Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB Canada

Average hotell near soccer tournament.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Hotel was very old. Rooms were to expensive. Morning Sunday brunch was poor. Hotel needs upgrades.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by NB, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We are very much appreciated due to your comments regarding your stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel. Yes it is true that we started our renovation on our rooms and we have already some renovated rooms back in service. Please ask for it when you stay the next time at the Lethbridge Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and are happy to hear that your expectations were met! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Newly renovated room.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Newly renovated room.
Cons: Venting window in the rooms & the lounge food was the worst we have ever had.
Location: Great location
The hotel rooms are being renovated & it was evident that it was long over due when I stayed there last fall. Thought I would give them another try as I knew some of the rooms were now renovated. When booking a room they charged me an upgrade fee to stay in 1 of their newly renovated rooms. That should be a given, not an upgrade. It was not busy so why would u not want your clients to be impressed with the new room & keep them coming back. The girl at the front desk was a little rude about it so I told her I would pay for the upgrade but would not stay there again. The room was well done with the exception that even with the heat off the room was to hot & no venting in the window. The restaurant for dinner was in the lounge & the food was terrible, over cooked burger, steak, withered lettuce in the salad. There was also over whelming fumes from the material used to paint the stream.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response to your stay. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay. It was noted in the conversation you had in Expedia with the hotel that your required two beds, we unfortunately do not have any upgraded rooms yet with two beds. I have given your comments in regards to the restaurant to the Restaurant Manager and chef to address. Our maintenance manager has addressed the heating in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yellowknife

Close to the scenic Oldman River Valley and downto

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Nice room and tv, restaurant good. Classic hotel in a beautiful city in the best location
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments on your stay at the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a

Stains

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Everything was great until we went to crawl into bed and there was huge stains on the bed. They did change our room but still I have worked in the hotel industry that is unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response on your stay at the hotel. I apologize for the condition of the sheet and I have given your comments to the Executive Housekeeping Manager to address. It is good to see that we changed your room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Poor Maintenance and terrible temperature control could not be made up for by pleasant staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by fom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on your stay. I apologize for the temperature in your room, the Maintenance Manager has been notified.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

old and run down

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This hotel is in need of an uplift. I did see a sign that they are renovating but why didn't I get to the choice to spend my money on an old dingy room or on a new one. It was a quiet Wednesday night and I'm sure there were options. The courtyard was closed the entire morning we were there so the one beautiful thing we would have like to walk through we couldn't even enjoy that. I would not stay here again when there are so many newer and better options in Lethbridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by KW, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on your stay. I apologize for the atrium area being closed we were in the process doing extra cleaning to the pool and walk way. We are currently upgrading our guest rooms and we have half of a floor all ready for guests to reserve.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We went through 2 different rooms, both DIRTY

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Dirty gross!!! Picture is second room, we had dead room mates !!! Yuck!towels had body hair!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by NB, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymos, Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. I apologize for the handling and dealing of our Housekeeping Department and it does not meet our demand of quality. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments so that they may be addressed. Please feel free to contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to assist you. Thank you for choosing the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel! Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Standoff, Alberta

Bad weather forced me to stay in town.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The people who checked me in and out were friendly and efficient.
Cons: The key card didn't work. I had to go downstairs twice to get it set. It was then discovered by the lady in front that the lock was out of order.
Location: Shopping and Casino nearby.
I booked the hotel through Expedia. Check in was efficient as was checkout. Employee who checked me in and out was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by NB, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cordelia, We are very much appreciated due to your comments regarding your stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and are happy to hear that your expectations were met! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Dated hotel that they are in the process of upgrading, gardens are very beautiful and unique
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by NB, General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry you are not happy with the condition of the guest room, our hotel guest rooms are dated and we are in the process of updating the guest rooms we have most of fourth floor completed with the upgraded rooms. It is good that you had enjoyed our atrium.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and dirty

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Courtyard is nice.
Cons: Outdated. Very loud due to courtyard setup relative to rooms.
Outdated hotel. Floors are dirty and furniture is well used. Very loud due to pool/courtyard proximity to rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by NB, General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry you are not happy with the condition of the guest room, our hotel guest rooms are dated and we are in the process of updating the guest rooms we have most of fourth floor completed with the upgraded rooms. It is good that you had enjoyed our Atrium.