would have loved to find a solution while you were staying with us in order to amke you enjoy your time with us, although I did not receive any comment from you. Please contact me anytime, to arrange your next visit to Gran Derby. I am confident your opinion will change drastically. Carlos Ariza
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room layout is very different and super cool! We loved our stay, the hotel is in a great location and we walked everywhere! The bed was comfortable, the room was a little noisy, the shower is all glass and in the middle of the room just FYI for the modest... Area was great, I would stay in that area again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the area as well as our staff and facilities. Our highest priority at The Gran Derby Suites is customer satisfaction in hopes you will chose Derby Collection Hotels for your next holiday and even tell a friend! Kind Regards, Carlos Ariza Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
First impressions great. However unknown before booking with my family 3 gentlemens clubs (w***e houses) within 50 metres. Not a place for families in the evening