Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by JC - Hanlie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Rajan from Johannesburg, South Africa

Tranquil and Breathtaking Views

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
We had a relaxing stay, enjoying the beautiful views as the Katse Lodge is situated on the cliff overlooking the dam. The flats need to be upgraded. Bathroom has to be shared, fortunately we had no neighbours. Breakfast was excellent. Due to the remoteness of the lodge, one has to eat at the restaurant. Food was great and worth the long wait. Still worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rajan, Thank you for taking a moment to honestly review Katse Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you had such a relaxing stay. Senior management will be informed of your feedback and pay attention to these matters. We hope to accommodate you again in the near future. Warm regards, Staff and management Katse Lodge
4 out of 5
by Ann from Johannesburg, South Africa

Need more Staff in Restaurant

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
The only thing that we felt should really enjoy some attention, is extra staff in the restaurant during dinner. Although the ladies tried their best to serve everyone, everything just took way too long (some guests waited up to an hour for their food to arrive) and we saw that a lot of guests were angry and vented this on the ladies on duty. I actually felt very sorry for them as it was evident that they were running around to try and please all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you for taking a moment to honestly review Katse Lodge. Senior management will be informed of the staff shortage in the restaurant and investigate the matter. We hope to accommodate you again in the near future. Warm regards, Staff and management Katse Lodge
3 out of 5
by Clive from Johannesburg

Cosy lodge at Katse

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
A cosy lodge and all that you really need considering the remote location. The room was quite small for a twin, though. The lodge wifi doesn't work in the room, only in the lounge/dining area. The menu is decent, with enough options to please most travellers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Clive, Thank you for taking a moment to honestly review Katse Lodge. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a cosy stay at our establishment. Management has been informed of your feedback and will pay attention to the issues you have mentioned. We hope to accommodate you again in the near future. Warm regards, Staff and management Katse Lodge
5 out of 5
by Dorte from Holbæk

prøv det

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Udsigten er fantastisk. Maden er suveræn.vi har nydt det. Sengene er dog for bløde. Vi ville gerne have været en tur på søen i hotellets båd men den var i stykker.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niedersachsen

Leider die einzige Möglichkeit

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Die Betten
Cons: Abreißen!!!!!!
Location: Lage oberhalb des Katsedamms mit guter Aussicht. Botanischer Garten in der Nähe. Staudamm kann besichtigt werden.
Der Empfang geschieht gelangweilt und unfreundlich. Hilfe beim Gepäck wird nicht angeboten und ist auf Nachfrage nicht verfügbar. Das ganze Hotel stinkt nach Desinfektionsmitteln. Der Hotelflur erinnert an ein Gefängnis, dieser Eindruck verstärkt sich beim Geräusch der sich schließenden Türen. Die Zimmer sind minimal ausgestattet. Der einzige Sessel ist verdreckt und zerrissen. An der Seitenwand kurz unter der Decke ist ein übergroßer Fernseher an die Wand montiert, der aber nur quer auf dem Bett liegend betrachtet werden kann. Ergebnis ist sicher ein steifer Hals. Die Fenster sind klein und eine Lüftung des Zimmers ist kaum möglich. Keine Klimaanlage. Das Badezimmer ist dringend renovierungsbedürftig. Im Restaurant war trotz Reservierung ein Tisch zunächst nicht zu bekommen. Die Speisekarte enthält nur wenig Auswahl, die da zur Hälfte nicht lieferbar ist. Das Essen war nicht genießbar (alt, kalt) ebenso das Obst beim Frühstück. Die Getränke wurden erst nach dem Hauptgang geliefert. Ein Aufenthalt auf dem Hotelgelände außerhalb des Hauses ist nur auf wenigen, sehr unbequemen Stühlen möglich. Wir hatten 2 Nächte gebucht und bezahlt, sind aber nach 1 Nacht abgereist. Kommentar der Rezeption: keiner!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views. Average stay.

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
The self catering chalets need a revamp. Furniture is old. The drinks at the hotel are very expensive. The food is good. If it wasn't for the view of the Katse Dam, I would have stayed elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel on the Katse dam

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Views
Cons: Rooms
Ok, so it is really the drive here and back that warrants the stay. Lovely scenery, but from the lowlands in a normal car it takes about 4 hours to get here and about 3 hours back due to the roads and lovely highland terrain. That said, you would want a good few hours to enjoy the scenery and regroup and likely do not want to drive down the mountain at night (I cannot imagine what that would be like in the dark). That said, the staff were pleasing. The meals were not amazing but good - though I must comment a bit slow to arrive. At night when there is not much else to do that is fine, but when you are ready to leave and waiting for breakfast this is not overly appreciated. The views from the dining room area are just gorgeous. The disappointing bit was the room. My room was bearable for the one night, but needs upgrading. The toilet smelt and the shower had mildew. While wifi access does not reach the rooms, I was lucky to be in room 1 (closest to reception) and thus was able to get wifi in my room which was a bit of a bonus :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels