Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from germantown tn

Very nice and convenient to Washington and Lee uni

Posted Dec 10, 2014
We stayed here while visiting Lexington for a college tour of Washington and Lee university. Very nice and historic place to stay but rooms need a little bit of updating. I would still stay here again. Staff was very helpful and breakfast very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice alternative to the cookie-cutter hotels.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The hot tub is very nice. One of the reasons I stayed here was for the outdoor pool and hot tub.
Cons: The pool and hot tub are closed at 9:00 PM, way too early in my mind. 11:00 would be a more reasonable time.
Location: The town is great for walking around with nice restaurants.
My stay was with my girlfriend. It was a very romantic setting which is what we were looking for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Lexington is a great place

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Our room was great with parking for our motorcycle right outside our room. The place has beautiful lawns and a lovely porch.
Cons: It would be nice if they provided a map of the neighborhood. There was lots to see, and we had to find it by ourselves.
Location: A good visitor center only a couple of blocks and very nice restaurants within walking distance. Also visited the local zoo.
We stayed here on our way back North from Asheville. The hotel is very nice-- we were a little nervous about how fancy it was, but the stay was great. I think it was an old homestead or something, but it really has southern charm.
5 out of 5
by Nate from Indiana

Wonderful Staff and Beautiful Facilities

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice staff, great area
Cons: The traffic circle at the main door was a bit confusing. Really, nothing to improve.
Location: The universities are beautiful and well kept. The downtown (within walking distance) has some really cool places to eat and get coffee.
My wife and I stopped by on our way to DC. We decided on this hotel because it broke up our drive nicely. Now we know how much of jewel this place is we are planning a trip back just to visit the hotel and town. The staff was welcoming and easy to work with. We were upgraded to the Stonewall Jackson room and it was magnificent. The views out of the windows were nice, the King bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless. I have had few better experiences traveling all over the world than I had here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, PA

Historic hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Enjoyed visiting Lexington area historic sites, resturants, colleges, orchards and local markets.
4 out of 5
by Heather from NY, NY

Gorgeous historic locale underwhelming facilities

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: historic charm
Cons: more comfy beds, update the bath tubs & add fans to bathrooms, all rooms need fridge and microwave, change fitness hours to 24
Location: Safari Animal Park, Natural Bridge
The Col Alto was gorgeous. The nicest grounds of a Hampton Inn I've ever seen. The historic mansion where you checked in and had breakfast was lovely. The restored log cabin in the back was really nice as well. The rooms and hotel itself was clean and pleasing. The rooms themselves were underwhelming though. Having stayed at 4 Hampton Inns on this summer's road trip, the beds here were the least comfortable. Too hard and in dire need of a pillow top mattress. No fridge or microwave in my room. They did bring a fridge quickly to my room after requesting, but they should be in each room already. The bath tub surround was dated and did not make me want to dare take a bath in it. The bathroom had no fan either. The fitness facility was ok. I thought the fact that it closed at 10pm and wasn't open 24 hours like most Hampton Inns was pretty disappointing as I arrived late and had to rush to workout before it closed. The pool was very small. Would I stay there again? Probably not. I think I'd check out the other offerings in Lexington for that price I think I could do better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 29, 2013
Nice overnight stay before safari next day. Small but clean pool, good breakfast, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the campus of Washington & Lee and VMI!

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: It's historical exterior with modern furnishings.
The hotel is beautiful and well appointed. Was able to park right outside our room which was convenient since our car was loaded with "camp" gear.
5 out of 5
by Ipek from Lawrenceville, NJ


Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Historic building, grounds and close to the town center
This is our second stay at this hotel on our way to Southern States. We were pleasantly surprised the first time we stayed here. Very clean rooms in a lovely historic building with gorgeous grounds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not your typical hotel/Inn

Posted Jun 2, 2013
We had an excellent stay. The complimentary breakfast was the best I'd ever had at a hotel/inn and was not your typical "continental breakfast" of muffins and fruit. You could eat it in the dining area inside the old mansion or outside on the porch overlooking a beautiful yard. Has to be the best place to stay in Lexington. I only wish the rooms were a little quieter. The doors had quite a gap at the bottom, so that all the sound in the hall way made it in to our room in the morning.