Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by i am a chef from N

Very old rundown place

Posted May 31, 2014
Water drain in shower did not work , water in sink keep dripping , my twelve year old son saw first time this old style tv, Ac would not come on , roll in brad broken I wish I would spend $20 more and get good hotel , this place need to be brought down and build again , nice area around but motel is just very old and I was shocked that best western even have flag there.
1 out of 5
by Traveler from Virginia

Not again.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Convenience to Lexington. The manager was very cordial.
Cons: The beds. Very uncomfortable. I sure they were decades old. The breakfast. Small stale bagels. Not much of a variety to choose from.
Location: Lexington VA is absolutely beautiful. The surrounding mountains are stunning.
At midnight, there were drunk men yelling and cursing in an adjoining room. Doors slamming. Awful. When I mentioned it to management the next day, he said yes he heard it too but then I wondered why he didn't do anything about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by No from Home

No impression

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: No way to tell. Visit was too short for such judgments.
Location: Lexington: Home to two of America's oldest colleges (VMI, W&L), a fine law school, many historic homes. See for yourself.
Arrived late, left early. No memory of details here, but I'd remember awful things. So, no awful things.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Devon

Meh...

Posted Apr 15, 2014
It was what you'd expect for the price. Super friendly staff, though. That was the biggest stand-out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Horse Center Nearby

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff
Cons: better cleaning of bathroom
Location: Lexington Horse center
Hotel staff very friendly, disappointmant was the cleanliness of the bathroom which is critical on an overnight stay to a couple women
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rikki from New Jersey

Needed cheap overnight in Lex, wasn't murdered

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: I slept great and didn't contract any diseases that I'm currently aware of. A distinct feeling that I was timewarped back to 1955, which was cool.
Cons: Maybe spend a few bucks updating the place, good lord. It may be clean, but it doesn't feel like it should be.
Location: Lexington is an amazing city to explore. Stay overnight on the way up to NYC from Atlanta and enjoy some Old South. Stay at Hamp Inn if of means.
Could use a serious facelift, but what do you expect for $60? The shower was new and clean (could live without the dead roaches). Hair on the carpet by the bathroom, kinda gross. Drop ceiling (with holes) was sketchy. Yet nice fluffy pillows and I slept great. Lived through it, saved a few bucks. Didn't wake up with rats chewing through my bag or roaches in my mouth (but wouldn't have been surprised). I appeared to be the only guest. Adding to the creepiness factor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013
The manager was very nice. The hotel is an older hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. Perfect for our price range.
1 out of 5
by Susan from Williamsburg, VA

Only room we could get but not worth it.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The one positive was the location. Because of the hotel's location and layout, it was extremely quiet.
Cons: Only a complete remodel could save this place.
Location: It is convenient to the center of Lexington and to the nearby university.
Run down does not even begin to cover this hotel. Every finish in the room is old and worn. The toilet had a leaking seal that left a puddle of water on the bathroom floor after each use. The baseboards were falling away from the wall in many places. Several of the switch plates for the lights were detached from the wall. Neither the vending machines nor the ice machine worked. The complimentary breakfast ressembled something you would see on a camping trip -- stale breads, containers of cream cheese and butter left out unchilled, a jar of peanut butter, and a squeeze bottle of grape jelly. The staff's command of English was very basic. A patio area at the rear of the hotel looked like a junk yard. The HVAC unit sounded like it was going to quit any minute and was only minimally efficient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenda from Maryland

Hotel is in a prime location

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Location and staff - the willingness to get you whatever you wanted at ay time day or night
Cons: I would update the carpet wth brighter colors to brighten the room and make it more cheerful.
Location: The hotel is a mile from the town of Lexington. You can tour the town sites. Go on a ghost tour, a carriage ride and some civil war sites nearby.
The hotel location was excellant to get into and out of Lexington with no traffic congestion. The staff was excellant. They couldn't do enough for you. The office staff remembered my name the next time I came into the office without them asking for my name or room number. That made it feel more personable. The bathroom was small. The room had a good smell - not musty for the age of the hotel, but I felt as though the carpet was not as clean as it could be. The continental breakfast was good and if you didn't see what yu wanted, ask and the staff would get it for you. They were also willing to make fresh coffee at any time day or night. No request seemed to be a bother or too trival to the staff. I would stay there again and overlook the minor things I felt was not good because I know it's not a five star hotel so you have to take it as it is. The room rate was also good and not overly priced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Atian from Shanghai, China

Quite Okay...

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Free coffee, breakfast, even a swimmingpool that I didnt try.
Location: Highway nearby, but also WallMart :-)
After sleeping in at an another "drive inn" in Lexington, I felt very happy with this motel. Big big bed for a single tired sleeper, wifi that actually works well, free coffee, and okay breakfast with more selections than normal. A happy stay.