Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by edward

What was advertised what not delivered.

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel "had" old world charm - wood, wall-paper. Had a great view out window at a local historic place. Hotel was locked when we arrived, had to do some creative thinking to gain entry. Was able to contact mgr who advised us what room we had. Free parking and location was best part. Paid breakfast was so-so compared to free buffets elsewhere. Use of credit card to pay bill resulted in "surcharge". Also tried to raise on-line cost. Hotel needs some TLC and a little everyday maintenance, not to mention room service to change dirty towels. Hotel was eye-pleasing but sucked for pleasant memories, not to mention one dinner we ate there. Locals are pleasant but area is depressed although construction and upgrades are going on. Recommend a visit to Spissky Hrad castle - once in a lifetime experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place, great staff, good price

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room, friendly hotel, good price. Quiet area but to be expected in the town. Very helpful staff both in the evening and the morning. Rooms 3 flights up with no elevator which was a bummer but welcome to europe. Overall it was nice.
4 out of 5
by Simona from Portland, Oregon

Wonderful place

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Really wonderful hotel in such a lovely city in Slovakia. Great food in the restaurant too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in charming town

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Staff very helpful and accommodating, food was good, rooms were comfortable
Location: Great location. Close to 3 national parks, natural spa, and old castles
Great hotel just off old town center. Good food, great staff, comfortable rooms.
3 out of 5
by Dan from Michigan

average low 3*

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel is in a good location but is very old They have secure parking but the entrance is very narrow and there is a high curb on the right that you cannot see at night as the entrance is on an incline thus a scratch on the car 1st in 30 years. The breakfast is very good in an atrium room but there is no lift to the rooms and the stairs are steep and narrow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stefan from Toronto, ON, Canada

Old, Simple but Pleasant...

Posted May 12, 2013
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Good food. Great TV.
Cons: Very weak almost none Wi-Fi (still the old 802.11g) in the rooms, the hard bed and the shower head. Weak espresso coffee (no crema).
Location: Right in the centre of the town, close to the sights.
I was not expecting too much from this hotel so I did not get disappointed. The entire inside of the hotel could use a big face-lift. The room on the 1st floor (no lift) was OK with a hard bed, a very heavy cover and too flat pillow. There was a smell from the bad drainage in the bathroom that could be fixed by running some water or shower (the shower head in 103 really needs changing) or closing the door. The modern flat screen TV and the minibar (no alcohol) will work when you flip the plug switch by the TV. The Wi-Fi in the room is very weak (they only have 802.11g radio type). I was unable to do anything in the room but I would sit in the cafe till closing (10:00 PM) and surf the web while sipping drinks or having dinner. The food is good, but watch out for the confit of duck breast, it did come swimming in a "lake" of its own fat. Their coffee machine does not make a good espresso. Have it elsewhere. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room Tip: To avoid the street traffic noise (and the heat of the sun), ask for a room on a lower floor facing the private parking lot behind the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Bonnie

Nice hotel in nice town!

Posted May 27, 2012 on Hotels
Staff was very busy in the restaurant when we arrived so our reception was rushed. Coffee at breakfast was instant coffee so not what we expected in Europe. The food was good. The room was comfortable and the staff gave us good tourist information. The hotel is close to main town square.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

The Shining!

Posted Nov 20, 2011
Unfortunately I cannot recommend this hotel! We were the only occupants during our 2 day stay and they put us on the 3rd floor in the attic! No lift, an extremely narrow stair case. On top of this, we were informed by the receptionist that if we were to enter the hotel after 11pm we would have to use our keys us the hotel was locked, due to there being no staff. Despite the hotel stating it had 24 hour reception! The breakfast was quite poor, the bread was at least 2 days old, and had to be toasted! We did not enjoy our stay at all.
3 out of 5
by Tomas

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is situated in the city center in the historical building. There is no lift. Room is quite big, but the cleaning could be done more precious. We had some hairs on the floor in the bathroom. The hotel accepts credit/debit cards but they charge you 5% fee.
4 out of 5
by Malin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels