Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malelane RSA

Nice lodge overlooking the dam.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The view of the dam
Cons: Maybe a more modern paint job. Outside and inside. Looks like a goverment building!!! and you can uplift it a bit.
Location: Viewing of the dam wall inside was very interesting
Please supply gps co-ordinates. We struggled to get the information. Also give directions from Maseru. There was a well tarred road to Thaba Tsheko. And then a gravel road which was not too bad. I could not get that information on google. An engineer on Highland water project gave me the information which made us more comfortable in our decision to go to Mohale dam and on to Katse Dam
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel on the Katse dam

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Views
Cons: Rooms
Ok, so it is really the drive here and back that warrants the stay. Lovely scenery, but from the lowlands in a normal car it takes about 4 hours to get here and about 3 hours back due to the roads and lovely highland terrain. That said, you would want a good few hours to enjoy the scenery and regroup and likely do not want to drive down the mountain at night (I cannot imagine what that would be like in the dark). That said, the staff were pleasing. The meals were not amazing but good - though I must comment a bit slow to arrive. At night when there is not much else to do that is fine, but when you are ready to leave and waiting for breakfast this is not overly appreciated. The views from the dining room area are just gorgeous. The disappointing bit was the room. My room was bearable for the one night, but needs upgrading. The toilet smelt and the shower had mildew. While wifi access does not reach the rooms, I was lucky to be in room 1 (closest to reception) and thus was able to get wifi in my room which was a bit of a bonus :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul from KZN

Facilities

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: The food was reasonably priced and good.
Cons: Facilities and explanation onf them as above.
Location: Little access to dam, but views spectacular
Whilst the hotel was reasonable it was tired, it lacked chairs to sit on outside, the bungalows were clean but again no outside chairs to sit on! The facilities described on expedia wedsite ie swimming pool and waterslide did not belong to the resort but to the management company,this was explained by the manager to us after we complained, these were in a disgusting state the pool was filthy and full on old cleaning equipment and it was also pointed out by the manager that he thought also contained broken glass. We lold him this should be pointed out to guests as it was shown on the site plan and marked as leisure club and one assumed part of hotel facilities! When asked if the hotel would be updated he said he was hoping to provide irons and irioning boards!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by General Management, Hotel Management
Dear Paul Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your compliments are appreciated and we would like you to know that the points you have raised will definitely be taken into consideration. We look forward to your next stay with us. Warm Regards Staff and Management Katse Lodge
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Very disappointing.

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Cons: needs alot of work
Location: beautiful mountain scenery, interesting tour of the dam
The main hotel and restaurant are sufficient as it is the only place to stay in the area. I'm not sure what the hotel rooms are like but we were very disappointed in our two bedroom chalet. The first one we were given was in horrible condition--torn curtains, stained and riped rug, no table and chairs, no tv, half the windows were rotted and minimal pots, pans, dishes etc. We complained and were given another unit that was a little better--at least it had a tv and a place to eat. Definitely not worth the money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: The breakfast food I did actually get to eat was nice.
Cons: Nothing to do AT ALL!
Location: The lake is beautiful but getting there is a night mare and there is almost nothing to do at the lake.
We arrived at the hotel at 8:30pm. The kitchen was already closed and the entire staff was gone except for the receptionist. There is no town near and no where else to eat. Needless to say I was not happy to not be able to eat after being in the car for 13 hours that day. There was only one packet of decaf coffee in the room and the hot water kettle didn't work. I walked down to the dining room in the morning to find some regular coffee and the woman in the dining area was very rude when I asked how to get two cups of coffee since there was two of us in the room. They don't offer smoking rooms and they don't even have a walkout room to accomidate smokers you have to walk all the way back to the lobby and out the back or front door in order to smoke. The flat screen tv in the room had terrible terrible fuzzy reception. The shower curtain wasn't the right size for the shower so there was water all over the bathroom floor. The cold water faucet in the sink didn't work so we only had hot water. There is no air conditioning so the room was very warm at night. There is NO POOL or INTERNET of any kind available.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niedersachsen

Leider die einzige Möglichkeit

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Die Betten
Cons: Abreißen!!!!!!
Location: Lage oberhalb des Katsedamms mit guter Aussicht. Botanischer Garten in der Nähe. Staudamm kann besichtigt werden.
Der Empfang geschieht gelangweilt und unfreundlich. Hilfe beim Gepäck wird nicht angeboten und ist auf Nachfrage nicht verfügbar. Das ganze Hotel stinkt nach Desinfektionsmitteln. Der Hotelflur erinnert an ein Gefängnis, dieser Eindruck verstärkt sich beim Geräusch der sich schließenden Türen. Die Zimmer sind minimal ausgestattet. Der einzige Sessel ist verdreckt und zerrissen. An der Seitenwand kurz unter der Decke ist ein übergroßer Fernseher an die Wand montiert, der aber nur quer auf dem Bett liegend betrachtet werden kann. Ergebnis ist sicher ein steifer Hals. Die Fenster sind klein und eine Lüftung des Zimmers ist kaum möglich. Keine Klimaanlage. Das Badezimmer ist dringend renovierungsbedürftig. Im Restaurant war trotz Reservierung ein Tisch zunächst nicht zu bekommen. Die Speisekarte enthält nur wenig Auswahl, die da zur Hälfte nicht lieferbar ist. Das Essen war nicht genießbar (alt, kalt) ebenso das Obst beim Frühstück. Die Getränke wurden erst nach dem Hauptgang geliefert. Ein Aufenthalt auf dem Hotelgelände außerhalb des Hauses ist nur auf wenigen, sehr unbequemen Stühlen möglich. Wir hatten 2 Nächte gebucht und bezahlt, sind aber nach 1 Nacht abgereist. Kommentar der Rezeption: keiner!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marc from Köln

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Lage, Service, preis
Cons: Beschilderung
Location: Katse Damm Tour
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by General Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your positive rating. We do hope that you will visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Katse Lodge