Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing sleep

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Beds were older and uncomfortable and no shower curtain in bathroom. TVs were older, everything was 1980's.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a place to sleep

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: convenient. pet acceptance. Generally clean
Cons: housekeeping, curved shower bars, security,
Location was great in town, and they allowed dogs, however housekeeping was poor with not vacuuming daily, leaving facecloths in the tub. There was no vent from the bathroom for steam unless the door was open. Shower curtain needs to be a curved bar to avoid having the curtain stick to you in the shower. Some more lighting out the back door would be good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Wa

Great Hotel for the money

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The rooms were quiet. For families it had a huge pool and facilities for weddings, meetings, etc..
Cons: Needs elevator to second floor for those of us who are older.
Location: Close to center of town but deer walk through the parking lot. Fairly small town but beautiful parks. Has a golf course.
Stayed 2 days and found it a very pleasant place to stay. We were a little leery at first as most rooms face a big indoor pool area but it was surprisingly quiet. The hotel was older but well maintained and the staff was friendly. It had a restaurant, bar and casino on site and the Sunday brunch was excellent. We would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Yogo, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Yogo Inn. We appreciate your feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
1 out of 5
by Alex

Just like the old days. Very old days ago.

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed July 13, 2017. Last stayed I think in the late 80's. Seems like nothing has changed, at least in the room I stayed in. The hotel had a terrible odor that night but was gone by the next day. The restaurant was quite good though. Will try not to stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017
We are in the process of remodeling. We do apologize for the odor. Unfortunately we have no control over city sewer issues.
4 out of 5
by David

Central Montana Oasis

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
The only reasons I wouldn't rate this at the top were the unusual smells in the hall and outside the building, probably beyond control of management and other guests with children got a bit noisy through the night. The pool water was a bit too cloudy and the hottub jets were pretty weak. I'm sure I could've asked for fluffier pillows as they all seemed a bit flat. I really loved the Keurig machine & K-cups and as always it's nice to have fridge and microwave in the room. It was a fine stay with cool air conditioning and good amenities and great conveniences nearby in the town in the middle of nowhere of Central Montana.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments.
2 out of 5
by Lynda

Not all its cracked up to be

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
Would gave been nice if the room could have been vacuumed before we checked in. Popcirn and candy all over the carpet. And pretty noisy room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
We apologize that your room had not been completed. Please call the front desk and let us know so we can address the issue immediately.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
by deborah

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
The first room we went to the floor had not been vacuumed but the we're very nice about giving us a new room and had it be pool access so I could take my grandson right to the pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
We apologize for the inconvenience of having to change rooms. We appreciate your patience. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Yogo Inn and we appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
by Shawna

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are planning on extensive remodeling so we hope to see you in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belgrade, MT

Quick trip for high school sports

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: In-house dining and lounge.
Cons: Doors and some of the furnishings could be updated
Location: Yogo is centrally located in Lewistown.
Overnight visit to Lewistown for high school tennis.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are planning on extensive remodeling so we hope to see you in the future!