Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Disappointed

Posted Dec 24, 2016
we booked this hotel because we've had good experiences with County Inn & Suites in the past. Upon our arrival the receptionist was pleasant and courteous, the loony looked clean and well maintained, however that's about it. The TV in our room had poor reception and we couldn't access some of the channels listed on the hotel t.v. directory. My six year old was tired and wanted to watch some t.v. before heading to slumberland. When we shared this with the receptionist and requested a different room she informed us that unfortunately the t.v.'s in all rooms have a bad reception and to juggle with the plug in the outlet as it might help. So, we tried her suggestion and good enough the reception for some of the channels improved and my daughter happily watched Disney. While being tucked in bed, watching a program on Disney channel, all of sudden she shot out of bed pointing to a stink bug on the picture frame right above her pillow. Okay, so my spouse took care of the little stinker. The next morning, after showering, I found 4 stink bugs crawling in the bathroom-not exactly a pleasant surprise after coming out of the shower. Was afraid to squash them and set off a stink bomb so just left them there. My husband took care of them - whew. After breakfast, upon returning to the room, both of our key cards weren't working, so we had to go down three flights to reprogram the cards. Entering our room, ugh, it smelled!!! Oh no, probably the stink bugs. Time to check out!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy access to I 64

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful bed and great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to all local attractions

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Everything was perfect at this hotel except the male front desk attendant who is surly and rude.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was an average place, not many guests at the time we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: location, size of rooms, and most important cleanliness
Location: son goes to Washington and Lee college, plays football- so we are there many weekends in the fall
all was good except we were across from the elevator and it was annoying to hear loud groups come and go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washinton, DC

Worn out and unfriendly...

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The way it used to be.
Cons: A new attitude and the energy to clean things up, repair broken fixtures, and modernize technology.
Location: Lexington is one of the most beautiful towns in America—home of Virginia Military Institute, Washington and Lee, and Southern VirgIndia University.
My family and I used to love this hotel, but that was eight or nine years ago, when it was cleaner, in better shape, and the staff more friendly. Now it is disappointing, in the way it feels when one loses a friend. The front desk isn't rude; they just don't care. There is a grimy feeling, a worn-out attitude, about the hotel itself, and noisy air-conditioners along broken curtain rods and blurry analog television indicate an ownership that places profits above people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester, VA

Get a room on the back side of the hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Room was very nice, breakfast was great, room clean and well appointed.
Cons: Room was noisy since it faced the busy road. Elevator made a lot of noise.
Location: Lexington is a charming college town, and the farmer's market was a bonus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VMI is a state treasure!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
A nice property in a good location. We were visiting VMI and found this hotel very convenient for us. Booking through hotels.com saved me some money on what is an otherwise an overpriced hotel for these event weekends. My only real complaint is that the outside lights went on too late, and it created a safety problem. When I mentioned this to the front desk they acted like it was routine because the "lights are on a timer". It gave me the impression they were saving on the electric bill at the expense of safety.