Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Lovely

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Such a friendly welcome! Cosy room and delicious breakfast. We will go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Warm, clean, comfortable in every way--and a good

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We searched the internet to find a room with twin beds (not all sets of two travellers are mates!). Having booked this we were delighted when we arrived. The room, clean and tidy, was pleasingly arranged. The beds were cosy and comfortable. The shower was hot and satisfying. The location was quiet; we slept well. Morning brought a hearty and delicious breakfast as well as the pleasure of conversation with our hospitable host who provided helpful directions and travel tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Idyllic setting.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Arrived to a warm welcome from Roxana. Great sleep. Woke to an excellent breakfast. Sad to leave. Hope to return soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly hostess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Very friendly personal service. Liked the ground coffee and fresh milk in the room. Good breakfasts.
Cons: x
Location: Yorkshire
In YorkshireOops! Please add a bit more to your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

On tour

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Venue right in the middle of village and Wensleydale, beautifully kept with a vintage interior style, Landlady was great. Wifi excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walks and good food nearby
1 day in the dales as part of tour including NE England first, and after the dales, the peak district.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from UK

Amazing - no complaints. Best breakfasts in ages.

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very warm and hospitable - Roxana (owner/host) is very friendly and willing to help in any way. The breakfast for us was the highlight - very generous buffet of cereals (including real Alpen muesli!), fruit, juices, with a full cooked breakfast with many options, and toast/jams. All things are replenished/refilled without holding back - very generous. Roxana offered to buy us soy milk when we told her we don't normally drink milk (vegan).......nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were nicely decorated and equipped - not massive, but it's a Lake District cottage! The only negative I can think of is a personal thing - we had a fixed head shower rather than one you can hand-hold and move around......but that's all I can think of that I'd change! Beautiful surroundings, and 2-3 really nice pubs/hotels for evening meals nearby. Close to Wensleydale Cheese factory too - highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester U.K.

Situated in lovely part of beautiful Dales village

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Warm, friendly welcome from hostess. Room clean, cosy with all amenities. Hostess brought fresh milk for tea on arrival after hard walk on hot day. Hot English breakfast cooked fresh to order. I will definitely return and can highly recommend it. Tea shops in village and mine host and staff at the pub is very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Sheffield

Peaceful weekend

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely weekend away perfect hotel and great host
5 out of 5
by Peter from Whaley Bridge

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
The most friendly and welcoming hostess. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.