Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Beautiful place and area.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Everyone was great. Can't be a better setting. The only issue was that the listed distance on Expedia's was far different from reality. It listed about 8 miles when it was actually 26 miles from Garmisch-Partenkitchen to the hotel. We had to spend more time driving on a tight schedule.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great views, lovely food

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Great experience. Parking available, close to many interesting sites. Loved the pool. Rooms are nice and spacious with a kichenette but the decor is dated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay at the Xander sport hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
All the staff was friendly and caring. Everybody was helpful when our grandchild became ill. The only problem was on our first dinner the heat was intense , and there were lots of flies visiting our food. That was a problem.
5 out of 5
by Tammy from Stuttgart

Highly recommended

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was super nice, the food was great, the rooms were perfect. The hotel staff suggested that we ride bikes (6 people--included in the stay) to a gorge...great idea and a perfect day for the visit We stayed 2 nights, spent a little time at the pool too. Highly recommended!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dhahran

Old hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015
I think the hotel is very old but it is renewed. The services in the hotel is poor and not to the level of 4 stars hotel in my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable and well located but quiet.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The food is good quality with varied buffets and a daily choice of meat, fish and vegetarian options.
Cons: The Wi Fi service is poor, complex to use and is not included in the room price.
Location: The hotel is excellently located for the cross-country ski school and tracks and would be similarly suitable for walkers.
We stayed at the Xander for a week of cross country skiing. It is very well located for this, allowing skiing almost from the door, but less well located for other purposes, with the local shops and pub around a half hour walk away. The hotel seems to have been originally designed for self catering, leaving comfortably spacious bedrooms, but the public areas are small, with the dining area extended into the bar and reception when the hotel is full. This also means that there is not a separate area available for post dinner drinks. The sauna area is spacious and well equipped and the pool is also fine for a post-ski swim.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Nice hotel in queiter location

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Great breakfast. Great bikes for children. Nice pool. A bit tucked away but no problem if you have a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Excellent hotel in a picturesque location.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The staff, the amenities, the welcome drink, the location, the breakfast. Busses take you around the area. There are lots of adventure activities.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Leutascher Spirit Gorge is a must see. Get out and take a hike or a walk along the river. For the more adventurous there are lots of things nearby.
We arrived cold and soaking wet after hiking a leg of the Eagle Walk. They offerred us a hot sauna and some cozy bathrobes. The room was roomy and comfortable with a little kitchen if you needed it. We didn't. They offered us a nice complimentary glass of prosecco in the bar before escorting us to a table in their glass ceilinged dining room for a four course dinner. The complimentary breakfast buffet is sumptuous and excellent with plenty of choices. The staff is fantastic and speak english well. The front desk went out of their way to make sure we had maps and weather reports for the next leg of our hike. This hotel is in the beautiful Tirolean village of Leutasch and the setting is jaw-droppingly beautiful. We can't wait to go back and will definitely stay at Sporthotel Xander again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DV

Total super Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Es war eine Ehre, in diesem Hotel zu übernachten! Alles war perfekt!!! Sehr empfehlenswert! Danke für Alles!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Unfreundliche Begrüßung an der Rezeption nicht besonders kinderfreundlich