Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The only three good things about it are the friendliness of the staff, good breakfast choice and good location in town.
Cons: The overall condition of the annex, it is terrible.
Location: Lewes is a lovely little town.
I booked the White Hart because the initial feedback and photos looked good. From outside the hotel looks great, old and historical, inside the main building is still nice including the pub. However, if you have been allocated a room in the annex, request a change or cancel it. The annex is a separate building located away from the nice building and spa beyond the car park. The condition of the annex as a whole is pretty shocking considering the cost of over £100 for one night. The carpets were so worn, torn and frayed around the edges, stains throughout, the paintwork is awful, a tiny TV, the mattress was like a bouncy castle, the curtain rail was broken, the bathroom is so old, dated and worn and the shower rail was broken in the middle with a piece of black tape holding it together. My money would have been better spent elsewhere. Unfortunately we didn't get to use the spa. It was not worth the amount I pad though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel good location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: everything nice dining room and breakfast area big patio to sit out lovely atmosphere although did not get to use it swimming pool looked great
Cons: only needs bit of tidying up on small areas maintainance nothing major just looks a bit tired in places but didn't spoil stay
Location: lots of shops some independent also some historic places to visit also short drive to brighton
very nice hotel good food nice big room great staff good location for shops and attractions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Hotel in Lewes High Street

Posted Sep 17, 2017
We arrived in Lewes by train and had to walk from the station up a horrendous hill to the hotel (I am slightly disabled). There was also another hill to climb every time we returned from the town to the hotel. The hotel itself was very old and in need of attention. It did have a spa and hotel customers had use if the swimming pool. Our room was very quirky and sloped down on one side and the shower room was very small. The breakfast was good and the staff were all excellent However I wouldn't recommend a stay in this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Large support beam in the room was a hindrance.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Would have like the staff to tell us about the deck area at the back of the hotel. We would have enjoyed sitting out there and having a drink.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Limited parking, and piles of rubbish

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Centre of town . Easy access to shops.
Cons: More staff. Complete makeover of facilities
Location: Excellent location. Nice shops. Castle and historical attractions.
Room not ready on booking. Room not valeted until 4pm the next day. Very noisy. Work going on all day. Bags of dirty linen in corridors for hours. 'Hot' food already cold at start of breakfast period.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Old fashioned hotel that has seen better days

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The young woman who seemed to do almost every Jon - reception, bar tending, restaurant serving, Sunday morning cleaning - was very nice and helpful.
Cons: Why do all hotels provide only a doona for bed covering .... in summer. It made me too hot. There are plenty of small faults needing repair.
Location: Cothay Manor is 20 minutes away .... and it is a must-see.
Staff were nice and friendly but the hotel was in great need of some care. The toilet in our room would not flush and the flickering light in the bathroom made you feel like you were in a disco. The town is pretty quiet with little to offer tourists. We were there to go to nearby Cothay Manor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but needs a makeover

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The spacious room in the annexe, comfortable beds, large bath.
Cons: The condition of the building needs a complete overhaul.
Location: The High Street has interesting shops, including an independent bookshop. Lewes is surrounded by beautiful country, ideal for walkers. .
I have stayed here many times because of the good location on the High Street and near the railway station. Prices are low, but that reflects the poor condition of most of the hotel. Its decor seems to date from the seventies. Our twin room had only one chair, a broken drawer, floor tiles coming loose in the bathroom, a bath plug that didn't fit properly, cracked tiles round the wash basin and a light bulb that didn't work. However it was spacious and had a great view across the Downs. Chair and light bulb were quickly brought by friendly staff who battle valiantly to keep guests happy. Breakfast was good apart from long waits for items that had run out. At dinner we experienced the worst tomato soup ever, followed by perfectly cooked sea bream and vegetables. Truly a hotel of mixed experiences!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Brilliant location on the main street

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Good atmosphere and friendly staff
Cons: Update the annexe rooms
Location: Lewes is county town and has good links with channel towns and to London
Traditional country town hotel with an annexe. Rooms large but a little tired.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic location in the centre of Lewes but...

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: The massage.
Cons: Loads!
Location: It is right in the centre of town and so easy to reach all the shops, the castle, etc.
This hotel does not appear to have had any money spent on it in the last 30 years. Everything from the decor to the furniture looks tired; the carpets were threadbare; furnishings dusty and the bed was uncomfortable. We were in the annex overlooking the car park where the room was dark and gloomy even when it wasn't raining. My sister-in-law's room was brighter and had better views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Interesting historic hotel in the heart of Lewes

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Interesting hotel historically , with good on-site car parking, right in the centre of Lewes, close to the railway station.
Cons: Need refurbishment and upgrading. Breakfast was nothing special.
Location: In the town centre, close to the station. Convenient for Glyndebourne opera and for walks over the South Downs to Beachy Head, Burling Gap, etc
The White Hart is a very interesting historic hotel in the heart of Lewes with charming well preserved original architectural features. The bedrooms have been upgraded to an extent; the public rooms less so. The result is that the hotel now looks rather faded and needs a major refurbishment, hopefully in such a way as to preserve and enhance the architectural features.