Ratings based on 607 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Close to I-81

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Disappointed. Room was stuffy, AC very loud resulting in little sleep. Dinning area was very messy and not maintained. Ran out of food 45-mins before end of breakfast time. Employees standing around doing nothing to clean the tables or floor. Pool water was dirty as well. Would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, VA

Excellent place.

Posted May 9, 2017
The staff were helpful & friendly. The place was immaculate. The room was large. The bedding comfortable. Everything worked. The wifi was easy to access. The pool was clean and with perfect temperature. The whirlpool was also clean. The pool furniture was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bunker Hill, WV

perfect location @ Lexington,VA

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location: Safari park a must for kids.
Grandchild loved the pool and wife remarked on how clean and peaceful our stay was.Wyndham is on our list from now on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We've always liked this hotel except this time.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The hotel is starting to look tired. The decor is looking dated and dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Convenient to highway. Little noisy. Breakfast options were below average. The fruit looked at least 2 weeks old. (1 apple) 😧.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Above average

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Clean appearance. Nice lobby. Convenient.
Cons: Caulking around bathtub and loose tile fixed. Just made it look old.
Location: Visited Safari Park.
Only spent one night. Was a pleasant stay. Nothing bad, nothing outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great motel near two colleges and historical sites

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast and decor. Room was comfortable. Good staff; friendly and helpful.
Cons: Cleaner bath room. The bath mat had mold on the bottom...not good. Reported to desk clerk.
Location: Close to VMI and restaurants. Other historical sites to experience as well.
Motel was nice and close to historical sites and VMI. Staff was courteous and helpful. Nice decor in lobby and rooms was spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Pam, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us valued feedback. Our staff works hard to ensure guest satisfaction. Your response will be shared with housekeepers and we will certainly work to improve. Please come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Easy to locate.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Room was clean. Breakfast was great. The map of the area, town, was a great touch.
Enjoyed all the facility. Great breakfast. Right off the interstate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, TN

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Cons: Clerks could be more welcoming.
The desk clerk was not very welcoming, she did her work well, but no warm welcome, smile or greeting. Facilities were very nice, breakfast was good, coffee was excellent. Room was large and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Pam, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us valued feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to improve. Please come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mid South

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect for my trip
Cons: Bath tub could have been a bit larger!
Location: Everything I needed for this trip! Parking was convenient.
First stay at a Wingate hotel. Staff was friendly & helpful. Breakfast was very well done with a good variety. Business center had everything I needed including a stapler! Room was very nice with double queen beds and a lounge chair &ottoman. Small fridge, microwave & coffee maker were very nice. Even liked the way the closet was located. Overall a very good experience. including the bowl of small tootsie rolls at the front desk!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Pam, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with Wingate. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come again.