Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Lots of things to do

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Good to relax
Cons: It would be nice if you could take the car close to your room at least to leave/pick things, or to take care of old people.
Nice hotel. You have the opportunity of taking mud bath, hot springs, swim, and watch birds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

On the mountain and in nature!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful grounds in the middle of nature, with monkeys, toucans, open dinning to enjoy the vista! A great spa straddling a mountain creek, very cool! The staff was wonderful; we went in the off season so no crowds and plenty of things to do. The resort is off the beaten path, so if you want to get away from the city, this is the place. Our room was a Jr. suite bongalow that was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bronx

Beautiful resort but expensive

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Really beautiful resort to relax but food it is expensive here, I recommend rent a car and eat outside, guanacaste has too many good places to eat and you will spent less than the resort, staff is really nice and helpful, my only complaint is the administration, they dont communicate too good between them, I was charged for a dinner twice, it took a while for them to clarified the error, also they told me my last dinner they will give me for free as a courtesy but I was charged for it, I didnt complaint because I was late and I have to leave to the airport, I will rate this resort 3.8 , its really beautiful,nice staff but expensive food, my advice rent a car and explore costa rica ,you will enjoy many beautiful places and good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W. from TN

Perfect anniversary getaway❤️

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Very tranquil, relaxing place. Celebrated 50th Anniversary here with our family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland, USA

Amazing Wildlife and Great Resort

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Thermal springs, the wildlife, the zip lining course was amazing, the food, and the location.
Cons: The beds are firm and it would be nice to have a microwave. I spent time thinking of things I didn't like and this is all I came up with.
Location: National parks, Nature Tours, Hot Springs, ATV and horseback tours... You name it, it is nearby!
I have taken two trips to Costa Rica now for a total of about a month and a half. Borinquen was easily in the top 2 places I have stayed in terms of overall experience. The staff is incredible, the grounds are beautiful, and the food was as good or better than typical Costa Rican fare I have had all over the country. I am a huge fan of eco lodges (i.e. no air conditioning and living under mosquito nets), so I was blown away by how fancy it was in this isolated resort in the middle of the foothills. As per the typical reviews, the food is expensive. Dinners will run you $19-30, lunches about $14-18. Breakfast was delicious and included. There IS food available without driving to Liberia. On the road to the resort is the small town of Canas Dulces. They have markets where you can get some foods (sandwhiches, ramen, etc.) if you don't feel like paying for the restaurant food every day. The sink water in the rooms is safe and gets hot enough to cook ramen.. We tried it. Yes - the resort is "in the middle of nowhere." The road is only partially paved and there are potholes. However, no worse than most unpaved roads in CR. There is a lot of wildlife to see on the way up! As an entomologist / wildlife biologist, I come to CR for the wildlife. There was an incredible amount here. Rare Sunbitterns, toucans, 2 species of motmots, monkeys, parrots, parakeets, armadillo, and sooo much more. There's also a huge surplus of incredible insects if you want to look for them :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Borinquen Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff- the made the difference in my stay
Cons: Having all inclusive package
Location: The location was the only thing that for me was an inconvenience, because it is so far for the city i was not able to fully explore Costa Rica
We stayed at this hotel for 4 days, the hotel is very clean and the food was great. The activities were awesome and convenient, you literally dont have to leave the hotel. I will really recommend this place if you are trying to relax with your family and want to have a quite time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A bit of paradise in Costa Rica

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Borinquen was a beautiful and very gracious resort in the foothills. I wanted a location to see the flora and fauna of Costa Rica.
Cons: Next time I will rent a car for more self-explore.
Location: Did: geo-thermal pool, applied mud baths, sauna, pool, and spa, horseback eco-diversity explores, zip-line, hike rafting, Ricon Park, Liberia.
Borinquen Mtn. Resort and Spa, an incredible piece of paradise, is a well manicure and delightful eco-friendly resort about 1 1/2 hours out of the cozy little town of Liberia and the airport (depending how fast you drive). The very well cared for and comfortable cottages are spotlessly cleaned. The grounds, located in the foothills of the mountains, are well manicured and gorgeous . The dry tropical forest comes to the edge of the resort as do the bio-diverse wildlife. Whether you are at one of the resort's two restaurants, at the reception, at the pool, spa, thermo-pools, mud bath, or on one of the eco-activities you feel welcomed, safe, and served by a very gracious and thoughtful people. I have nothing but high praise for the people and facility. I would go back there in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmetto,Florida

I loved the hot springs, mud bath and sauna.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The Borinquen is an excellent getaway. It has beautiful grounds, great hot spring mud baths and sauna. It also has a lot of activities, such as zip
Cons: The food is good but a little monotonous. We loved the lunch buffet and would have love to have that option at lunch and dinner.
Location: There are daily excursions to do zip lining, horseback riding,hiking, nature exploration.
We spent 5 days at the resort. We enjoyed daily hot baths from the thermal springs. We also indulged in mud baths from the springs as well. The resort has a steam sauna that is all natural and comes from the ground. There are daily excursions to explore the area, such as zip lining, horseback riding, visit to a nearby waterfall. The resort is isolated, but is surrounded by beautiful forests and waterfalls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort collins, co

Beautiful resort! Isolated and peaceful.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
This resort was an amazing experience! We enjoyed it very much. Our only concern was there is no hotel gift shop so anything that you may have forgotten is unavailable. The resort is an hour up an very rough mountain road from the nearest town. I suggest stopping in Liberia for any snacks, liquor, and amenities you may need before you head up the mountain. Most shuttle drivers will offer you this service when they pick you up from the airport...take advance of it!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
A nice place to.relax enjoying nature. Volcanic sauna a great experience.