Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Close to the m6

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Lovely hotel, definitely recommend it and would stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good accommodation, bad service.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Clean room
Cons: Service
Clean comfortable room but disappointing facilities and service. No staff on reception when we arrived, had to wait about ten minutes to get checked in. No staff later at bar or restaurant ... again had to wait to get a drink and order some food. Same the next day, all the staff seemed to be hiding in back rooms! And, you've guessed it, had to wait for someone to finally come along to get checked out! Appalling service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Worst Hotel ever stayed in

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Long way to go mate.
Location: nothing.
My major complaint was that the restaurant closed every Saturday due to the Christmas parties. And Hotel don't pass this message to guests and we find it at the restaurant. And the restaurant waiter was really rude and she said, if you want you can have your dinner in the lobby. This is not acceptable. And then after these parties you can hear people walking in corridors, or stairs talking, and then opening and closing doors. This is not usual. I was going to stay two weeks, but because I was upset I left the hotel after a week.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for a Stopover.

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is a bit in need of a facelift. Public areas decor is dated , tries to be quirky but fails. Room was reasonable , but bathroom very tired. Shower screen leaked water on floor which created a flood , potentially dangerous. Mould evidence around ceiling above bath/shower. Ceiling papered with woodchip or similar textured wallpaper that must be difficult to clean. Room comfortable , but pillows on bed very poor quality , far too soft , no support and wrapped around your head when resting on them. Had to use cushions to get comfortable. Hotel great location for stopover on M6 , room was quiet and despite above , had a good nights sleep. Bar prices are high , £4.50 for a 330ml bottle of beer. Restaurant was quite good , breakfast under average for this type of hotel. Some delays at checkout as hotel is used as a meeting place for " speed awareness" bad boys & girls being collected for course. On the plus side , he staff are pleasant and polite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place for a wedding party

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is has easy acsess from the motorway and a large car park. The room was light and the bed enormous. The lighting was bright but not dimable, when turned off you were left in total darkness! There was coffee and tea in the room but no bottled water. That was available as a chargeable extra. Breakfast was realy good in a fab room but the way the tables where laid out made asking your neibour to move when you wanted to leave the table.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Mark from Liverpool

Staff few and far between.

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Difficult to find any staff. Had to wait at reception for someone to come along to check in - and then only after they had a tiff among themselves as to whose job it was. When we chose something to eat from the bar menu after arrival, there were no staff so we gave up and went out to eat. On the plus side, pool area very good and breakfast satisfactory.
4 out of 5
by David from Mansfield

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed 1 night but nice enough hotel. Food was good in the bar and breakfast was fine. Never made it as far as the pool or gym.
4 out of 5
by Keith

Weekend breai

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was ideal for a short stay. The staff were friendly. The cooked breakfast was of good quality and plentifully. The only area that was of disappointment was the poor TV picture quality. I would stay again if needed.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Newcastle upon Tyne

Great hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel ideally situated just off M6. Great pool and great service.