Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Was given keys to an uncleaned room, staff was clearly frustrated with other staff members (room should have been cleaned) and it didn't seem like there was any customer service training for any of the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. I am concerned about the housekeeping service issue and guest service representative's attitude you mention. I apologize our housekeeping services did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to ensure you are provided with a clean, comfortable room and excellent customer service while you are our guest. Please be assured that cleanliness is of the utmost concern to us and feedback such as yours is taken very seriously. We will coach our team to provide better service and a clean room in the future. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

OK HOTEL, GOOD LOCATION

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: ODOR OF ROOMS WAS NOT GOOD. IT WAS NOT SMOKING ODOR.
LOCATION WAS BEST FEATURE - EASY ACCESS TO I-35 EAST. LOTS OF RESTAURANTS WITHIN 1-2 MILES. ROOM HAD DEFINITE ODOR TO IT. SEEMS TO BE OLDER HOTEL. THEY WERE DOING WORK ON SOME OF THE ROOMS SO UPGRADED APPEARANCE MAY BE COMING. THEY DO NOT DO DAILY REFRESH OF ROOMS.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. I am concerned about the odor issue you mention. I apologize that this did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to ensure you are provided with a clean, comfortable room while you are our guest. The on-going construction is associated to the restoration work that relates to the issue that you indicated. Please be assured that your room condition is of the utmost concern to us and feedback such as yours is taken very seriously. We will take action on this matter to provide you with fresh smelling room in the future. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L. Flowermound, TX

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Felt safe due to no body hanging out in doorways or in parking lot. Appeared to be mostly workers and travelers in the hotel. Im a lifetime none smoker who was in a smelly smokers room. Used a can of deodorizing spray trying to get rid of smell. There needs to be none smoking rooms available to rent. I rented for three days due to water pipe bursting and HVAC unit breaking at the same time. It was worth the money spent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to see you felt safe at our hotel. Also your approval of the affordable price is satisfying. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Mi

You get what you pay for

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Last minute booking for thanksgiving so wa the best deal without staying and a sleazy motel. room was decent even it had a slight odor and I'm assuming because of the kitchens in each room would explain the different smells in the hallways. Refrigerator could have been cleaner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are disappointed to read that our refrigerator in the room and room odor did not meet your expectations. To prevent this from happening again, our team is making sure these issues are addressed prior to guest arrival. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grungy rooms and the batroom smelled horrible

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
I'm not one to complain but this was a pretty bad experience. Once I got into the room, I could tell the quality of the rooms were not like it was shown online. It had a really grungy look and feel to it, however that wasn't that big of a deal. My primary issue was the smell of the bathroom, as soon as I went in there it was a horrific smell and smelled like something dyed in there. I then talked to the person upfront and they were totally booked so I couldn't even switch rooms. I personally would never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay for more than two nights

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Not good, shower was not working properly
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to hear that your shower was not working properly and that you did not enjoy your stay. We can assure you that the issue you experienced with the shower has been repaired to make sure future guests do not encounter the same issue. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We hope that despite the experience you had, you will consider us again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoke filled pathways ,hot water heater broken

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Room was filled with smoke, the hot water was not working, generally unclean hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Attention to detail was not there. Scraps of paper and stains on the floors in the stairwell were there night after night. Trash cans were overflowing day after day. There were multiple holes in the walls in my room; could tell not effort to fix. Lights were burned out in the fixtures in the halls; no effort to fix. Fixtures hung to the wall were crooked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We make every effort to provide our guests with a great stay, so we are sorry to hear that cleanliness and maintenance repairs were an issue during your stay. Thanks to your comments, we will make sure these issues are addressed and re-coach with staff about paying attention to detail. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.