Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice place for the weekend...

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Good parking and easy to find. Good breakfast and drinks selection at the bar. All amenities you'd need for a weekend stay.
Cons: Hot water in shower took a long time to come through but apart from that, nothing!
Location: Only about 15 miles from Eastbourne and Brighton, and even less away from Glyndbourne.
Stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding in the local area. Was on the main road between Halland and Eastbourne so really easy to find. The room was a little bit on the small side for two people but perfectly adequate for someone on their own (like me!) My room was above the kitchen, which meant that the smells from the kitchen wafted upwards, but these dissipated quickly afterwards. Cooked Breakfast was good with ingredients from the local area and a good size that set me up for the day's festivities ahead. The owners were really nice and welcoming and although I wasn't there for a lot of the time, nothing was too much for them. Overall, for the price I paid it was exactly what you'd want from a good ol' B&B.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heysham

Nice pub/hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Basic but clean, comfortable and ample for my needs. The pub served excellent range of evening meals. Beer was good. So were the breakfasts. Staff were lovely, polite, chatty, helpful. Located at a busy junction, road noise was not a problem. Parking and out of hours access were well organised. Really central for all of Sussex this was an excellent choice to base my holiday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Ok accommodation.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and tidy.
Cons: Needs updating inside and out.
Location: Located on a busy round about so a bit noisy. Visiting friends nearby so didn't find out about things to do.
Friendly staff but Blacksmiths Arms was a rather tired Inn in need of some tlc. Room clean and tidy but light over sink in bathroom broken and plug in sink leaked. Reported but not rectified!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of modernisation.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Only redeeming feature were the staff who tried to help in anyway but they are powerless to improve the fabric of this hotel.
Cons: Put the dirty linen baskets somewhere out of sight and in a place that you don't trip over them.
Room was unbelievably small and cramped for two adults. Bathroom was open plan and felt like you were showering in one room. Web site and pictures wholly misleading.
4 out of 5
by Susan

Gem of a find.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Found this little gem by accident. Were on a trip to the area with my son for Brighton University open day. It was a little out of the way from where we needed to be but that wasnt an issue. My son commented that we should use places like this more ofter rather than the big chains because it definitely had the personal touch. Hosts really friendly and helpful. We had breakfast and also sampled the bar menu which was very tasty. The only downside was the proximity to traffic but it did die off in the early hours and the beds were so comfy we would have slept through more noise. If my son chooses Brighton as a uni we will be back again.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
It was so good chill out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Welcoming!

Posted May 29, 2017
We had a lovely stay at the inn. We were in town for a wedding and the the place was just what we needed. The owners were so kind and welcoming, they made us feel at home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hosts

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Just a one night stay but friendly lady on check-in despite being run off her feet delivering food to a family party. Room clean and tidy. Evening meal was nicely cooked. Portion size was large. Breakfast was well cooked and hearty. Very easy to find adjacent to main road. Noise not an issue in my room. I'd stay again.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Overnight stay

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for 1 night. Very warm welcome, clean and comfortable room, good quality food. Surprisingly couldnt hear noise from the bar below when we went to bed. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Perfectly acceptable for a one night stay.