Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heysham

Nice pub/hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Basic but clean, comfortable and ample for my needs. The pub served excellent range of evening meals. Beer was good. So were the breakfasts. Staff were lovely, polite, chatty, helpful. Located at a busy junction, road noise was not a problem. Parking and out of hours access were well organised. Really central for all of Sussex this was an excellent choice to base my holiday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Ok accommodation.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and tidy.
Cons: Needs updating inside and out.
Location: Located on a busy round about so a bit noisy. Visiting friends nearby so didn't find out about things to do.
Friendly staff but Blacksmiths Arms was a rather tired Inn in need of some tlc. Room clean and tidy but light over sink in bathroom broken and plug in sink leaked. Reported but not rectified!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of modernisation.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Only redeeming feature were the staff who tried to help in anyway but they are powerless to improve the fabric of this hotel.
Cons: Put the dirty linen baskets somewhere out of sight and in a place that you don't trip over them.
Room was unbelievably small and cramped for two adults. Bathroom was open plan and felt like you were showering in one room. Web site and pictures wholly misleading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Welcoming!

Posted May 29, 2017
We had a lovely stay at the inn. We were in town for a wedding and the the place was just what we needed. The owners were so kind and welcoming, they made us feel at home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hosts

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Just a one night stay but friendly lady on check-in despite being run off her feet delivering food to a family party. Room clean and tidy. Evening meal was nicely cooked. Portion size was large. Breakfast was well cooked and hearty. Very easy to find adjacent to main road. Noise not an issue in my room. I'd stay again.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Overnight stay

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for 1 night. Very warm welcome, clean and comfortable room, good quality food. Surprisingly couldnt hear noise from the bar below when we went to bed. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Perfectly acceptable for a one night stay.
4 out of 5
by Carol

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Warm greeting, excellent beer and evening meal as well as a good night's sleep in a very comfy bed. Breakfast on Saturday morning was a little wanting with burnt bacon but the poor girl was on her own cooking and serving. Sunday's breakfast was spot on so feel Saturday could have been a slight hitch. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by Kim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Welcoming hotel,great for travelling with dogs

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: We felt very welcomed with 3 dogs. The free breakfast was a bonus - simple but satisfying and well executed.
Cons: Bit of a spruce up
Location: good central location for visiting the area
We normally stay at hotels in Brighton when visiting the area with our dogs, which are good but costs add up when you pay a nightly fee for dogs and at least £15 per night parking. We weren't sure about staying in a pub in case it was noisy, but it was absolutely fine. The hosts are very welcoming, and the accommodation is fine. The room and en suite were quite small and the ensuite could do with a refurb, but both were perfectly functional for a couple of nights. The hotel side could generally do with a spruce up but overall it's good value for money.