Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The price is certainly right at this hotel.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The staff member who was so very helpful.
Cons: Physical facility.
Location: Sorry; it was just a quick overnight stay for me on a long journey. I know the state fair grounds are right next door but fair was not in session.
The staff are great at this hotel. But it seems to be a recently-acquired property in the Motel 6 chain and there is much work to be done. Room had very old and saggy mattresses and the in room refrigerator had rust on the outside door. Unattractive and very low class, in addition to the much-appreciated low price. My room was definitely not among those that had been renovated if renovation has begun here. Staff were very nice and helpful but the physical facility needs some serious attention.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorktown, VA

Hidden secret.

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The hotel manager was very accomadating. Being able to stay on the ground floor.
Cons: The communication between Expedia and the hotel. My second stay Expedia said they had me booked, but when I got there the manager said it wasn't.
Location: You have the state fair, a wal-mart and decent restaruants. I saw there are several historical sites, but we were just passing through.
This hotel was away from the congested traffic. A little difficult to find but worth the extra 5 - 10 min to get to.
5 out of 5
by bobbie k.

great stay

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Orbitz
got good nights sleep. very quite. good hot shower,.the price was right
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wv

Golf tournament stay

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Hotel located across street from fair grounds were buses to golf course run. Had a great week and staff (Emil) was very friendly and took very goof care of us. He went a big step further when I left my tablet in the room. He contacted me through email to let me know I had left it. He then shipped it to me priority mail at no charge. I received it in 2 days. I booked my stay for next year already and look forward to making this a regular visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2016 by Emil, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Tim for the awesome comments. We are definitely looking forward to your next stay with us. Come anytime, our door is always open!
1 out of 5
by Edward Weese

Dirty Room

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Orbitz
The room was a flashback to the 70s when in it says remodeled they ment just the floors which is not carpet but laminate and the tile in the floor was some pretty shotty work the main door to room had a loose lock and only one dead bolt worked and they also had a group a workers staying there and kids were screaming. The room was dirty had cob webs in light over sink and in corners of room. Pillows looked dirty.
3 out of 5
by Brad from lewisburg wv

fairgrounds hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels
Comfortable
3 out of 5
by steve from Australia

Older style buts improving

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Older style but looks as though they are trying to improve. Our room was freshly painted.
1 out of 5
by Deborah from Virginia

Expensive Joktel

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Close location to WVA state fair grounds
Cons: Total overhaul of the plumbing system, fresher linens, better beds, etc.
Location: Due to uncomfortable room conditions did not have opportunity to visit surrounding location
This place was a joke, the towels and wash clothes were stained. The room continuously smelled of sewage, I had to sleep or attempt to sleep with a can of air freshener. The commode would not flush properly causing us to seek rest room accommodations elsewhere. We are stuck out of town, no other rooms were available and had no choice to leave this place a day early and lose the large amount of money we had paid for the room. I would not stay there again nor would I recommended it.
3 out of 5
by michelle from ohio

clean but bad area

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and maintained Just a little bit Of a scary area
1 out of 5
by Dissatisfied Customer from USA

Would Never Stay There Again

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels
The neighborhood was spotty---did not feel safe. Nobody manned the front desk, and the phone would go to a voice mail that was full. Very expensive--almost $100 for a place that gives dive hotels a bad name.