Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great setting

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The views from the hotel and the outside sitting area. The morning buffet breakfast was very nice.
Cons: More staff to assist in the dining area. General maintenance to be improved on buildings and property
Location: Great views of the Katse dam and an opportunity to do dam tours.
Overall good experience with an opportunity to explore the Katse dam.
4 out of 5
by Marius

Good daty, bad food

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and made trouble to assist where they could - specially the Reception and Security guard. Accommodation was very good with all the goodies to enjoy the stay. The only thing that was really bad was the food. Buffet at R190 one would expect decent food? Dinner starts at 19:00. I arrive at 19:15. Choice available: 2 salads: peas and potatoes. Other green salad is finished. Meat - only one variety .. for a buffet! The meat was so tough I could not cut it and the sauce was so salty. Starch finished, pudding finished .... they were going to make some more. I waited for 10mins and then left. Orion hotels should feel VERY ashamed. View excellent despite cold weather. Yes, the venue is old and lacks lots of maintenance, but the good nights rest made up for it.
2 out of 5
by Desmond

Poor maintenance from Orion Hotel Group

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Male and female had to share bathroom with no privacy, only tatty shower curtains, room with bath couldn't lock. Toilet doors couldn't close properly, one toilet out of order. In passage ceiling was rotten with a hole. Room curtains had holes and dirty. Bare nails in walls without paintings. Chipped paint.
2 out of 5
by HUGO

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
the room smelt was not aired - no toilet paper of three toilets only one worked. Buffet dinner R190 which was excessive for quality of the meal. we were not advised it would be buffet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hugo Thank you for taking a moment to honestly review Katse Lodge. Excellence in customer care is of paramount importance to us. Your feedback is welcomed and will definitely be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned. Where improvements are required this will happen as a matter of urgency. We hope that you will visit us in the near future. Warm Regards Staff and management Katse Lodge
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for exploring Lesotho.

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Poor reception on arrival but great on departure (different people), poor dinner, great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malelane RSA

Nice lodge overlooking the dam.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The view of the dam
Cons: Maybe a more modern paint job. Outside and inside. Looks like a goverment building!!! and you can uplift it a bit.
Location: Viewing of the dam wall inside was very interesting
Please supply gps co-ordinates. We struggled to get the information. Also give directions from Maseru. There was a well tarred road to Thaba Tsheko. And then a gravel road which was not too bad. I could not get that information on google. An engineer on Highland water project gave me the information which made us more comfortable in our decision to go to Mohale dam and on to Katse Dam
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
We had an absolute wonderful weekend
3 out of 5
by Bradley from South Africa

Night on the Dam

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
We checked in late on stormy night after the power had been knocked out! The staff were great and handled situation well! The rooms are spacious with a decent bathrooms! We loved the bed, and woke to splendid views of the dam! They make a great omlette and the free wifi is lifesaver in Lesotho! The Hotel is situated in an access controlled area, so quite safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review on Katse Lodge after your stay with us. We are absolutely pleased to see that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. Your comments will definitely be reviewed. We are glad that our staff were helpful when you arrived late on the stormy night. Please visit us again in the near future! Warm Regards Staff and Management Katse Lodge
3 out of 5
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by JC - Hanlie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels